DogOrthopedic

Evidence review

Best Joint Supplements for Dogs: Dasuquin vs Cosequin vs YuMOVE

Dasuquin, Cosequin, YuMOVE's green-lipped mussel, or a budget soft chew? What the blinded canine trials actually found, which brand fits which dog, and what each costs per day at prices verified in August 2026.

By Dog Orthopedic EditorialVet review pendingUpdated August 14, 202626 min read
A senior dog with a glossy coat trotting through grass, illustrating the goal of joint supplementation
Photo: Gabriel Crişan / Pexels

Most "best joint supplement" articles in this category rank products without opening a single canine clinical trial. We opened them, and the result is uncomfortable: the two best-designed blinded trials, one using a force plate and one using activity monitors, both found that glucosamine and chondroitin did not separate from placebo — and one of them tested Dasuquin with MSM by name. Omega-3 has the better evidence. Weight loss has the best evidence of anything on this page. If you still want a chew, buy the cheapest well-disclosed one, run it for six weeks against something you wrote down first, and stop if nothing moves.

Affiliate disclosure: Dog Orthopedic is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we earn a commission at no extra cost to you — about 3% on most pet products, and the same rate on every product we compare, so no pick earns us more than another. Prescription medication earns us nothing, and seeing your vet earns us nothing; we recommend both anyway. Learn more.

Imagery: Lifestyle photographs on this site are licensed from Pexels (royalty-free) and credited per image. Pexels imagery illustrates conditions and contexts — it does not depict the specific dogs or test sessions described in the text. Product photographs come from Amazon's Creators API. Breed portraits are illustrations of typical breed type rather than photographs of individual dogs, and are not drawn to scale against one another.

Dasuquin vs Cosequin vs green-lipped mussel: the verdict first#

You came here to be told which one to buy, so here it is before the rankings — along with the thing that has to be said first, because it changes what a ranking in this category can honestly mean.

No joint chew sold in this aisle has a published trial showing that it works. What exists is one trial that named a product and reported a null, and a lot of marketing. So the rankings below are not a league table of efficacy. They rank how cheaply and how honestly each product lets you run a six-week experiment on your own dog.

Cosequin DS Plus MSM and Dasuquin with MSM are made by the same company, Nutramax, and share the same patented glucosamine HCl (FCHG49) and chondroitin sulfate (TRH122). Dasuquin adds ASU, avocado/soybean unsaponifiables, plus Boswellia and green tea extract. So:

  • Healthy dog, no diagnosis, supplementing preventively → Cosequin. Same base actives, less money, and at the linked bottle's verified price a tablet runs $0.25–$0.33.[1]
  • Diagnosed osteoarthritis, or recovery from TPLO, FHO, or hip surgery → Dasuquin. This is the conventional step up and a defensible one, but be clear about what you are buying: this exact product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial, and it did not separate from placebo.[2] Our Dasuquin vs Cosequin breakdown runs the ingredient table and the per-day math, and YuMOVE vs Dasuquin runs the disclosure comparison.
  • A full 8-week Nutramax trial did nothing, or your dog won't take the tablets → YuMOVE. Its ActivEase green-lipped mussel works on the inflammation side rather than supplying cartilage building blocks — a different mechanism, not a knockoff. Two corrections we have published since this page was written: the company's claimed six-week clinical trial is unpublished at an unnamed college, so we no longer present it as verification, and the striking green-lipped mussel results belong to concentrated lipid extracts, not the whole-mussel powder in these chews. That distinction is the subject of green-lipped mussel vs glucosamine, and it is the single most useful thing on this page if you are shopping the mussel aisle.
  • Budget is the thing deciding whether your dog gets anything at all → a consumer chew, without guilt. Just know what you're trading: generic-source glucosamine, no per-chew panel to check, and — at August 2026 prices — often no savings either. The honest arithmetic is in Zesty Paws vs Dasuquin and our guide to cheaper alternatives that aren't junk.
  • Whatever you pick, add omega-3. EPA and DHA have the strongest trial evidence of anything in this category, with one honest asterisk: the trials fed a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic diet, not a bottle.[3]

One label note, because it's a common search: a product listing glucosamine, chondroitin, manganese, and ascorbic acid is showing you the conventional Nutramax-style base — manganese ascorbate is manganese bound to ascorbic acid, and it's on the Dasuquin label. Those four names tell you the formula is conventional, not that it's well dosed. Whose glucosamine, and how many milligrams per serving, is the part that matters.

And if "gummies" is the word you'd use: in this category that means a flavored soft chew. Dasuquin, Zesty Paws, and Pet Honesty all come that way; Cosequin DS Plus MSM is a chewable tablet. Palatability is a real advantage — the supplement your dog eats daily beats the better one you skip — but it doesn't substitute for the milligrams on the back of the tub.

Our top picks at a glance#

Nutramax Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)

Nutramax

Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)

9.0/ 10$25–$63
Best forFirst-line joint supplementation for dogs of any size
Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

Nutramax

Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

8.8/ 10$50–$135
Best forStep-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery
Nutramax Welactin Canine Omega-3 Liquid

Nutramax

Welactin Canine Omega-3 Liquid

8.4/ 10$22–$58
Best forHouseholds where a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic diet is closed off — multi-dog kitchens, elimination or kidney diets, dogs who refuse the food — and owners who want a dose they can compute and score against
YuMOVE YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

YuMOVE

YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

7.9/ 10$25–$70
Best forUK-formula alternative for dogs that won't eat Cosequin chews
Zesty Paws Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)

Zesty Paws

Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)

7.6/ 10$33–$70
Best forPalatable everyday joint chew for young and early-stage dogs

Need exact amounts for your dog's weight? Our doses by dog weight, 5 lb to 120 lb has the label charts for every product here, checked against the manufacturers.

What the canine evidence actually shows#

Supplement capsules and tablets portioned into small bowls on a marble surface — a daily dose measured out, which is the quantity the makers on this page disagree about
A daily soft chew is the form factor most owners actually keep up with — but the form factor doesn't matter if the underlying ingredient isn't the one that's been studied.Photo: ready made / Pexels

This page used to open this section by listing three ingredients with "credible canine clinical evidence" and putting glucosamine first. Reading the primary papers rather than the summaries changed that ranking, and we would rather say so plainly than quietly reorder a list.

