Home nursing
The Incision After His Back Surgery Looks Red. What Is Normal for a Hemilaminectomy Wound, and What Is a Call Today?
Every disc-surgery sheet says call for increased redness, swelling, discharge or sudden pain; none describes normal. Infection runs 0.6 to 4.2 percent, and every deep infection showed as pain over the spine, not fever.

Someone has told you a little redness is normal, and it is. What the discharge sheet asks you to watch for is not redness but increased redness, swelling or discharge, or an incision that "suddenly becomes painful to the touch."[1] Every one of those is a comparison, and a comparison needs a yesterday. Infection after this operation is uncommon in every series we found, between 0.6 and 4.2 percent, the higher figure being for neurosurgery as a group,[9][11] and in the one series we found that described what a deep infection looked like, the sign every dog had was pain when the spine was touched, the median day it showed was day 7, and a fever was uncommon.[8] So: photograph it every morning at the same angle, put nothing on it, keep it dry, and call today if it is redder, bigger, wetter or sorer than yesterday's picture, or if he is sore over his back or worse in his legs whatever the picture shows.
Affiliate disclosure: Dog Orthopedic is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we earn a commission at no extra cost to you — about 3% on most pet products, and the same rate on every product we compare, so no pick earns us more than another. Prescription medication earns us nothing, and seeing your vet earns us nothing; we recommend both anyway. Learn more.
Imagery: Lifestyle photographs on this site are licensed from Pexels (royalty-free) and credited per image. Pexels imagery illustrates conditions and contexts — it does not depict the specific dogs or test sessions described in the text. Product photographs come from Amazon's Creators API. Breed portraits are illustrations of typical breed type rather than photographs of individual dogs, and are not drawn to scale against one another.
What the sheets ask you to look for, side by side#
We read every disc-surgery discharge sheet and owner page we have used on the sibling pages of this series, and pulled out only the lines about the incision. They agree on the alarm signs and on leaving it alone. None of them describes what a normal incision looks like on day 3 or day 7.
| Source | Daily check | Call if | Put on it | Bathing | Sutures or staples out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary Surgical Centers, IVDD discharge sheet | "Monitor the incision daily for signs of infection such as increased redness, swelling or discharge" | Any of those, or "the surgical site suddenly becomes painful to the touch" | "Keep the incision clean and dry (do not apply anything to the incision)" | "No bathing or swimming for 14 days" | "10-12 days after surgery" |
| Southeast Veterinary Neurology, postoperative care | "Monitor the incision for any redness, swelling, pain, or discharge" | Those, or any incision question, to them or your own vet | No topical medications until the sutures are out | Not until sutures removed; pet wipes meanwhile | "typically in about two weeks" |
| Resurge, nursing care after hemilaminectomy | "Keep a close eye on them"; "incisional care is minimal" | "If you feel like your pet's incision looks bad in any way" | Do not clean it or apply topicals "unless we have outlined it within your surgical discharge summary" | "avoided until 10-14 days postoperatively" | Not stated |
| Animal Clinic of Billings, spine surgery | Check "daily for any redness, irritation, swelling, discharge, or drainage" | "becomes red or swollen, or oozes blood or fluid"; "chews or damages the incision" | Not stated for the incision; e-collar "at all times unless supervised" | "Do not allow the incision to get wet" | 14 days in the checklist; "3 weeks from the date of surgery" further down the same page |
| Animal Clinic of Billings, non-ambulatory spine surgery | No incision section; if using heat, "check the skin every 5 minutes for redness" | Not stated for the incision | Not stated | Rinse urine-soaked skin with warm water, pat dry, light blow dry | Evaluation at 2 weeks, "may have their sutures removed" |
| American College of Veterinary Surgeons, IVDD | Not stated | Not stated; "Incisional infection can occur" | Not stated | Not stated | At the recheck, "if present" |
Sources: VSC;[1] SEVN;[2] Resurge;[3] Billings spine surgery;[4] Billings non-ambulatory;[5] ACVS.[6]
Read the second column again. "Increased redness." "Becomes red or swollen." "Suddenly becomes painful." Every alarm on every sheet is a change, and the sheet was handed to you on the one day you had nothing to compare it with. The specialist panel's 2022 consensus statement on this operation, 27 pages long, does not contain a sentence about caring for the incision at all; the closest it comes is that underwater treadmill therapy has been started "anywhere from 3 (with incision protection)" to 14 days after surgery in the studies it reviews.[7] Nobody has written down what day 3 should look like. What they have written down is what day 3 should not do, which is get worse.

