The Stacking Question
Can I Give My Dog Dasuquin and Cosequin Together?
Same manufacturer, same two molecules. Stacking a 70 lb dog doubles glucosamine to 113 mg/kg, costs $122-243 more a year, and deletes the only answer you were trying to buy. Aug 2026.

You can. There is no published evidence that giving both at label doses harms a dog, and every reported case of harm involved a dog who got into the container rather than a dog who was given the dose. But you should stop, and the reason has almost nothing to do with safety. Dasuquin with MSM already contains both of Cosequin's two headline actives, at higher amounts, plus three Cosequin does not have. (Cosequin keeps two small ones of its own — 6 mg of hyaluronic acid and 3 mg of manganese — which we will come back to, because the manganese decides more than it looks like it should.) Both are made by Nutramax, both are built on the same two patented molecules, and stacking them mostly buys a second helping of what your dog is already swallowing — for a 70 lb dog, 3,600 mg of glucosamine a day instead of 1,800, at about $2.13 a day instead of $1.13 while both labels are on their loading doses. Pick one. If you want ASU, Boswellia and green tea, that is Dasuquin, and the Cosequin goes in the bin or to a smaller dog. Then run it properly for six weeks against something you wrote down beforehand. The second tub does not make the first one work better. It makes the result unreadable, which is the one thing you cannot buy back.
Affiliate disclosure: Dog Orthopedic is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we earn a commission at no extra cost to you — about 3% on most pet products, and the same rate on every product we compare, so no pick earns us more than another. Prescription medication earns us nothing, and seeing your vet earns us nothing; we recommend both anyway. Learn more.
Imagery: Lifestyle photographs on this site are licensed from Pexels (royalty-free) and credited per image. Pexels imagery illustrates conditions and contexts — it does not depict the specific dogs or test sessions described in the text. Product photographs come from Amazon's Creators API. Breed portraits are illustrations of typical breed type rather than photographs of individual dogs, and are not drawn to scale against one another.
Why is anyone stacking these in the first place?#
Almost nobody starts here. It happens by accretion, and it usually happens for a good reason.
You put him on Cosequin two years ago, when he was stiff after long walks and the vet said it was worth a try. This spring he got worse. Somebody — a friend, a forum, the person behind the counter — said Dasuquin is the stronger one. So you bought Dasuquin. And then you looked at the half-full Cosequin bottle, and stopping it felt like taking something away from a dog who is already losing things, so you kept giving it. Both tubs now sit on the counter, and both get opened at dinner.
That is not carelessness. It is the most ordinary thing in the world: he is worse, so you did more. Every part of that instinct is right except the arithmetic underneath it, and the arithmetic is not something either label sets out for you, because each is written as though the other product does not exist.
“Because your dog can't tell you how much pain he or she is in.”
They are the same base. That is not a coincidence, it is the product line.#
Nutramax makes both. Cosequin is the retail tier, Dasuquin the step up, and they are built on the same two proprietary raw materials — FCHG49 glucosamine hydrochloride and TRH122 sodium chondroitin sulfate.[1][2] Dasuquin adds avocado/soybean unsaponifiables, Boswellia serrata extract and decaffeinated green tea extract on top of that base, and carries more of the base itself. It is not simply Cosequin plus three things: the amounts differ in both directions, and Cosequin keeps two small ingredients Dasuquin with MSM does not have. Our Dasuquin vs Cosequin comparison takes it apart ingredient by ingredient.
Which means the question "should I give both?" is really the question "should my dog have two servings of glucosamine and chondroitin, and one serving of the ASU?" Put that way, most people answer it themselves.
Here is what both panels actually say, verified on the makers' own sites this morning.
| Per unit | Cosequin MSM & HA tablet | Dasuquin with MSM chew (large, 60 lb+) |
|---|---|---|
| Glucosamine HCl (FCHG49) | 600 mg | 900 mg |
| Sodium chondroitin sulfate (TRH122) | 300 mg | 350 mg |
| MSM | 250 mg | 800 mg |
| Sodium hyaluronate (HA) | 6 mg | none |
| Manganese (manganese ascorbate) | 3 mg | none in this tier (Advanced has 3 mg) |
| ASU powder | none | 90 mg |
| Boswellia serrata extract | none | 40 mg |
| Green tea extract | none | 32 mg |
| Total omega-3s | none | 90 mg (75 mg EPA+DHA) |
| Dose, dog over 60 lb, first 4–6 weeks | 3 tablets/day | 2 chews/day |
| Dose, dog over 60 lb, after that | 1–2 tablets/day | 1 chew/day |
Sources: cosequin.com and dasuquin.com product panels, both read 19 August 2026.[3][2]
Read down the two columns. Both of the ingredients either product is actually sold on — glucosamine and chondroitin — are in the Dasuquin chew at a higher amount than in the Cosequin tablet, as is the MSM, more than three times over. What Cosequin keeps to itself is small: 6 mg of hyaluronic acid, and 3 mg of manganese. Neither is a reason to run two tubs, but the manganese is not nothing, and the next section is about why.