Glucosamine and chondroitin: the finding we are most confident about is a negative one#

Two blinded, placebo-controlled trials measured dogs with instruments instead of asking their owners, and both came back null.

In Kampa et al. 2023, 75 dogs with hip osteoarthritis were block-randomised across five arms and walked over a force plate measuring peak vertical force — the load a dog actually puts through the sore leg, as a percentage of body weight. Two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly from baseline at four and six weeks. Glucosamine and chondroitin did not. The authors' conclusion, verbatim: "PCSO-524 and EAB-277, but not glucosamine/chondroitin, resulted in significant improvements in PVF from baseline after 4 weeks, and 6 weeks, and to a similar degree to that seen with carprofen."[2]

The glucosamine arm was not a generic tub. The paper names "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax Laboratories Consumer Care, Inc.," at about 30 mg of glucosamine per kg daily, and quotes the large-dog per-chew panel — 900 mg glucosamine, 350 mg chondroitin, 800 mg MSM, 90 mg ASU. That is the product we rank second on this page and it is one of our best-earning recommendations. We are telling you anyway.[2]

It also retires an argument this page used to make. We wrote that the patented FCHG49 and TRH122 forms carried the trial record while generic glucosamine did not inherit it. Against this trial that defence does not work, because this trial used the branded product containing exactly those forms.

And the null has independent replication, which is more than the mussel result can currently claim. A different group at a different institution ran a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial of a glucosamine/chondroitin product in 60 dogs — 30 treated, 30 placebo — for 97 days, with activity monitors worn continuously rather than a force plate. No difference in daily activity counts. Owner-reported pain scores improved in both arms with no difference between them.[4] Different country, different instrument, different duration, same answer.

The three defences the finding genuinely deserves, and we would rather raise them than have you find them elsewhere. Fifteen dogs per arm cannot rule out a modest benefit, and the 2023 sample size was calculated to detect the mussel extract's effect, not to exclude a smaller glucosamine one. The trial ran roughly 30 mg/kg — about the maintenance dose — for all six weeks, through exactly the window Nutramax's own label says to give two chews. Nobody has run the loading-dose trial. And in that same 2023 trial the subjective orthopaedic scores did not move in any arm, including the carprofen arm the force plate showed clearly working, so the instrument has blind spots too.[2]

The review literature agrees that the question is unsettled rather than closed. A 2017 review concluded that despite limited and conflicting evidence these products are commonly recommended, and that "there is a paucity of well-designed clinical veterinary studies investigating the true treatment effect."[5] A 2025 review sets directly conflicting canine results side by side in a single table.[6]

ASU: we overstated this, and here is the correction#

This page previously said ASU had "its own clinical evidence base for slowing cartilage degradation" and that "two trials show improvement in cartilage degradation markers." We could not substantiate either sentence and we have removed them. The strongest ASU work in dogs is laboratory and animal-model. The closest clinical trial is a 2025 randomised, double-blind study of a combination supplement containing fish oil, ASU and plant extracts against an NSAID, which reported comparable efficacy — but enrolled 20 dogs, had no placebo arm, and cannot isolate what ASU contributed.[7] Given the caregiver placebo rate below, a two-arm trial with no placebo cannot settle it.

Omega-3: the strongest evidence here, attached to a diet rather than a bottle#

This is the one claim on the page that gets stronger the closer you read. In a randomised, double-blinded, controlled trial across two university clinics, 38 dogs were force-plate tested at 90 days: mean peak vertical force rose 5.6% on the fish-oil food against 0.4% on the control food, and 82% of supplemented dogs improved against 38% of controls.[3] A companion multicentre trial in 131 dogs across 33 practices found that carprofen doses could be reduced significantly faster in the supplemented group.[8]

Read the "Procedures" line in both papers, though, and the asterisk appears: the intervention was a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic food, not a pump or a scoop added to ordinary kibble. No fish oil bottle inherits that result automatically. It remains the best reason on this page to put EPA and DHA into a dog, and it is not proof that the specific bottle we recommend does what the diet did.

Everything else#

Turmeric, MSM, hyaluronic acid and whole-mussel powder have thinner canine evidence — not zero in every case, just thinner. We mention them where relevant and do not recommend a product because of them. Green-lipped mussel is the important special case: the extracts that beat placebo are not the powder in shelf chews, and a second trial in 101 dogs confirmed the extract's effect while finding no benefit for a plant-extract comparator.[9] Both mussel trials were funded by the company that owns the extract's trademark, which is worth knowing before the result is used to sell you anything.

The number that should govern how you read your own dog#

#1 — Cosequin DS Plus MSM (Best First-Line)#

#1 Pick

Nutramax Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)

Nutramax

Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)

9.0/ 10

Our score

$25–$63

Best for

First-line joint supplementation for dogs of any size

If you're going to put a dog on one supplement, this is still the one we'd start with: the FCHG49/TRH122 forms are the ones that have actually been put in trials rather than assumed into them, and the DS tablet delivers them at full strength for well under a dollar a day even in a large dog. Two honesty notes. The evidence for the whole category is modest and the caregiver placebo effect is not — so start it, give it six weeks, and judge it against something you measured before you began. And the listing's "#1 vet recommended brand" line is a marketing survey claim, not a clinical one; buy on the ingredient forms and the price per tablet, which you can verify.