What normal looks like, as far as anyone has written it down#
For disc surgery specifically, nobody has. The nearest honest description comes from a veterinary teaching hospital's owner guide to spays and neuters, which says plainly: "Light swelling and some bruising around the incision is normal," and that if a pet is "acting painful, very tired, or if red or yellow discharge is noted from the incision," to contact the vet.[12] Texas A&M's teaching hospital tells orthopaedic owners to inspect the wound daily for 10 to 14 days for "redness, swelling, pain or heat when touched, and fluid coming from the incision."[13] A spay incision is on the belly and short; a hemilaminectomy incision is on the back and long. We are applying a general description of healing skin to a different wound, and we say so.
Our own reading, not a source's: because he lies on his side, the two ends of a long back incision are not in the same conditions. One end is nearer the bedding, and in a dog who leaks urine, nearer the wet. When you photograph it, photograph the whole length and both ends, and when you turn him, look at the end that was down.
How often it goes wrong, and what it looked like when it did#
Four published series, in order of size:
| Series | Dogs or procedures | Antibiotics | Surgical site infection | Also found |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dyall and Schmökel 2018, one centre | 154 hemilaminectomy and laminectomy procedures (of 221 consecutive) | None perioperatively | 1 superficial infection, 0.6% | Expected rate for clean wounds in dogs and cats quoted as 2.0 to 4.8% |
| Korytárová et al. 2023, one centre, retrospective | 158 dogs after spinal surgery | Whole cohort: some with, some without postoperative antibiotics | 1.3% | Urinary tract infection in 8.2% |
| Välkki et al. 2020, one centre | 406 dogs, clean orthopaedic and neurosurgery | 92.9% received prophylaxis | 6.3% overall; 4.2% in neurosurgeries | |
| To, Cherubini and Caine 2025, one referral hospital | 1,723 thoracolumbar decompressive surgeries | Not the study's question | 19 deep infections, 1.1% | Median day 7 (range 2 to 38); all 19 survived to discharge |
Sources: Dyall;[9] Korytárová;[10] Välkki;[11] To.[8]
Three things in that table matter more than the rates.
The infection after this operation is usually not in the wound. In the 2023 series, a urinary tract infection was six times as common as a wound infection, 8.2 percent against 1.3.[10] The household watching the incision is, statistically, watching the wrong place. Our page on bladder infection in a dog who cannot get up is the one that covers the likelier infection, and the signs it lists are in the urine and the bladder, not on the skin.
When the wound did get infected, the dog said so before the skin did. In the 1,723-surgery series, every one of the 19 dogs with a deep infection had pain on touching the spine. Seven of the 19 had got worse neurologically. Two had a soft fluid swelling at the surface. A fever was uncommon: the mean temperature at diagnosis was 37.9 °C, range 36.5 to 39.1, which the authors note may be because these dogs were on anti-inflammatory drugs.[8] So the thermometer that cannot clear the bladder cannot clear the wound either, and the sign that was present in all of them is one your dog cannot report. He can only flinch when you touch his back, or stop letting you.
It showed at a week, and it was treatable. The median time to diagnosis was 7 days after surgery, inside the window before most suture appointments. All 19 dogs survived to discharge, 14 of them walking, and of the 14 with short-term follow-up all were walking and the pain over the spine had resolved, though one dog, which also had an infection of the disc and vertebrae, became sore again after its antibiotics were stopped.[8] That is the case for calling on day 5 rather than waiting for day 12.
“Because your dog can't tell you how much pain he or she is in.”