What a stacked 70 lb dog is actually getting#
A 70 lb dog is 31.7 kg. Run both labels at the initial four-to-six-week dose — three Cosequin tablets and two Dasuquin chews — and this is the day's total.
| Ingredient | Cosequin ×3 | Dasuquin ×2 | Stacked total | Per kg, 70 lb dog |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glucosamine HCl | 1,800 mg | 1,800 mg | 3,600 mg | 113 mg/kg |
| Chondroitin sulfate | 900 mg | 700 mg | 1,600 mg | 50 mg/kg |
| MSM | 750 mg | 1,600 mg | 2,350 mg | 74 mg/kg |
| Manganese | 9 mg | none | 9 mg | 0.28 mg/kg |
| ASU | — | 180 mg | 180 mg | 5.7 mg/kg |
| Sodium hyaluronate | 18 mg | — | 18 mg | 0.6 mg/kg |
Two things fall out of that table.
The first is that the glucosamine exactly doubles. Nutramax's two dose charts land on the same 1,800 mg for a dog this size — three 600 mg tablets, or two 900 mg chews — so the stacked dog is not getting a slightly enriched dose, he is getting two of them.
The second is the manganese row, and it is the one worth carrying away.
The manganese row, and which Dasuquin your vet handed you#
Manganese is the row worth reading twice, because it is the only ingredient in this comparison whose answer changes depending on which tub is on your counter — and because it is the ingredient with the most serious entry in the veterinary literature.
Here is the whole picture, from the makers' own panels, read 19 August 2026.
| Product | Manganese per unit | Printed? |
|---|---|---|
| Cosequin (both MSM tablet lines) | 3 mg, as manganese ascorbate | yes |
| Dasuquin with MSM (retail; the tub we card) | none — not an ingredient | n/a |
| Dasuquin Advanced, large dogs (vet channel) | 3 mg, as manganese ascorbate | yes |
| Dasuquin Advanced, small/medium | 1 mg, as manganese ascorbate | yes |
Sources: cosequin.com and dasuquin.com panels.[1][2][4]
So the answer depends on a distinction nobody makes out loud in the aisle:
- Cosequin plus Dasuquin with MSM — the common retail stack — puts a dog over 60 lb on 9 mg of manganese a day at loading, all of it from the Cosequin. Nothing doubles.
- Cosequin plus Dasuquin Advanced — the stack you end up with when a vet dispenses Advanced and you keep giving the Cosequin you already had — puts the same dog on 15 mg a day: 9 mg from three tablets plus 6 mg from two chews. That one does double, from two sources, and Advanced is precisely the tier most likely to be sitting beside a Cosequin bottle, because it arrives from the clinic rather than replacing anything at home.
Both totals are computable, and neither label computes them, because each is written as though the other product does not exist. That is the recurring theme of this page, and so far as we can tell of the category: the arithmetic is not hidden, it is simply nobody's job.
A correction of our own, in the open. Until today this site's Dasuquin product page listed "manganese ascorbate" in the with-MSM materials line. That was wrong: the with-MSM panel has no manganese row and no manganese in its other-ingredients list. We removed it, and the reason we are telling you rather than quietly patching it is that the error ran in the direction that would have made this section more dramatic, not less.
Why single out manganese at all? Because of one paper. A 5-year-old spayed Pug who ate about 100 joint supplement tablets developed acute hepatic failure and was euthanized six days later; necropsy showed severe acute hepatic necrosis, and toxicology found severely elevated manganese concentrations in the liver and kidneys.[5] The paper's own framing is the fair one: manganese is "a ubiquitous, essential trace element and a common ingredient of joint supplement tablets," and "little information is known about the inherent toxic potential if ingested at higher doses."
One hundred tablets is not five. Nothing in that case describes a dog on a label dose, and nothing here is a reason to stop giving either product as directed. It is a reason to know which tier you are holding, to give one product rather than two, and to keep the tub in a cupboard.