Pros

  • Contains FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin — the specific patented forms that have actually been put in trials, rather than generic glucosamine. Corrected 31 August 2026: this line previously said "the patented forms used in published canine studies," which reads as support the record does not give. The positive placebo-controlled trial of these forms was in human knees (Das and Hammad 2000); the one blinded, placebo-controlled canine force-plate trial to test them — inside Dasuquin with MSM — found no significant advantage over placebo (Kampa 2023)
  • The linked tablet adds 6 mg sodium hyaluronate (HA) per tablet over the classic Plus MSM formula. Corrected 19 August 2026: this line previously said it also added 3 mg of manganese. It does not — the classic Plus MSM tablet carries the same 3 mg of manganese ascorbate, re-verified on cosequin.com that day. HA is the only difference
  • Maximum-strength (DS) dosing — 600 mg glucosamine per tablet
  • Chewable tablet, palatable for most dogs
  • Wide count range across the tablet line (60 to 250), so per-tablet price drops meaningfully if you buy the larger bottles

Cons

  • Tablets are large; some small dogs need them split
  • Slow onset — give it 4–6 weeks to evaluate effect
  • A big dog eats through a small bottle fast: over 60 lb, the loading dose is 3 tablets a day, so the linked 75-count is 25 days of loading
  • The linked 75-count with-HA variant costs more per tablet (~$0.33) than the plain-MSM 132-count (~$0.26) — the HA is 6 mg, and whether that is worth the premium is genuinely unclear
  • Supplement effects in this category are small enough that the measured 39.7% caregiver placebo rate can swamp them — judge it against a measurement, not an impression
  • Not vegan-friendly (chondroitin is animal-derived)
  • Nutramax publishes no inactive-ingredient list on either tablet line's own product page (verified absent again on cosequin.com 31 August 2026). We previously printed the base here as brewers dried yeast, dextrose and natural & artificial flavors, sourced to retailer label reproductions; on 31 August 2026 we could not re-reach any retailer carrying that list (Chewy 429, Petco 403, Drugs.com 403), so treat it as unverified. The checkable finding stands and is the one that matters: the base is not published, and a base you cannot read cannot be cleared for a dog on a strict elimination diet

If your dog is starting a joint supplement for the first time, this is the one — and the reason is economic rather than clinical. It is the cheapest way to run a fair six-week trial from a company that publishes a full per-tablet panel, so you can see exactly what you gave and at what dose. That matters more than it sounds: most of this aisle will not tell you.

Two honest notes we have added since this page was first published. We removed the line calling this "the most veterinarian-recommended joint supplement in the U.S. according to multiple practitioner surveys" — we could not find a survey to point at, and an unsourced superlative is exactly what this page exists to argue against. And the linked bottle drifted: ASIN B0753LVSCB now sells the MSM & HA 75-count tablet, which adds 6 mg of sodium hyaluronate over the classic 600/300/250 base. Per tablet the plain-MSM 132-count is the better buy at about $0.26 against $0.33.[1]

Watch the bottle count against the dose, because for a big dog they do not match. Nutramax's schedule gives a dog over 60 lb three tablets a day through the 4–6 week loading phase, which makes the linked 75-count 25 days of loading — you will run out mid-experiment unless you plan for it.

#2 — Dasuquin with MSM (Best for Diagnosed OA)#

#2 Pick

Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

Nutramax

Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

8.8/ 10

Our score

$50–$135

Best for

Step-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery

The joint supplement to buy when you have decided to buy one and the dog has real, diagnosed osteoarthritis. The ASU component is what separates it from Cosequin and the only reason to pay the premium, and the honest framing is that the supporting evidence is strongest in the laboratory and weakest in blinded canine trials — which is true of the entire category. Buy one product, run it properly for 4–6 weeks, and judge the result against something you measured before you started. Score lowered 9.2 to 8.8 on 2026-08-13: the product has not changed, but we read the trial that tested it by name and found it did not separate from placebo on a force plate, and a second blinded trial by a different group using activity monitors reached the same answer. It stays a defensible first purchase because it is inexpensive, well tolerated and unusually well disclosed. It is no longer a product we can describe as well evidenced.

Pros

  • Adds ASU (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables) to the glucosamine/chondroitin base — the ingredient that separates it from Cosequin, with laboratory and animal-model evidence for cartilage protection
  • Same FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin as Cosequin
  • Soft chew form factor most dogs eat as a treat
  • Genuinely a veterinary-channel line, not just marketed as one — the Advanced tier is sold through clinics rather than retail. Note that the box's "#1 veterinarian recommended" rests on an unnamed survey. dasuquin.com's own footnote, read 2026-09-08, gives the source as a "survey conducted among small animal veterinarians who recommended animal supplements" — so the denominator is vets who already recommend a supplement, not vets. No sample size, date or sponsor is published
  • Published per-chew analysis — you can see exactly what a chew contains, which most competitors do not publish to the same standard — including, unusually, an omega-3 line the equivalent chewable tablet does not carry

Cons

  • 30–40% pricier than Cosequin DS
  • Soft chews can stick together in heat
  • Only meaningful upgrade if diagnosed OA — for healthy dogs Cosequin is enough
  • The canine clinical evidence for ASU is thinner than the marketing: the strongest data is laboratory and animal-model work, not blinded trials in pet dogs. No joint supplement has evidence in the same class as an NSAID
  • This exact product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial and it did not separate from placebo. Kampa et al. 2023 (Front Vet Sci, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188) names "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax" and reports a week-4 change in peak vertical force of −0.05 against placebo's +0.08, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly. Two fair caveats: small arms — 16 dogs in the glucosamine group, 14 to 15 in the others — and the trial ran maintenance dosing (about 30 mg/kg) through the window this label says to double.
  • Contains no manganese, unlike both of its Nutramax siblings — Cosequin prints 3 mg per tablet and Dasuquin Advanced prints 3 mg per large-dog chew, while this tier has no manganese row on the panel and none in the other-ingredients list (all three panels read 19 August 2026). Whether that matters is genuinely unclear, since manganese's role here is a cofactor claim rather than a tested effect. We list it as a con because the maker sells it as an active in the tier above and the buyer of this tier is never told it is absent
  • No calorie figure on the panel, on dasuquin.com or on the Amazon listing (verified absent 19 August 2026) — two chews a day is two treats a day for a dog whose weight is the strongest lever anyone has

Dasuquin is Cosequin plus ASU, Boswellia and green tea extract. It is the conventional post-surgical and diagnosed-OA choice, and we still rank it second — but the reasoning has changed and readers deserve the changed version rather than the old one.

Buy it for the disclosure, not for a proven effect. Nutramax publishes a per-chew panel most competitors do not: 900 mg glucosamine HCl, 350 mg chondroitin, 800 mg MSM and 90 mg ASU in the large-dog formula. That is what lets you check what you bought. What you cannot claim is that it has been shown to work — this exact product, by brand name, was the arm of a blinded force-plate trial that did not separate from placebo, and we lowered our own score from 9.2 to 8.8 on 13 August 2026 when we read the paper properly.[2] The product did not change. Our knowledge did.