The soft lump that is probably not an infection#
A seroma is the thing owners find on day 4 and search for at midnight. An emergency and referral centre's post-operative guide puts it in two sentences: "After some procedures, a sterile fluid pocket under your pet's skin may develop. This is known as a seroma," and "As long as the swelling does not seem painful when you touch it and there is no discharge," seromas usually resolve on their own.[14] That is as much as we could find from a source we would cite. We found no study of how often seromas occur after a hemilaminectomy, and we are not going to borrow a percentage from a pet-insurance blog.
Two cautions, both from the sources above. The deep-infection series found a superficial seroma in 2 of its 19 infected dogs,[8] so a soft lump does not rule infection out; the lump is reassuring only while it is soft, cool, painless and dry. And the sheets' instruction to put nothing on the incision covers the lump too. Do not press it, do not drain it, do not warm it on your own initiative. Photograph it beside the incision each morning so its size is a record rather than an impression, and if it is still there at the suture appointment, that is where it gets looked at.
The daily photograph#
This is the instrument the sheet assumes you have and never tells you to keep. The method is ours, and it costs nothing.
- Same time. At the morning bladder expression, when he is already on his side and the pad is being changed. The check joins a routine that already happens rather than becoming a separate task that fades. Our page on the pen, the lift and the bladder has the routine it joins.
- Same angle, same light, flash off. Stand where you stood yesterday. Overhead room light, not the window, because daylight changes colour through the week and redness is a colour judgement.
- The whole length, then each end. Three frames. The ends are where the incision meets the bedding.
- Compare, don't judge. Open yesterday's picture beside today's. The sheet's words are "increased," "becomes," "suddenly." You are not deciding whether it is red. You are deciding whether it is redder.
- Touch last, and lightly. Once, with the back of a finger, along the skin beside the incision, not on it. A dog who flinched today and did not flinch yesterday is the finding in the infection series, and it is a call.[8]
Keep the pictures in one album. At the suture appointment, or in a phone call on day 5, a series of seven photographs at the same angle is worth more than any sentence you can say about it.

Licking, the cone and the suit#
The sheets expect most dogs not to reach a back incision. Southeast Veterinary Neurology: "Most pets are unable to chew, lick, or scratch the incisions for most neurosurgical procedures," with an Elizabethan collar used if the pet does.[2] Resurge says the back over the spine and the underside of the neck are "difficult for patients to lick," but to "keep a close eye on them," because "licking can cause infection, and infection can lead to serious complications."[3] The general-practice sheet is stricter and keeps the cone on "at all times unless supervised."[4] The teaching hospitals, writing about spay incisions and orthopaedic patients, keep it on for 10 days and 10 to 14 days.[12][13]
So the question is not "cone or suit" but "has he reached it." A long-backed dog whose incision sits near the tail base, and a dog who scoots his back along the pen wall, are the ones to watch. For everyone else, the daily look is the whole job.
Free. The cone the clinic sent home, if it sent one. If a cone will not stay on a dog lying flat, or stops him drinking from the bowl beside him, the teaching hospital's guide notes that "some people dress their pets in baby pajamas" to keep them off an incision;[12] a child's T-shirt does the same over a back incision and costs nothing. Ask the surgeon first whether the incision may be covered at all.
About $29 to $31. A purpose-made recovery suit, for the dog who has reached the incision and will not keep a cone on.
#1 Pick

Suitical
Suitical Recovery Suit for Dogs (Large, Black)
Our score
$29.44
Best for
A dog recovering from spinal surgery who can actually reach his incision, or who rubs it on the pen, in a household that cannot keep a cone on a dog lying flat
For most dogs after disc surgery the honest answer is nothing: the incision is on the back, the neurology practices say most dogs cannot reach it, and the clinic will have sent a cone home if it thought one was needed. Buy this for the dog who has shown he can reach his incision, or who rubs it on the pen wall, when a cone will not stay on a dog lying flat. Measure his back from collar to tail base and aim for the maker's "second skin" fit, neither loose nor tight, because a suit that has touched him cannot go back. Do not put it on a dog who leaks urine unless you can change it as often as his pads, and take it off for the daily look at the incision, at a fixed point in the bladder routine, rather than trusting that what you cannot see is fine.