Is it dangerous? Here is exactly what is known, and it is less than you think#
The internet answers this question in one of two registers: airy reassurance, or a list of scary words with no numbers attached. Both are avoidable, because the evidence base is small enough to set out entirely, which is what the rest of this section does.
The case series. From 2008 to 2009 the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center recorded 21 dogs with hepatotoxicity after joint supplement ingestion.[6] Glucosamine doses ranged from 183 to 6,667 mg/kg and MSM from 45 to 4,000 mg/kg; chondroitin was not reported. Signs were largely gastrointestinal and appeared between 30 minutes and two days after ingestion.[6] (We read those figures as restated in the 2023 case report below, which reproduces them from Khan.)
Now hold that against the stacked 70 lb dog: 113 mg/kg of glucosamine, 74 mg/kg of MSM.
The glucosamine figure sits below the bottom of the reported range. The MSM figure sits above it. And that is the most informative thing in this entire section, because it means the range cannot be read as a dose-response curve. Forty-five milligrams per kilogram of MSM is inside ordinary label territory; if that dose reliably injured dogs, the category would not exist. What the series actually records is the doses at which somebody called poison control — dogs who got sick were counted, and the vastly larger number of dogs at similar doses who were fine were never counted at all. A case series has no denominator.
The individual case reports. We found six in the veterinary literature, all single acute ingestions. These are the ones a Europe PMC search surfaced on 19 August 2026 and there may be others we did not find, but we are listing every one we did find rather than only the frightening ones — which matters, because the majority of them survived.
| Dog | Amount eaten | Outcome |
|---|---|---|
| 5 yr Pug | ~100 tablets | acute hepatic failure, euthanized day 6; elevated liver and kidney manganese at necropsy[5] |
| 5 yr Bernese Mountain Dog | ~200 tablets | coagulopathy, pancreatitis, acute kidney injury, euthanized[7] |
| Two 5 yr Shetland sheepdogs | joint supplement, amount not stated | acute liver injury; both recovered, liver values normalised[8] |
| 6 yr Dachshund | "a large quantity" | severe hypernatremia, multiple organ dysfunction; survived to discharge[9] |
| 9 yr Maltese mix, 5.2 kg | ~40 Dasuquin chews | seizures, sodium 160 on arrival peaking at 170 mmol/L; pH 6.885 and glucose 654 mg/dL at hour 3; home on day 3[10] |
| Two mixed breeds, 11 yr and 7 yr | ~75 capsules of a human supplement between them, 2,062 mg manganese | one died of fulminant liver failure at 36–48 hours; the other was hospitalised six days and had resolved by day 44[20] |
Three dogs died and five lived across those six reports. Note what the newest row is: the only one of the six that publishes a manganese dose is a human supplement, not a dog one, which is the shape of this whole small literature — the cases that quantify manganese are largely cases of a dog eating something never formulated for him. The Maltese's ingestion is the one that converts, and it is worth separating what the paper says from what we worked out. The paper reports 4,615 mg/kg of glucosamine and 1,923 mg/kg of sodium chondroitin sulfate in a 5.2 kg dog after about 40 chews, and its product footnote prints the per-chew composition — 600 mg glucosamine, 250 mg chondroitin, 400 mg MSM — which is the small/medium panel, and which reproduces both of the paper's figures at 40 chews. What the paper does not do is carry that through. It gives no MSM dose and no comparison to what she was supposed to be taking. Both fall out of the arithmetic: her MSM dose was about 3,077 mg/kg, and her label loading dose at 5.2 kg was one small/medium chew a day, or 115 mg/kg of glucosamine. So she took in about forty times her own loading dose in a sitting, and about eighty times her maintenance dose. Those last three numbers are ours, not the paper's. Not two chews. Forty. The Shetland sheepdog pair is the most useful entry for a frightened owner: it is the first published report of manganese toxicosis in dogs being successfully treated, which is a genuinely better piece of news than the older literature carried.
One mechanistic detail from the Maltese case is quietly relevant to anyone doubling a dose: the authors note that Dasuquin's chondroitin is a sodium salt, that chondroitin works partly by osmotic pull, and that both may have contributed to the hypernatremia — while stating plainly that this "is not a consistent finding in toxicity cases."[10] That is a speculation in the discussion section of a single case report, and we are labelling it as one.