At the verified price the running cost is $1.13 a day loading and $0.57 a day at maintenance — about $207 a year for a large dog, which also makes it far from the expensive option in this category.[13]

One piece of fine print that decides whether the trial is fair: the label asks for a 4–6 week loading phase at two chews a day, and Nutramax's published return policy gives you 10 business days to report a problem, with unopened-only returns from 10 to 30 business days. You cannot finish the trial its own label prescribes and still send the tub back. The full head-to-head runs the ingredient table and the math.

#3 — Welactin Canine Omega-3 (Best Omega-3)#

#3 Pick

Nutramax Welactin Canine Omega-3 Liquid

Nutramax

Welactin Canine Omega-3 Liquid

8.4/ 10

Our score

$22–$58

Best for

Households where a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic diet is closed off — multi-dog kitchens, elimination or kidney diets, dogs who refuse the food — and owners who want a dose they can compute and score against

The omega-3 we recommend when a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic diet is not an option, on one honest basis: the omega-3 trials in arthritic dogs were run on a diet, not on this bottle, none of them separated from control on a force plate, and the two placebo-controlled bottle trials disagree — so a dosed liquid with a published guaranteed analysis is the honest hardware for pursuing the same mechanism at a dose you and your vet chose, not a proven duplicate of anything (corrected 14 September 2026; we previously called the diet trial "the strongest evidence" and compared it as a head-to-head). Welactin earns the slot on concentration per dollar and on being made by Nutramax — not on the "#1 vet recommended" line, which is the brand's claim, not ours — and whose footnote, read 19 August 2026, defines its universe as vets "who recommended omega-3 supplements." Score lowered 8.6 to 8.4 on 19 August 2026, not because the oil changed but because a fine-print pass found the printed chart delivers under half the EPA+DHA that Colorado State's canine osteoarthritis chart calls for, that Nutramax prints the joint dose on its Advanced product and not on this one, that a retailer and the maker publish different guaranteed analyses for the same bottle, and that no calorie figure exists on any surface. It remains a cheap, concentrated, well-made oil. It is not a product you can dose for arthritis by reading its own label.

Pros

  • High concentration: 1,330 mg combined EPA+DHA per 6 mL scoop on the manufacturer's guaranteed analysis
  • Liquid over food scales to any body weight — no chew-splitting arithmetic
  • Manufactured by Nutramax, the same company as Cosequin and Dasuquin
  • Runs about $0.58/day for a 60 lb dog at the verified Amazon price — cheap for the category

Cons

  • Smells fishy, and a bowl-refuser can start refusing dosed food
  • Dosing hardware changed: current bottles pour by measuring scoop, not the pump our older copy described — dose accuracy now depends on you levelling a scoop
  • A 6 mL scoop is coarse for small dogs — the label drops to half-scoop every-other-day under 10 lb
  • Amazon's listing now leads with "Skin & Coat," not joints — the joint claim is the softer half of the marketing
  • The printed chart is a skin-and-coat dose, not a joint dose, and Nutramax says so without giving a number: welactin.com's administration note read "Veterinarians may recommend increased amounts for enhanced joint health support" on 19 August 2026, and by 25 August 2026 had been reworded to "Your veterinarian may recommend to increase this amount for maximum joint health benefits" — the wording moved, the missing number stayed missing. At the chart's 1½ scoops, a 75 lb dog gets 1,995 mg of EPA+DHA against the 4,374 mg Colorado State's published canine osteoarthritis chart calls for at that weight — about 46%. Nutramax's own Welactin Advanced 3TA prints a separate "Joint Health" column at exactly double its broad-spectrum dose; this product prints one column and a footnote
  • Retailer panels and the maker's panel disagree. On 19 August 2026 welactin.com published 1,610 mg total omega-3 and 1,330 mg EPA+DHA per 6 mL scoop, while a veterinary supply retailer's page for the same 16 oz bottle published 1,770 mg total, 870 mg EPA and 570 mg DHA (1,440 mg EPA+DHA) per the same 6 mL scoop. We use the maker's figures. If you are computing a dose against a study, read the panel on the bottle in your hand
  • No calorie figure is published anywhere we could find — not on welactin.com and not on the Amazon listing, verified absent 19 August 2026. Fish oil is the most calorie-dense thing you can add to a bowl, and weight is the largest modifiable factor in canine osteoarthritis, so this is the number the category should print and does not
  • Fish, obviously — which disqualifies it for any dog on a fish-based novel protein elimination diet, and doubles up on any dog already eating a fish-based food
  • No use-within-after-opening period, no refrigeration instruction and no full ingredient list are published on the maker's product page, verified absent 9 September 2026. A 16 oz bottle lasts a 20–44 lb dog about 11 weeks and a 10–19 lb dog about 22 weeks, and fish oil oxidises once opened, so the buyer of the small dog is being sold five months of exposure with no stated shelf life. Follow whatever the bottle in your hand says; the website does not say

Omega-3 is the ingredient with the strongest trial evidence in this category — a 5.6% gain in peak vertical force against 0.4% in controls at 90 days, and significantly faster carprofen dose reduction in a 131-dog multicentre trial.[3][8] Both of those trials fed a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic food, so a bottle poured over ordinary kibble is a reasonable extrapolation rather than the tested intervention. We would rather you knew that than believed the bottle carried the trial.

We recommend Welactin for dose transparency: a measured 6 mL scoop with a published guaranteed analysis of 1,610 mg total omega-3 and 1,330 mg combined EPA+DHA per scoop, at $29.99 for the 16 oz bottle.[14] That bottle holds roughly 78 scoops, which is about seven weeks for a 45–79 lb dog on one scoop a day, or about $0.58 a day for a 60 lb dog.

Two corrections worth carrying forward. The dosing hardware changed under our copy — current bottles pour by scoop, not the pump our older figures described, and the per-delivery amounts are several-fold different — and we removed a "third-party tested for heavy metals" claim we could not substantiate on the current listing or the manufacturer's page.

Pour it over food by the chart on the bottle. If your dog is already on a fish-based diet, check with your vet before adding more. And if surgery is anywhere in the plan, say so first: fish oil affects platelet function, and that is a conversation for the surgeon rather than the kitchen.