Pros
- Covers the torso from the neck to the base of the tail, which is where a hemilaminectomy incision sits; a cone protects the same incision only by stopping the mouth, and in our reading, not a source's, a cone on a dog lying flat gets between him and the bowl beside him
- Sized by one measurement, back length from the collar to the base of the tail, published for all ten sizes (Large is 67 to 76 cm, 26.4 to 29.9 in). The maker's own rule is "like a second skin": too large "can create openings," too small "can be uncomfortable, cause breathing difficulties, and lead to chafing around the legs and neck." The retailer chart we read adds that the manufacturer recommends the smaller size between two; that sentence is the retailer's, not on the maker's page
- Machine washable at up to 90 °C (194 °F) by the maker's own instructions, air dry only, which matters for a dog who leaks urine onto whatever he wears
- Opens at the back with snaps for toileting, so it can be unsnapped for bladder expression without being taken off
- Cotton and lycra according to the listing, which the maker says breathes better than nylon spandex; it has an inner pocket for a pad
Cons
- Most dogs do not need it. Two neurology practices say pets usually cannot lick or chew a back incision (Southeast Veterinary Neurology: "Most pets are unable to chew, lick, or scratch the incisions for most neurosurgical procedures"; Resurge: the back over the spine is "difficult for patients to lick"). Buy it for the dog who has shown he can reach it, not in case
- It hides the incision. Every discharge sheet we read asks for a daily look, and a suit means the look is a suit-off moment, which with a dog who cannot stand is a two-handed job. Put the daily check into the bladder routine so it is not skipped
- On a dog who leaks urine the suit soaks, and a wet suit holds urine against the one place the surgeon said to keep dry. A dog who is still being expressed, or who leaks between expressions, is the wrong dog for it unless you can change it as often as the pads under him
- The buy box was a third-party seller, not Suitical, on 2026-10-20, so the return terms and the authenticity are the seller's. Suitical's own return policy accepts the suit only with "no signs of use": tried on but never on the dog, 14 days to notify and 14 more to return, return postage paid by you. Measure before you order, because a suit that has touched the dog cannot go back
- No weight is published for any size, and the Amazon listing gives no fabric composition. Reviews on other retailers describe both a Large that was too long and an XXS ordered for a 14 in back; the chart is by length alone and a deep-chested or barrel-bodied dog can fit the length and not the girth
- Elastic at the neck, legs and tail sits over skin that a recumbent dog may already be sore on; check the edges at every change, the same way you check the hips and hocks
It covers the torso from the collar to the base of the tail, which is where this incision sits, and is sized by that one measurement; the Large is 67 to 76 cm, 26.4 to 29.9 inches of back.[17] The maker's own instructions wash it at up to 90 °C and air dry,[16] which is what you want on a dog who leaks. Three things against it, and they are the reasons it sits below the free options. It hides the incision, so the daily photograph becomes a suit-off moment, which with a dog who cannot stand means two hands or two people. On a dog still leaking between expressions it soaks, and a wet suit is a wet dressing on the one place every sheet says to keep dry. And the maker takes a suit back only if it has never been on the dog, with return postage on you, so measure before ordering; on Amazon the Large was $29.44 on 20 October 2026 with the buy box held by a third-party seller rather than Suitical, so the return terms there are that seller's.[15][18]
Keep it dry, in a dog who lies in his own urine#
"Keep the incision clean and dry" is on every sheet, and for a dog who cannot stand it is the hardest line on the page. The surgical centre bans bathing and swimming for 14 days;[1] the neurology practice says pet wipes until the sutures are out;[2] the general practice's non-ambulatory sheet rinses urine-soaked skin with warm water, pats it dry and lightly blow-dries it.[5] How to wash the soiled half of him while the incision stays dry is its own page: how to bathe a dog who cannot stand. The short version is that the dry zone is the incision and whatever dressing is on it, the wet zone is wherever the urine went, and the first wash near a lumbosacral incision should be one the surgeon has described to you.