What does not exist. No trial has ever dosed dogs at stacked label amounts and looked at their livers. No regulator has set an upper limit for glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM or manganese in a canine supplement. Nothing on either label warns against combining with another product, because nothing requires either label to. So the honest verdict is not "safe" and it is not "dangerous." It is: nobody has run the study, the reported harms are all from dogs who raided the container, and there is no benefit on the other side of the ledger to justify finding out.
The likelier real-world consequence of stacking is far duller than any of this: an upset stomach. Gastrointestinal signs are what the overdose series reports, and loose stool is also the ordinary complaint at label doses. We are not going to give you a rate, because neither maker publishes an adverse-event rate and nothing in these papers supports one. The practical part is what happens next: if a stacked dog gets a bad stomach you stop everything at once, and you now know less than you did before you added the second tub.

The real cost of the second tub#
At prices verified this morning:
Read the Cosequin rows carefully, because Nutramax's maintenance dose for a dog over 60 lb is not a number. It is "1–2 tablets" — a two-fold band, with nothing on the label or the website telling you where inside it to sit. Dasuquin's maintenance dose at the same weight is one chew, flat. So the honest comparison has a range on one side and a point on the other, and we are printing it that way rather than quietly picking the end that makes the story better.
| Regimen, dog over 60 lb | Daily | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Dasuquin with MSM alone, maintenance (1 chew) | $0.57 | ~$207 |
| Cosequin MSM & HA 75 ct alone, maintenance (1–2 tablets) | $0.33–0.67 | ~$122–243 |
| Cosequin plain MSM 132 ct alone, maintenance (1–2 tablets) | $0.26–0.53 | ~$97–193 |
| Cosequin plain MSM 250 ct alone, maintenance (1–2 tablets) | $0.25–0.50 | ~$92–184 |
| Cosequin plain MSM 250 ct bought direct, maintenance | $0.24–0.48 | ~$88–175 |
| Both, maintenance (1 chew + 1–2 tablets) | $0.90–1.23 | ~$328–450 |
| Both, loading (2 chews + 3 tablets) | $2.13 | — |
Dasuquin with MSM for large dogs: $84.99 for 150 chews.[11] Cosequin MSM & HA: $24.99 for 75 tablets.[12] Cosequin plain MSM: $34.91 for 132 tablets.[13]
Stacking costs $122 to $243 a year more than Dasuquin alone, for a duplicate of ingredients the dog already has. Put next to the things that money could otherwise buy — a rehabilitation consult, a set of radiographs that would name what is actually wrong — it is not a small line in a year's care budget.
And notice what that 1–2 tablet band does to the advice everybody gives. "Start cheap with Cosequin, upgrade to Dasuquin later" is clean guidance for a 30 lb dog, whose Cosequin maintenance dose is a flat half tablet. For a Labrador it is not guidance at all, because at the top of the band the with-HA 75-count costs $36 a year more than the product it is supposed to be the budget version of, and at the bottom it costs $85 a year less. Same bottle, same dog, same label. If you want the cheapest Nutramax option for a large dog it is the plain-MSM 250-count bought direct from Nutramax's own store at $59.99 — 24 cents a tablet, against 25 cents for the same bottle on Amazon at $62.99 and 33 cents for the tub we link and earn on.[14] We make nothing on the direct sale and it is still the answer. What is worth taking to your vet is not which brand but where in that band your dog should sit, because nobody else is going to tell you. The bottle-count arithmetic is laid out in how many joint chews your dog actually needs.
The cost nobody prices: you have deleted the answer#
This is the part that actually costs you something, and it is not money.
Six weeks ago your dog was on Cosequin and you wanted to know whether it was working. That is an answerable question. You add Dasuquin, and it stops being answerable — permanently, for this dog, for this stretch of his life. If he improves, you will never know which tub did it, so you will keep buying both. If he does not, you will not know whether the ASU failed or whether the whole category failed for him, so you will not know what to try next. You paid somewhere between $122 and $243 extra for the privilege of not finding out.
And the confound is not a small one. In the placebo arm of a blinded canine osteoarthritis trial with force plates running throughout, a caregiver placebo effect was recorded in 39.7% of assessments — owners judged their own dogs improved while the measured ground reaction forces did not move.[15] Nearly four times in ten, a person watching their own dog saw a change the force plate could not find. That is not a failure of attention. It is what caring about the outcome does to a human observer, and it is exactly why adding a variable at the moment you most want an answer is the expensive move. Your good faith is the confound.
So the rule is not really about supplements. It is: change one thing, then measure, then change the next thing. Our guide to judging whether a limp is actually getting better is the instrument for the measuring half.