A senior dog lying down with a tired expression, illustrating chronic arthritis pain in older dogs
The dogs that benefit most from supplementation are seniors and post-surgical dogs — exactly the dogs whose pain you can't easily fix with exercise alone.Photo: Davide Negro / Pexels

#4 — YuMOVE Hip and Joint (Best Non-Nutramax Option)#

#4 Pick

YuMOVE YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

YuMOVE

YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

7.9/ 10

Our score

$25–$70

Best for

UK-formula alternative for dogs that won't eat Cosequin chews

The credible non-Nutramax option if you've tried Cosequin without improvement and want a different mechanism. Be clear-eyed about two things before paying for it. Green-lipped mussel's impressive trial results — matching an NSAID on a force plate in blinded studies — belong to concentrated lipid extracts, not to the whole-mussel powder in these chews. And the headline claim will not sit still: "clinically proven in 6 weeks" (Amazon bullet, still live) became "clinically proven to work in 4 weeks" on the maker's own page by 16 August 2026 — the same unnamed-UK-college footnote under both, so the claim shrank two weeks without gaining a citation. The manufacturer's own dosing pages still disagree with its Amazon listing by a factor of three — which decides whether this costs you $140 or $426 a year for a 70 lb dog (third check, 2026-08-16). Score lowered 8.4 → 7.9 on 2026-08-12 for the disclosure gaps, not because the product changed. Everything above re-verified 2026-08-16 against both dosing pages: the threefold contradiction still stands. Held at 7.9 rather than lowered further, because the same pass found two things in the product's favour we had not credited — a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee that covers Amazon and outlasts the label's own trial, and a NASC primary- supplier listing for its US distributor. It is the more expensive product with the weaker evidence and the better consumer protection.

Pros

  • ActivEase Green Lipped Mussel — a different, anti-inflammatory pathway than glucosamine alone
  • Soft chews most dogs take readily, by reviewer consensus
  • The refund window outlasts the trial the label asks for — a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee from Vetnique Labs that explicitly covers authorized Amazon purchases (verified 2026-08-13). Dasuquin's maker gives you 10 business days, so you cannot finish its own loading phase and still return it. On this axis the pricier product is clearly the safer purchase.
  • NASC lists Vetnique Labs, the US distributor, as a primary supplier (verified 2026-08-13); the same search returns no supplier page for Nutramax. A manufacturing-quality audit, not evidence of efficacy — but a real third-party check that Dasuquin's side does not have.

Cons

  • The "clinically proven" claim rests on a trial at an unnamed "leading UK veterinary college" that has never been published anywhere we can find — nothing indexed on Europe PMC as of 2026-08-12. We previously called this an "independent UK clinical trial," which overstated what is verifiable.
  • The manufacturer contradicts itself on dose: its own product page prescribes 3 chews/day maintenance for a 70 lb dog while its Amazon listing says "just one chew a day." At the manufacturer's own weight-based dose, a 70 lb dog costs about $426/year — roughly twice Dasuquin's $207.
  • Chondroitin content is not disclosed as a number; it is buried inside the mussel total, so the dose cannot be checked against anything.
  • The strongest green-lipped mussel evidence (blinded force-plate trials) belongs to concentrated lipid extracts, not the whole-mussel powder used here — this product cannot borrow those results.
  • US distribution is shifting (yumove.com product URLs now redirect to vetnique.com); watch the listing.

If your dog won't eat Cosequin, or a fair six weeks on it changed nothing you were measuring, YuMOVE is the credible alternative — it works on the inflammation side through green-lipped mussel rather than supplying cartilage building blocks, so it is a different bet rather than the same bet in a different wrapper.

Correction, and it matters. This section used to end "UK clinical trial showed improvement in stiffness scoring at 6 weeks." That claim traces to the company's own website citing "a leading UK Veterinary College" — never named, never dated, never published. A Europe PMC search for YuMOVE, Lintbells or ActivEase returned nine records and none of them is that trial. We retired the claim across the site in August 2026 and it should not have survived on this page.

Two more things a shopper needs before comparing milligrams. The mussel in these chews is dried whole-mussel powder, not the concentrated lipid extract that beat placebo on a force plate, so the 660 mg on the label and the 50 mg in the trials are not comparable quantities — one counts dried shellfish, the other an oil fraction pulled out of it.[2] And the brand contradicts itself on dose: its own weight table gives a 66–100 lb dog three chews daily at maintenance, while its Amazon copy says "just one chew a day." That threefold gap is the difference between roughly $426 and roughly $142 a year.[15]

One genuine point in its favour, and we found it by reading the distributor's policy rather than the brand's: US buyers get Vetnique Labs' 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee, which explicitly covers purchases from an authorised Amazon seller. That refund window outlasts the loading period the label asks you to run. Nutramax's does not. The full comparison is in YuMOVE vs Dasuquin.

#5 — Zesty Paws Mobility Bites (Best Budget Pick)#

#5 Pick

Zesty Paws Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)

Zesty Paws

Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)

7.6/ 10

Our score

$33–$70

Best for

Palatable everyday joint chew for young and early-stage dogs

The right choice when palatability and availability are the gating factors and your dog is young/early-stage. The ingredient list looks similar to Dasuquin on the label, but the underlying glucosamine is not the patented form, so don't expect equivalent results in dogs with diagnosed OA — and at July 2026 tub prices it is no longer meaningfully cheaper per day than the vet lines.