What keeps the incision dry without touching it is what is under him: a washable pad changed at every handling, so the wet is carried away rather than lying against his back. The pads, the turning schedule and the bony points to check are on our page on pressure sores and urine scald. The incision is one more thing to look at when you turn him, on the side that was down.
When the sutures come out, and whether there are any#
The sheets give four answers. Suture or staple removal "10-12 days after surgery."[1] "Typically in about two weeks."[2] Fourteen days in one practice's checklist and "3 weeks from the date of surgery" further down the same page.[4] And the surgeons' college: a recheck and "removal of skin sutures or staples, if present."[6] That "if present" is the useful phrase. Some incisions are closed under the skin with nothing to take out, and some have staples, and the sheet you were given may not say which. Ring and ask two things: the date, and whether there is anything to remove. The answer changes whether a missed week matters.
Getting him there is the trip page, and the same appointment is where the week of photographs gets looked at, so bring the phone.
What we could not find#
- A description of a normal hemilaminectomy incision, day by day. None of the disc-surgery sheets gives one, and the specialist consensus does not mention the incision. The "light swelling and some bruising" line is from a spay guide.
- A seroma rate after spinal surgery in dogs. The only figure we have is 2 of 19 dogs who already had a deep infection, which is not a rate.
- A comparison of cone, suit and nothing for a back incision. The practices' instructions range from "most pets are unable" to "at all times unless supervised," and no study we found tested any of them.
- What "incision protection" means in the rehabilitation studies that started underwater treadmill work at 3 days. The consensus statement does not say, and we did not read the seven studies it cites for that sentence.
- Any published guidance on the daily photograph. The sheets ask for a daily check and a comparison; none says how to keep the record the comparison needs. The method above is ours.
What to do this week#
Tomorrow morning, at the first expression, take the three photographs and start the album. Write the four call signs on the sheet on the fridge, next to the bladder times, in the sheet's own words: redder, more swollen, discharging, suddenly painful. Add the two that are not on the skin: sore over the back when touched, worse in the legs. Ring the clinic and confirm the suture date and whether there is anything to remove. Then put nothing on the incision, keep the pad under him dry, and look at the end that was down every time you turn him.
The published infections showed at a median of 7 days, and every one was treatable when it was found. An incision that is a little red on day 3 and a little redder on day 5 is a phone call on day 5. The temptation is to give it the weekend. This site's thesis is that the delay is the injury. Here the delay is measured in days, and the instrument that shortens it is already in your pocket. The rest of this recovery is on our pages on the pen and the bladder, the nights and disc disease itself.
Sources#
-
Veterinary Surgical Centers. "Post-Operative Instructions: Intervertebral Disc Disease." Discharge sheet. vscdsurgerycenters.com. Read in full 20 October 2026: "Monitor the incision daily for signs of infection such as increased redness, swelling or discharge. If you observe any of these signs or if the surgical site suddenly becomes painful to the touch please call us immediately. Keep the incision clean and dry (do not apply anything to the incision). No bathing or swimming for 14 days"; "If he/she seems lethargic, acutely painful, simply not doing well, or declining neurologically please call us immediately"; "Please schedule an appointment for suture/staple removal 10-12 days after surgery."
-
Southeast Veterinary Neurology. "Postoperative care." Owner page, ©2024. sevneurology.com. Read 20 October 2026: "Monitor the incision for any redness, swelling, pain, or discharge"; "Most pets are unable to chew, lick, or scratch the incisions for most neurosurgical procedures," an Elizabethan collar "may be necessary" if they do; "Do not apply any topical medications or bathe your pet until after the sutures are removed," "typically in about two weeks"; "use pet wipes to clean your pet when necessary."
-
Porter R (CCRP). "Neurological nursing care and information for pet owners with animals recovering from hemilaminectomy, dorsal laminectomy, ventral slot and spinal fractures." Resurge Veterinary Surgical Specialists and Rehab, 23 July 2021. resurge.vet. Read 20 October 2026: incisions on the back and under the neck are "difficult for patients to lick," "keep a close eye on them"; "incisional care is minimal," do not clean or apply topicals "unless we have outlined it within your surgical discharge summary"; "Bathing should be avoided until 10-14 days postoperatively"; "If you feel like your pet's incision looks bad in any way, please contact us."