What to do instead, depending on where you are#
If you have been giving both for a while. Stop the Cosequin tomorrow. No taper, no gap, nothing to bridge — these are not drugs with a steady state to protect. Keep the Dasuquin at its label dose. Then do the thing you skipped: write down, today, three specific observations you can score again in six weeks. Time from lying down to standing. Whether he takes the last two stairs one at a time. Whether he gets into the car unaided.
If you have not started the second one yet. Do not. Finish the bottle you have on the label's schedule and score the result honestly. If the answer is no change, that is worth knowing, and it means you should go up a tier rather than sideways — the Dasuquin line map explains which tier is which, since four of them share a name.
If your dog is small and you have two tubs sized for different dogs. This is the one case where owning both makes sense and stacking still does not. Nutramax splits its formulas at 60 lb, and the two charts do not step in the same places — a 16 lb dog loading on Cosequin gets one tablet, dropping to half a tablet after six weeks, while the same dog on Dasuquin with MSM soft chews gets one chew, dropping to one every other day. Those are different shapes of schedule for the same animal, and running both means keeping two of them straight for no gain. Our dosing-by-weight table has every band.
If what you actually want is more anti-inflammatory effect. Then this is a conversation about drugs, not tubs, and it belongs with your vet rather than on a shopping page. No amount of glucosamine stacks up to what an NSAID does, and the trade-offs of that decision — kidney, liver, GI, bloodwork intervals — are hers to walk you through with your dog's chemistry panel in front of her.
What we picked, and why it is only one thing#
#1 Pick

Nutramax
Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews
Our score
$50–$135
Best for
Step-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery
The joint supplement to buy when you have decided to buy one and the dog has real, diagnosed osteoarthritis. The ASU component is what separates it from Cosequin and the only reason to pay the premium, and the honest framing is that the supporting evidence is strongest in the laboratory and weakest in blinded canine trials — which is true of the entire category. Buy one product, run it properly for 4–6 weeks, and judge the result against something you measured before you started. Score lowered 9.2 to 8.8 on 2026-08-13: the product has not changed, but we read the trial that tested it by name and found it did not separate from placebo on a force plate, and a second blinded trial by a different group using activity monitors reached the same answer. It stays a defensible first purchase because it is inexpensive, well tolerated and unusually well disclosed. It is no longer a product we can describe as well evidenced.
Pros
- Adds ASU (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables) to the glucosamine/chondroitin base — the ingredient that separates it from Cosequin, with laboratory and animal-model evidence for cartilage protection
- Same FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin as Cosequin
- Soft chew form factor most dogs eat as a treat
- Genuinely a veterinary-channel line, not just marketed as one — the Advanced tier is sold through clinics rather than retail. Note that the box's "#1 veterinarian recommended" is a claim about what practices stock, and we have not been able to trace it to a published survey
- Published per-chew analysis — you can see exactly what a chew contains, which most competitors do not publish to the same standard — including, unusually, an omega-3 line the equivalent chewable tablet does not carry
Cons
- 30–40% pricier than Cosequin DS
- Soft chews can stick together in heat
- Only meaningful upgrade if diagnosed OA — for healthy dogs Cosequin is enough
- The canine clinical evidence for ASU is thinner than the marketing: the strongest data is laboratory and animal-model work, not blinded trials in pet dogs. No joint supplement has evidence in the same class as an NSAID
- This exact product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial and it did not separate from placebo. Kampa et al. 2023 (Front Vet Sci, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188) names "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax" and reports a week-4 change in peak vertical force of −0.05 against placebo's +0.08, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly. Two fair caveats: small arms — 16 dogs in the glucosamine group, 14 to 15 in the others — and the trial ran maintenance dosing (about 30 mg/kg) through the window this label says to double.