Pros

  • Soft chews most dogs eat as a treat
  • Very wide retail availability
  • No loading phase — same serving from day one, so the tub lasts a predictable 45 days for a 70 lb dog

Cons

  • The actives sit inside a single 1,510 mg proprietary blend, so the glucosamine and chondroitin amounts are not disclosed and cannot be checked against any published dose. That is a choice the manufacturer made, and it is the main reason this scores below the products that publish their numbers.
  • The one active that does get a number is contradicted by its own maker — 500 mg OptiMSM per 2 chews on zestypaws.com, 400 mg on the Zesty Paws Amazon listing. First caught 2026-08-10; both surfaces re-read 2026-08-14 and the disagreement still stands.
  • The chondroitin source changes with the flavor — bovine in Bacon, porcine in Duck (manufacturer's own ingredient panels, read 2026-08-14). If your dog is on a restricted-protein plan, the flavor choice is an ingredient choice.
  • Not the budget option any more. At verified prices it runs about $0.73/day and $267/yr for a 70 lb dog, against roughly $207/yr for Dasuquin with MSM at maintenance — so the cheaper-alternative framing is now backwards.
  • Glucosamine source is generic; no FCHG49-equivalent clinical evidence
  • Glucosamine is shellfish-derived, and the chew base includes pea, tapioca and garbanzo flour — relevant for a dog on an elimination diet
  • Some lots have variable smell/texture

A pricing honesty note: Zesty Paws' 90-count runs $32.97, verified 10 August 2026, which at label servings is no longer cheaper per day than Cosequin — so its case is palatability and shelf availability, not price.[16] The ingredient list looks similar to Dasuquin on the label, but the underlying glucosamine isn't the patented form.

We used to finish that thought with "don't expect equivalent results in a dog with diagnosed disease," and it needs a caveat now: the patented forms did not produce a measurable result either in the one trial that tested them.[2] The real argument for the branded product is that you can read its panel and check its dose, not that it has been shown to outperform this one. We'd still rather see a 4-year-old large-breed on Zesty Paws than on nothing, and the Zesty vs Dasuquin comparison shows the current math in full.

#6 — Pet Honesty Hip & Joint (Honorable Mention)#

#6 Pick

Pet Honesty Pet Honesty Hip and Joint Health Chews

Pet Honesty

Pet Honesty Hip and Joint Health Chews

7.4/ 10

Our score

$25–$55

Best for

Daily maintenance chew when palatability is the deciding factor

A solid daily chew if your dog refuses Cosequin tablets. Don't expect post-OA results — but for general joint maintenance in a 4–7 year old, it's a reasonable chew that owners actually remember to give.

Pros

  • NASC Quality Seal holder: Pet Honesty carries the green check under "audited for supplements" on the NASC member list, read at source 11 September 2026. That is an audit of the company's facility, labeling and complaint system every two years plus random testing, not a test of the chew
  • Soft chew form factor with chicken or duck flavoring
  • Includes turmeric and yucca for anti-inflammatory support
  • Fits most dogs' once-daily routine

Cons

  • Generic glucosamine source, not the Nutramax patented form
  • Lower chondroitin per chew than vet-channel options
  • Newer brand — less long-tail clinical data
  • Per-chew milligram amounts are not printed on the maker's own product pages or in the Amazon listing text (both read 11 September 2026; the bullets say "high-potency" and give no figure), so the dose cannot be checked against any published study for your dog's weight

Pet Honesty is a direct-to-consumer brand with a soft-chew form factor most dogs eat as a treat. It stays on this page as an honourable mention rather than a ranked recommendation, and we want to be straight about why: we have not verified its per-chew panel off its own label, so we will not publish a milligram comparison against the products above, and we removed an unsourced "consistent quality assurance" line that was doing work no evidence supported. Palatability is a real advantage and it is the only one we can currently stand behind. If you want a chew whose contents you can check to the milligram, buy one of the Nutramax bottles instead.

What about CBD, turmeric, and "anti-inflammatory" blends?#

Honest answer: the canine CBD evidence is promising but preliminary, and the trial people cite is real. A Cornell group ran a randomised, placebo-controlled, owner- and veterinarian-blinded crossover of 2 mg/kg CBD oil twice daily in dogs with osteoarthritis and found significant decreases in pain and increases in activity on the Canine Brief Pain Inventory and Hudson activity scores.[17] Read the limitations with it: the outcomes were questionnaire-based rather than force-plate, the trial was small, and serum alkaline phosphatase rose significantly during CBD treatment, which is a real finding and a reason to involve your vet rather than dose from a shop shelf.

Turmeric has thinner evidence again. We don't recommend either as a primary supplement, and if the budget is finite we'd rather it went to omega-3 or to the weight-loss plan.

How to actually use a joint supplement#

  1. Pick one chew (Cosequin or Dasuquin) and one omega-3 (Welactin). That's the regimen. Exact label amounts for your dog's weight are in our dosing tables.
  2. Give it daily for eight weeks before judging. Don't switch at week two.
  3. Track something. "Time to stand up after a nap" or "willingness to use stairs" — pick a metric and write it down weekly. Memory is unreliable for slow changes, and hope is worse: print our supplement trial scorecard and set the threshold you'll judge by before the first chew.
  4. Tell your vet what you're giving. Especially if your dog is on an NSAID or anti-coagulant.
  5. Stop if there's no benefit at 8 weeks. Some dogs don't respond to glucosamine at all, and you're throwing money away.

The bottom line#

Start with Cosequin DS plus an omega-3. If your dog has diagnosed OA or has had orthopedic surgery, Dasuquin is the conventional step up — bought for its disclosure, not for a demonstrated effect. If your dog won't eat Cosequin, try YuMOVE. Skip the marketing-heavy "10-in-1" blends, which put many ingredients on a label at amounts no trial has tested.

The sentence worth taking away is smaller than the rankings suggest. In this category the thing we know most confidently is a negative result, and the two interventions with the best evidence are not chews at all — they are taking weight off an overweight dog and getting EPA and DHA into him. A supplement is one tool. The others are weight management, an orthopedic bed, low-impact exercise, and, when needed, your vet's NSAID. In both mussel trials, the arm that reliably moved the force plate was the NSAID.

If your dog is sore right now, the supplement question is not the urgent one. Make the appointment, then come back to this page.