-
Animal Clinic of Billings. "Spine surgery." Post-operative care page. animalclinicofbillings.com. Read 20 October 2026: check the site "daily for any redness, irritation, swelling, discharge, or drainage"; call if "the incision becomes red or swollen, or oozes blood or fluid" or "your pet chews or damages the incision, suture, or drain"; e-collar "at all times unless supervised"; "Do not allow the incision to get wet"; "Skin sutures or staples that need to be removed in 14 days" in the checklist and "Sutures will need to be removed 3 weeks from the date of surgery" later on the same page.
-
Animal Clinic of Billings. "Non-ambulatory spine surgery." Post-operative care page. animalclinicofbillings.com. Read 20 October 2026: no incision section; with superficial heat, "check the skin every 5 minutes for redness"; urine-soaked skin: "rinse the affected area with warm water and pat dry with a towel and lightly blow dry"; evaluation at 2 weeks, "your pet may have their sutures removed."
-
American College of Veterinary Surgeons. "Intervertebral Disc Disease." Pet owner page. acvs.org. Read 20 October 2026: pets "return for a recheck and removal of skin sutures or staples, if present"; "Incisional infection can occur"; about 25% have another disc herniate later in life.
-
Olby NJ, Moore SA, Brisson B, Fenn J, Flegel T, Kortz G, Lewis M, Tipold A. "ACVIM consensus statement on diagnosis and management of acute canine thoracolumbar intervertebral disc extrusion." Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine. 2022;36(5):1570-1596. doi:10.1111/jvim.16480. Full text (PMC9511077) searched 20 October 2026 for incision, wound, seroma, surgical site infection, dehiscence: no sentence on incision care; section 10.2 states underwater treadmill therapy "is safely initiated anywhere from 3 (with incision protection)" to 14 days postoperatively in the studies reviewed; section 9.4 advises against prophylactic postoperative antibiotics for urinary infection.
-
To AYK, Cherubini GB, Caine A. "Clinical presentation, magnetic resonance imaging characteristics, and short-term outcome of deep surgical site infection following thoracolumbar decompressive spinal surgery for intervertebral disc herniation in dogs." Frontiers in Veterinary Science. 2025;12:1645491. doi:10.3389/fvets.2025.1645491. Full text (PMC12380707) read 20 October 2026: 19 deep surgical site infections among 1,723 thoracolumbar decompressive surgeries (1.1%); "The median time to SSI diagnosis was 7 days (range, 2-38 days)"; spinal hyperesthesia in 19/19, neurological deterioration in 7/19 (36.8%), superficial seroma in 2/19 (10.5%); mean body temperature 37.9 °C (36.5-39.1), pyrexia uncommon, possibly because NSAIDs were routinely given; all survived to discharge, 14/19 ambulatory at discharge; 14 with short-term follow-up all ambulatory with resolution of spinal hyperesthesia, one of which (with concurrent discospondylitis) relapsed in hyperesthesia after antimicrobials were stopped. Single-centre retrospective series.
-
Dyall BAR, Schmökel HG. "Surgical site infection rate after hemilaminectomy and laminectomy in dogs without perioperative antibiotic therapy." Veterinary and Comparative Orthopaedics and Traumatology. 2018;31(3):202-213. doi:10.1055/s-0038-1639365. Abstract read via Europe PMC 20 October 2026: "Of 221 consecutive hemilaminectomy and laminectomy procedures, 154 were included"; no perioperative antibiotics; "One superficial wound infection was recorded"; "the SSI rate was 0.6%, while the expected SSI rate in clean operative wounds in dogs and cats is 2.0 to 4.8%." Single-centre retrospective; full text not read.