- Contains no manganese, unlike both of its Nutramax siblings — Cosequin prints 3 mg per tablet and Dasuquin Advanced prints 3 mg per large-dog chew, while this tier has no manganese row on the panel and none in the other-ingredients list (all three panels read 19 August 2026). Whether that matters is genuinely unclear, since manganese's role here is a cofactor claim rather than a tested effect. We list it as a con because the maker sells it as an active in the tier above and the buyer of this tier is never told it is absent
- No calorie figure on the panel, on dasuquin.com or on the Amazon listing (verified absent 19 August 2026) — two chews a day is two treats a day for a dog whose weight is the strongest lever anyone has
If the dog is going to be on one Nutramax product and he has diagnosed osteoarthritis, this is it, because it contains the Cosequin base plus the three ingredients Cosequin does not have. That is the entire argument, and we want to be exact about how weak it is: this specific product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial and it did not separate from placebo. Kampa and colleagues named "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax" and measured a week-4 change in peak vertical force of −0.05 ± 6.34 against placebo's +0.08 ± 1.90, while two marine lipid extracts — one a green-lipped mussel extract, one a mussel-and-krill blend — and carprofen all improved significantly. Three caveats, all of which cut in different directions: arms were small, 14 to 16 dogs; the trial ran maintenance-level dosing of about 30 mg/kg through the very window in which this label says to double; and it was funded by Pharmalink International Ltd., which owns the marine lipid products that won (the paper states the funder was not involved in design, analysis or writing). Note the spreads on those two point estimates — they are far larger than the difference between them, which is precisely why the honest reading is "no separation" rather than "placebo did better."[16] We card it anyway because it is inexpensive, well tolerated and unusually well disclosed, and because owners are going to buy something in this aisle. We do not card it because it is proven.
Its real downsides, stated: at $0.57 a day it is not cheap over a decade; the soft chews stick together in summer; and the returns window closes before the label's own trial ends. When we read Nutramax's returns policy on 10 August 2026 it gave 10 business days from receipt to report a problem, with returns between 10 and 30 business days accepted only on unopened, unmarked stock. We could not re-read it on 19 August 2026: nutramaxlabs.com/return-policy now redirects to an error page and no returns page appears in the site's sitemap.[17] Either way you cannot complete the 4-to-6 week trial the label prescribes and still be inside a window that starts at receipt.
#2 Pick

Nutramax
Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)
Our score
$25–$63
Best for
First-line joint supplementation for dogs of any size
If you're going to put a dog on one supplement, this is still the one we'd start with: the FCHG49/TRH122 forms are the ones that have actually been put in trials rather than assumed into them, and the DS tablet delivers them at full strength for well under a dollar a day even in a large dog. Two honesty notes. The evidence for the whole category is modest and the caregiver placebo effect is not — so start it, give it six weeks, and judge it against something you measured before you began. And the listing's "#1 vet recommended brand" line is a marketing survey claim, not a clinical one; buy on the ingredient forms and the price per tablet, which you can verify.
Pros
- Contains FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin — the specific patented forms that have actually been put in trials, rather than generic glucosamine. Corrected 31 August 2026: this line previously said "the patented forms used in published canine studies," which reads as support the record does not give. The positive placebo-controlled trial of these forms was in human knees (Das and Hammad 2000); the one blinded, placebo-controlled canine force-plate trial to test them — inside Dasuquin with MSM — found no significant advantage over placebo (Kampa 2023)
- The linked tablet adds 6 mg sodium hyaluronate (HA) per tablet over the classic Plus MSM formula. Corrected 19 August 2026: this line previously said it also added 3 mg of manganese. It does not — the classic Plus MSM tablet carries the same 3 mg of manganese ascorbate, re-verified on cosequin.com that day. HA is the only difference
- Maximum-strength (DS) dosing — 600 mg glucosamine per tablet
- Chewable tablet, palatable for most dogs
- Wide count range across the tablet line (60 to 250), so per-tablet price drops meaningfully if you buy the larger bottles
Cons
- Tablets are large; some small dogs need them split
- Slow onset — give it 4–6 weeks to evaluate effect
- A big dog eats through a small bottle fast: over 60 lb, the loading dose is 3 tablets a day, so the linked 75-count is 25 days of loading
- The linked 75-count with-HA variant costs more per tablet (~$0.33) than the plain-MSM 132-count (~$0.26) — the HA is 6 mg, and whether that is worth the premium is genuinely unclear
- Supplement effects in this category are small enough that the measured 39.7% caregiver placebo rate can swamp them — judge it against a measurement, not an impression
- Not vegan-friendly (chondroitin is animal-derived)
- Nutramax publishes no inactive-ingredient list on either tablet line's own product page (verified absent again on cosequin.com 31 August 2026). We previously printed the base here as brewers dried yeast, dextrose and natural & artificial flavors, sourced to retailer label reproductions; on 31 August 2026 we could not re-reach any retailer carrying that list (Chewy 429, Petco 403, Drugs.com 403), so treat it as unverified. The checkable finding stands and is the one that matters: the base is not published, and a base you cannot read cannot be cleared for a dog on a strict elimination diet
Carded as the alternative, not the addition. It is the sensible first purchase for a dog under about 60 lb, where the tablet count works in your favour. Over 60 lb the linked with-HA 75-count is the expensive way to buy this product: the plain-MSM 250-count is 24 cents a tablet direct from Nutramax and 25 cents on Amazon, against 33 cents here. Buy one of those instead; we earn less or nothing on both. Its honest limits: the tablets are large and some small dogs need them split, the six milligrams of hyaluronic acid has thin canine evidence and we would not pay much for it, and the "#1 vet recommended" line on the box is a marketing survey claim rather than a clinical one — we have not been able to trace it to a published survey, and neither the year, the sample size nor the surveyor is named on the pack.