Sources#

  1. Kampa N, Kaenkangploo D, Jitpean S, Seesupa S, Hoisang S, et al. "Study of the effectiveness of glucosamine and chondroitin sulfate, marine based fatty acid compounds (PCSO-524 and EAB-277), and carprofen for the treatment of dogs with hip osteoarthritis: A prospective, block-randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled clinical trial." Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2023;10:1033188. doi:10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188 (PMID 36816197) — 75 dogs, 15 per arm, six weeks, peak vertical force on a force plate. The glucosamine arm is named in the paper as "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax Laboratories Consumer Care, Inc." at ~30 mg glucosamine HCl/kg/day. Funded by Pharmalink International Ltd, which owns the EAB-277 and Antinol trademarks.
  2. Scott RM, Evans R, Conzemius MG. "Efficacy of an oral nutraceutical for the treatment of canine osteoarthritis. A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled prospective clinical trial." Veterinary and Comparative Orthopaedics and Traumatology. 2017;30(5):318-323. doi:10.3415/vcot-17-02-0020 (PMID 28763523) — 30 treated vs 30 placebo, 97 days, continuously worn activity monitors; no difference in daily activity counts; owner-scored pain improved equally in both arms.
  3. Conzemius MG, Evans RB. "Caregiver placebo effect for dogs with lameness from osteoarthritis." Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association. 2012;241(10):1314-1319. doi:10.2460/javma.241.10.1314 (PMID 23113523) — placebo arm of a blinded trial with force-plate analysis; owners judged improvement 39.7% of the time, veterinarians 44.8% at a walk, while ground reaction forces did not change.
  4. Roush JK, Cross AR, Renberg WC, et al. "Evaluation of the effects of dietary supplementation with fish oil omega-3 fatty acids on weight bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis." JAVMA. 2010;236(1):67-73. doi:10.2460/javma.236.1.67 (PMID 20043801) — randomised, double-blinded, controlled; 38 dogs at two university clinics; mean peak vertical force change at day 90 of 5.6% (test food) vs 0.4% (control); improvement in 82% vs 38% of dogs. The intervention was a fish-oil-enriched food, not a supplement bottle.
  5. Fritsch DA, Allen TA, Dodd CE, et al. "A multicenter study of the effect of dietary supplementation with fish oil omega-3 fatty acids on carprofen dosage in dogs with osteoarthritis." JAVMA. 2010;236(5):535-539. doi:10.2460/javma.236.5.535 (PMID 20187834) — randomised, controlled, multisite; 131 client-owned dogs at 33 practices; carprofen dosage decreased significantly faster in the supplemented group over 12 weeks. Again a food, not a bottle.
  6. Kampa N, Kaenkangploo D, Jitpean S, et al. "Evaluation of the comparative efficacy of green lipped mussel plus krill oil extracts (EAB-277), Biota orientalis extracts or NSAIDs for the treatment of dogs with osteoarthritis." Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2024;11:1464549. doi:10.3389/fvets.2024.1464549 (PMID 39450405) — 101 dogs; no glucosamine arm in this trial. Same funder.
  7. Palumbo Piccionello A, Riccio V, Sassaroli S, et al. "A randomized, double-blind, controlled study on the efficacy of an oral dietary supplement containing fish oil, ASU and phytotherapeutic extracts in canine osteoarthritis." Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2025;12:1693838. doi:10.3389/fvets.2025.1693838 — 20 dogs, no placebo arm, combination product; cannot isolate the ASU contribution.
  8. Bhathal A, Spryszak M, Louizos C, Frankel G. "Glucosamine and chondroitin use in canines for osteoarthritis: A review." Open Veterinary Journal. 2017;7(1):36-49. doi:10.4314/ovj.v7i1.6 (PMID 28331832).
  9. Bwalya EC, Wijekoon HS, Okumura M. "A review of the clinical efficacy and adverse effects of disease modifying osteoarthritic drugs (DMOADs) in dogs, with special focus on glucosamine and pentosan polysulfate." Journal of Veterinary Medical Science. 2025;87(12):1451-1457. doi:10.1292/jvms.25-0293.
  10. Marshall WG, Hazewinkel HAW, Mullen D, De Meyer G, Baert K, Carmichael S. "The effect of weight loss on lameness in obese dogs with osteoarthritis." Veterinary Research Communications. 2010;34(3):241-253. doi:10.1007/s11259-010-9348-7 (PMID 20237844) — 14 obese client-owned dogs, open prospective trial, 16 weeks; significant decrease in lameness from 6.10% body weight loss onwards, supported by kinetic gait analysis from 8.85% onwards.
  11. Impellizeri JA, Tetrick MA, Muir P. "Effect of weight reduction on clinical signs of lameness in dogs with hip osteoarthritis." JAVMA. 2000;216(7):1089-1091. doi:10.2460/javma.2000.216.1089 (PMID 10754668) — 9 dogs, non-blinded prospective trial; significant improvement in lameness after 11–18% weight loss.
  12. Gamble LJ, Boesch JM, Frye CW, et al. "Pharmacokinetics, Safety, and Clinical Efficacy of Cannabidiol Treatment in Osteoarthritic Dogs." Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2018;5:165. doi:10.3389/fvets.2018.00165 (PMID 30083539) — randomised, placebo-controlled, owner- and veterinarian-blinded crossover; significant improvement on the Canine Brief Pain Inventory and Hudson activity scores at 2 mg/kg twice daily; serum alkaline phosphatase increased significantly during treatment.
  13. Product prices, ASINs, per-chew panels, dosing schedules and return terms: our own dated verifications through the Amazon Creators API and the manufacturers' own pages, recorded in content/products/product-ledger.md — Cosequin 10 August 2026, Dasuquin 7 August 2026, Welactin 8 August 2026, Zesty Paws 10 August 2026, YuMOVE 13 August 2026.

Corrections published on this page since first publication: the YuMOVE UK-trial claim (retired August 2026), the ASU "clinical evidence base" overstatement, the "most veterinarian-recommended" superlative, the Welactin pump dosing and heavy-metals testing claims, and the framing of glucosamine's trial record. Our full log is at /corrections.

This article is educational and does not replace veterinary advice. Nothing here is a reason to stop a medication your vet prescribed.