-
Korytárová N, Kramer S, Schnepf A, Kreienbrock L, Volk HA. "Rate of surgical site and urinary tract infections in dogs after cessation of antibiotics following spinal surgery." Veterinary Record. 2023;192(8):e2340. doi:10.1002/vetr.2340. Abstract read via Europe PMC 20 October 2026: records January 2018 to December 2019 reviewed retrospectively, 158 dogs, including dogs that did and did not receive postoperative antimicrobials, with rates reported for the whole cohort; "SSI developed in 1.3% of dogs that underwent spinal surgery"; "UTI developed in 8.2%"; cessation of postoperative antimicrobial use "did not have a negative effect." Full text not read.
-
Välkki KJ, Thomson KH, Grönthal TSC, Junnila JJT, Rantala MHJ, Laitinen-Vapaavuori OM, Mölsä SH. "Antimicrobial prophylaxis is considered sufficient to preserve an acceptable surgical site infection rate in clean orthopaedic and neurosurgeries in dogs." Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica. 2020;62(1):53. doi:10.1186/s13028-020-00545-z. Abstract read via Europe PMC 20 October 2026: 406 dogs, 377 (92.9%) received antimicrobial prophylaxis; "The overall SSI rate was 6.3%," "in neurosurgeries it was 4.2%." The abstract does not break neurosurgery down by procedure.
-
Boudreau S. "What to expect when your pet is getting spayed or neutered." Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, Veterinary Teaching Hospital, 11 August 2025, quoting Virginia Edwards DVM. vth.vetmed.vt.edu. Read 20 October 2026: "Light swelling and some bruising around the incision is normal"; contact the vet "if a pet is acting painful, very tired, or if red or yellow discharge is noted from the incision"; keep the E-collar on "for at least 10 days after the surgery"; "Some people dress their pets in baby pajamas to keep them from licking their spay incisions." Written about spay and neuter incisions, not spinal surgery.
-
Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital. "Orthopedics." Small animal service page. vetmed.tamu.edu. Read 20 October 2026: "inspect the wound daily for signs of infection" for "10-14 days after surgery," "redness, swelling, pain or heat when touched, and fluid coming from the incision"; licking "can cause major complications" including "dehiscence (the incision begins to come apart)"; E-collar "at all times for 10-14 days after surgery." Written for orthopaedic patients.
-
Animal Emergency & Referral Center of Minnesota. "General post-operative care for pets." 7 October 2019. aercmn.com. Read 20 October 2026: "After some procedures, a sterile fluid pocket under your pet's skin may develop. This is known as a seroma"; "As long as the swelling does not seem painful when you touch it and there is no discharge," seromas usually resolve on their own; contact the vet for "excessive redness, foul-smelling discharge, or evidence that the incision is opening up."
-
Amazon listing B00W2EHTA6, Suitical Recovery Suit for Dogs, Large, Black. amazon.com. Read via the Amazon Creators API 20 October 2026: $29.44 In Stock, buy box held by third-party seller NAVIRA (maximum order 30), one Amazon Resale unit at $20.86; listing bullets: "soft cotton and lycra," "machine washable," "clip-up system for easy walks and potty breaks," "inner layer pocket for ice packs and pads." Other sizes in the same scout $29.44 to $31.09. The API returns no star ratings for this account.
-
Suitical. "Washing instructions" and "Size guide." suitical.com. Read 20 October 2026: Recovery Suit "Wash at a maximum of 90ºC/194ºF," "Do not tumble dry – let it air dry"; measure "from the neck (where the collar sits) to the base of the tail," a fit "like a second skin," too large "can create openings," too small "can be uncomfortable, cause breathing difficulties, and lead to chafing around the legs and neck"; chart published as an image, no weight for dogs.
-
That Pet Place. "Suitical Black Recovery Suit, Dog, X-Large," product page reproducing the maker's size chart. thatpetplace.com. Read 20 October 2026: Large 67-76 cm (26.4-29.9 in); XX Small 33-42 cm through XX Large 80-92 cm; "if your dog falls between two sizes, the manufacturer recommends choosing the smaller size"; the suit covers the torso and not the front legs. Retailer copy, not the maker's page.