The cheaper thing, named first as always: the intervention we would put money on before either tub is body weight, and it is free. Two studies, described as they actually are. In 9 overweight dogs with radiographic hip osteoarthritis fed a restricted diet, hind-limb lameness scores decreased significantly after 11 to 18% of body weight came off — a nonblinded prospective trial with no control group, scored on a numerical rating scale and a visual analogue scale, which is exactly the subjective method this page warned you about two sections ago, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.[18] The stronger design is the prevention one: in a paired feeding study of 48 Labrador Retrievers, littermates fed 25% less food than their pair-mates had radiographic hip osteoarthritis in 3 of 21 dogs at eight years of age against 15 of 22 controls.[19] That is a randomised comparison with a control arm and a hard endpoint, and it is about not getting the disease rather than treating it. Neither study is perfect. Both are better than anything in either tub. After that comes controlled, consistent exercise, which is also free and is covered in how much walking an arthritic dog should get. A dog carrying an extra 10% who is on two joint supplements is a dog whose owner is paying up to $450 a year to work against herself.
What we could not verify#
- Whether a stacked manganese total of 15 mg a day means anything clinically in a dog. No regulator publishes an upper limit for manganese in a canine supplement, and the only canine papers carrying liver and kidney manganese measurements are fatal overdoses — one dog who ate about 100 tablets, and one of the two dogs who shared roughly 75 capsules of a human supplement. A dose that kills tells you nothing about a dose that is safe. The correction to our own manganese figures is in the section above, not here, because those figures are published and checkable.
- Whether Nutramax advises against combining its own two products. Neither the Cosequin nor the Dasuquin product page carries any statement about concurrent use with other supplements, and we found no official position anywhere on either site on 19 August 2026. Absence of a warning is not endorsement; it is the ordinary silence of an unregulated category.
- A calorie figure for either product. Neither panel prints one. For a dog whose largest modifiable risk factor is body weight, that is a real omission, and it is not unique to Nutramax.
- An upper safe limit for any of these ingredients in dogs. No regulator has set one. Every "maximum safe dose" you will find online is somebody's inference, including any we were tempted to write.
What to do this week#
Take both containers off the counter and put them side by side. Read the two panels — you now know what the rows mean. Choose the one your dog will be on for the next six weeks, and put the other one away where he cannot reach it.
Then spend five minutes doing the part that is actually worth something: write down three things you will score again in six weeks, with today's date beside them. Not "seems happier." How many seconds from lying to standing. Which stairs he takes one at a time. Whether the car needs a boost.
The months your dog loses to a joint problem are almost never lost to the wrong tub. They are lost to a year of giving something, seeing nothing measurable, and having no way to tell whether that meant it was not working or whether it was and you could not see it. One product and one written page beat two products and a good memory, every time. The delay is the injury, and an unreadable answer is just another way of waiting.
Frequently asked
- Can I give my dog Dasuquin and Cosequin at the same time?
- You can, and there is no published evidence that doing so at label doses harms a dog. But there is no designed reason to. Both are Nutramax products built on the same two patented molecules — FCHG49 glucosamine hydrochloride and TRH122 sodium chondroitin sulfate — so stacking them mostly buys a second helping of the ingredients your dog is already getting. For a 70 lb dog running both labels at their loading doses, that is 3,600 mg of glucosamine a day (113 mg/kg) instead of 1,800 mg, and about $2.13 a day instead of $1.13. Dasuquin with MSM carries both of Cosequin's headline actives at higher amounts and adds ASU, Boswellia and green tea; Cosequin keeps 6 mg of hyaluronic acid and 3 mg of manganese that the Dasuquin with MSM chew does not have, neither of which is a reason to run two products. If you want the Dasuquin ingredients, buy Dasuquin and stop the Cosequin. Panels and prices verified 19 August 2026.