Frequently asked

Does glucosamine actually work in dogs?
On the best evidence available, probably not measurably — and this is a correction to what this page used to say. Two blinded, placebo-controlled trials using objective instruments both came back negative. In Kampa et al. 2023 (Frontiers in Veterinary Science, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188), 15 dogs per arm took glucosamine and chondroitin for six weeks and their force-plate readings did not separate from placebo, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly. In Scott, Evans and Conzemius 2017 (VCOT 30(5):318-323, DOI 10.3415/vcot-17-02-0020), 30 treated and 30 placebo dogs wore activity monitors for 97 days and daily activity counts did not differ — while owner-reported pain scores improved equally in both arms. What that does not prove is that no dog benefits: 15 dogs per arm cannot exclude a small effect, and the 2023 trial ran the maintenance dose through the window the label says to double. Glucosamine remains cheap and well tolerated. It is the confidence, not the product, that the evidence takes away.
Cosequin vs Dasuquin — what's the difference?
Both are Nutramax products with the same glucosamine HCl (FCHG49) and sodium chondroitin sulfate (TRH122). Dasuquin adds ASU (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables), plus Boswellia and green tea extract. We used to say ASU had its own clinical evidence base for slowing cartilage degradation; that was an overstatement and we corrected it in August 2026. The strongest ASU work in dogs is laboratory and animal-model, and the closest clinical trial (Palumbo Piccionello et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science 2025, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2025.1693838) tested a combination product containing fish oil, ASU and plant extracts in 20 dogs with no placebo arm, so it cannot isolate what ASU did. For a healthy dog under five, Cosequin is the cheaper way to run the same experiment. For diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-orthopedic surgery, Dasuquin is the conventional step up. Don't take both.
What is the best brand of dog joint supplement?
There is no brand in this category with a published trial showing it works, so the honest question is which one lets you check. Nutramax publishes a full per-chew panel, which most competitors do not, and Dasuquin with MSM was named by brand in a blinded force-plate trial — where it did not separate from placebo. That is a bad result, but you can read it. We used to argue here that the patented FCHG49 and TRH122 forms carried the trial record and generic glucosamine did not inherit it. That defence cannot be used against this particular trial, because the trial used the branded product containing exactly those forms. Within the line: Cosequin is the cheaper way to run a six-week trial, Dasuquin the conventional post-surgical choice. The credible non-Nutramax option is YuMOVE, which works through green-lipped mussel on an anti-inflammatory pathway instead — but note that the striking mussel results belong to concentrated lipid extracts, not the whole-mussel powder in shelf chews.
What about a supplement listing glucosamine, chondroitin, manganese, and ascorbic acid?
That combination is the Nutramax-style base: glucosamine hydrochloride and chondroitin sulfate as the cartilage building blocks, plus manganese ascorbate — manganese bound to ascorbic acid — which appears on the Dasuquin label. Seeing those four names is a sign you are looking at a conventionally formulated joint product rather than an ingredient shotgun. What it does not tell you is how many milligrams of each you are giving, which is the number that decides whether the dose resembles anything anyone has studied — so read the per-serving panel rather than stopping at the ingredient names. Do not read the patented forms as a guarantee of results: the one blinded trial that tested them found no separation from placebo. What they buy you is a manufacturer who publishes the panel.
Are joint gummies or soft chews for dogs any good?
"Gummies" in this category almost always means a flavored soft chew, and the form factor is worth taking seriously for one reason: consistency. A supplement your dog eats like a treat every morning beats a better formulation you skip three days a week. Dasuquin, Zesty Paws, and Pet Honesty all come as soft chews; Cosequin's DS Plus MSM is a chewable tablet most dogs still take. What the chew format cannot fix is a weak formula — many consumer chews use generic-source glucosamine at lower per-chew doses than the veterinary lines, so read the milligrams per serving before you buy on palatability alone.
Should I add omega-3 separately?
Probably, and it is the one part of this page where the evidence is genuinely stronger than for glucosamine — with one asterisk worth understanding. Two randomised multicentre trials found real effects: Roush et al. 2010 (JAVMA 236(1):67-73) measured a 5.6% gain in peak vertical force on a force plate at 90 days against 0.4% in controls, with 82% of supplemented dogs improving versus 38%; and Fritsch et al. 2010 (JAVMA 236(5):535-539) found carprofen doses could be reduced significantly faster in 131 supplemented dogs. The asterisk: both trials fed a fish-oil-enriched therapeutic diet, not a bottle poured over ordinary kibble, so no fish oil product inherits those results directly. Welactin is our pick for dose transparency, not because it was the thing tested. Dose by weight, and tell your vet before you start if your dog is on other medications or heading for surgery — fish oil affects platelet function.
How long until I see a result?
Give it the full 6–8 weeks the labels ask for, and decide before you start what 'working' would look like. Both Nutramax labels prescribe a 4–6 week loading phase, so anything you conclude at week two is noise. Be careful with your own impression, though: in the placebo arm of a blinded canine osteoarthritis trial with force plates running throughout, owners judged their dogs improved 39.7% of the time while the measured ground reaction forces did not move at all (Conzemius and Evans, JAVMA 2012;241:1314-1319). That is why we push a written baseline so hard. If nothing you measured has moved at 8 weeks, stop — you are buying a habit, not a result.
Are these supplements safe?
Generally yes, but they're not regulated as medications. Risks: allergic reactions to shellfish-derived glucosamine, soft stools from too much fish oil, and rare interactions with anti-coagulants. Tell your vet what you're giving. If your dog is already on an NSAID like carprofen, the supplement doesn't replace it — they work on different pathways.
Which joint supplement do vets recommend after orthopedic surgery?
Dasuquin is the one most commonly reached for after TPLO, FHO or hip surgery, and it is a reasonable choice — but buy it for the disclosure and the tolerability rather than for a proven post-surgical benefit, because no trial has demonstrated one. We have removed the claim that ASU has clinical evidence for slowing cartilage degradation in dogs; that evidence is laboratory and animal-model work. Pair it with an omega-3, and raise both with your surgeon at the post-op recheck rather than starting on your own — some prefer to wait until NSAIDs taper, and fish oil affects platelet function, which matters around surgery. The interventions with the best evidence in a post-op dog are not supplements at all: they are keeping him lean and getting him into a structured rehabilitation programme when the surgeon clears it.
Which supplement is easiest to actually keep up with every day?
The one your dog eats like a treat, because consistency beats formulation — a perfect supplement skipped three days a week does nothing. Soft chews (Dasuquin, Zesty Paws, Pet Honesty) win for palatability; Cosequin tablets work for most dogs; Welactin pours over food and disappears into dinner. Pick a daily anchor like breakfast, and use the loading-then-maintenance schedule printed on the label.

Know someone whose dog is doing this? Send it to them.