-
Suitical. "Return policy." Customer service page. suitical.com. Read 20 October 2026: notify within 14 calendar days of receipt, then 14 days to return; product with "no signs of use," may be unpacked to check fit but must not have touched the pet; "The return shipping costs are paid by you as the customer"; depreciation may be charged if stained, worn, washed, smelling or with hair; no warranty mentioned.
This article is educational and does not replace veterinary advice. Whether anything may be put on or over your dog's incision, and when it is checked, are decisions for the surgeon who closed it.
Frequently asked
- Is it normal for my dog's incision to be red after back surgery?
- Some redness is expected. A veterinary teaching hospital's owner guide says light swelling and some bruising around an incision is normal, and the disc-surgery discharge sheets do not ask you to call about redness itself. They ask you to call about increased redness, swelling or discharge, or an incision that suddenly becomes painful to the touch. Every one of those is a comparison with the day before, so the useful question is not whether it is red but whether it is redder, bigger, wetter or sorer than it was yesterday. A photograph each morning at the same angle is how you answer it.
- How common is infection after a hemilaminectomy?
- Uncommon, in every published series we found. In 154 hemilaminectomy and laminectomy procedures done without any perioperative antibiotics, one superficial infection occurred, 0.6 percent. In 158 dogs after spinal surgery at one hospital, some given postoperative antibiotics and some not, 1.3 percent developed a surgical site infection and 8.2 percent a urinary tract infection. In a Finnish series of 406 dogs, neurosurgeries ran at 4.2 percent. In 1,723 thoracolumbar decompressive surgeries at one referral hospital, 19 dogs had a deep infection, 1.1 percent. The infection after this operation is several times more likely to be in the bladder than in the wound.
- What does an infected incision look like after spinal surgery?
- The sheets name increased redness, swelling, discharge, oozing blood or fluid, and an incision that suddenly becomes painful. The one published series of deep infections after thoracolumbar decompression found that all 19 dogs had pain on touching the spine, 7 of 19 had got neurologically worse, 2 of 19 had a soft fluid swelling, and a fever was uncommon: the mean temperature at diagnosis was 37.9 °C, with a range of 36.5 to 39.1. The median time to diagnosis was 7 days after surgery, with a range of 2 to 38. So a normal temperature does not clear the wound, and a dog who has become sore over his back, or worse in his legs, is a call today whatever the incision looks like.
- My dog has a soft lump under the incision. Is that a seroma?
- It may be. An emergency and referral centre's post-operative guide describes a seroma as a sterile fluid pocket under the skin that can develop after some procedures, and says that as long as the swelling is not painful to touch and there is no discharge, seromas usually resolve on their own. We found no study of how often they happen after a hemilaminectomy, and in the deep-infection series 2 of 19 infected dogs also had a superficial seroma, so a soft lump does not rule infection out either. Do not drain it or press on it. Photograph it, and if it is warm, painful, growing, leaking, or he is otherwise unwell, call. If it is none of those, show the photographs at the suture appointment or send them in.
- When do the sutures or staples come out after back surgery?
- The sheets do not agree. One surgical centre says to book suture or staple removal 10 to 12 days after surgery; a neurology practice says sutures are removed typically in about two weeks; a general practice's spine-surgery page says 14 days in its checklist and three weeks further down the same page; the American College of Veterinary Surgeons says the dog returns for a recheck and removal of skin sutures or staples, if present. Some incisions are closed with nothing that needs removing. Ring the clinic and ask two things: the date, and whether there is anything to take out.
- Should I put a cone or a recovery suit on my dog after disc surgery?
- Only if he reaches the incision. A neurology practice says most pets are unable to chew, lick or scratch the incisions from most neurosurgical procedures and uses a cone only if the pet does; another says the back over the spine is difficult for patients to lick but to keep a close eye on it. If your dog has shown he can reach it, or rubs it along the pen, use the cone the clinic sent first, or a child's T-shirt or pyjamas, which a teaching hospital mentions owners using over incisions. If the cone will not stay on him lying flat, or keeps him from the bowl beside him, a recovery suit is the alternative, but it hides the incision and soaks if he leaks urine, so it is the wrong purchase for a dog who is still being expressed and leaking between handlings.