- How much glucosamine is too much for a dog?
- Nobody has established a number, and any page that gives you one is guessing. What exists is a case series: the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center reported 21 dogs with hepatotoxicity after joint-supplement ingestion in 2008–2009, at glucosamine doses of 183 to 6,667 mg/kg and MSM doses of 45 to 4,000 mg/kg, with chondroitin not reported. Every one of those was a single accidental gorging — a dog who got into the tub — not a daily regimen. Read the numbers carefully before you panic: a stacked 70 lb dog at both loading doses is at 113 mg/kg of glucosamine and 74 mg/kg of MSM, which is below the bottom of the glucosamine range and above the bottom of the MSM range. That overlap is the tell. It means the series is not a dose-response study, because only the dogs who got sick were ever counted. It is not evidence that stacking is dangerous, and it is not evidence that it is safe. The study has not been done.
- My dog ate a whole tub of joint supplement. What do I do?
- Call a veterinarian or the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center on (888) 426-4435 now, and take the container with you. This is the one part of the topic that is genuinely urgent. In the published cases, signs were mostly gastrointestinal and began anywhere from 30 minutes to two days after ingestion, so a dog who looks fine an hour later is not yet in the clear. A 5.2 kg Maltese mix who ate about 40 Dasuquin chews arrived seizuring, with a sodium of 160 mmol/L that peaked at 170 and a glucose above 600 mg/dL; by hour three her blood pH was 6.885. She was treated aggressively and went home after three days. A 5-year-old Pug who ate about 100 tablets developed acute hepatic failure and was euthanized on day six, with severely elevated manganese in the liver and kidneys at necropsy. Both outcomes are on the record. Neither has anything to do with label dosing, and both are reasons to keep the tub in a cupboard rather than on the counter.
- Is it cheaper to give Cosequin than Dasuquin for a big dog?
- It depends on where in Nutramax's own dose range you sit, and the range is wide enough to swallow the whole comparison. Cosequin's maintenance dose for a dog over 60 lb is 'one to two tablets' — a 2x band with no guidance on where to land inside it. At the prices we verified on 19 August 2026, the Cosequin ASIN we link (MSM and HA, 75 count, $24.99) is $0.333 a tablet, so a big dog costs $0.33 a day at one tablet, about $122 a year, or $0.67 a day at two, about $243. Dasuquin with MSM for large dogs is $84.99 for 150 chews and one chew a day at maintenance with no range at all: $0.57 a day, about $207 a year. So Cosequin is cheaper at the bottom of its band and more expensive at the top, and nothing on the bottle tells you which you should be doing. The cheapest route of all is the plain-MSM 250-count — $59.99 direct from store.cosequin.com or $62.99 on Amazon, which is $0.240 and $0.252 a tablet — so about $88 to $175 a year direct across the same band, or $92 to $184 on Amazon — same 600/300/250 base, no hyaluronic acid. We earn nothing on the direct sale.
- Does Dasuquin contain manganese?
- It depends entirely on which Dasuquin, and this is the detail that decides whether stacking doubles it. Dasuquin with MSM — the retail tub most people buy, the one we card — contains no manganese at all: the panel's eight rows are glucosamine, MSM, chondroitin, total omega-3s, EPA+DHA, ASU, Boswellia and green tea, and manganese is in neither the panel nor the other-ingredients list. Dasuquin Advanced, the vet-channel tier, does contain it and prints it: manganese as manganese ascorbate, 1 mg per small/medium chew and 3 mg per large chew. Cosequin prints 3 mg per tablet. So a dog over 60 lb on Cosequin plus Dasuquin with MSM gets 9 mg a day at loading, all of it from the Cosequin. The same dog on Cosequin plus Dasuquin Advanced gets 15 mg — 9 from three tablets and 6 from two chews. Both figures are computable from published panels, and neither label computes them for you, because neither is written on the assumption you own the other. All verified on dasuquin.com and cosequin.com, 19 August 2026.
- If I switch from Cosequin to Dasuquin, do I need to overlap them?
- No. There is no withdrawal, no taper and no loading gap to bridge — these are not drugs with a steady-state to protect. Finish the Cosequin bottle if you want to, then start Dasuquin on the label's four-to-six week initial dose the next morning. What matters far more than the overlap is that you score something measurable on the last Cosequin day and again six weeks into the Dasuquin, because that comparison is the entire value of switching and it is the thing almost everyone forgets to set up.