DogOrthopedic

The dosing audit

How Many Joint Chews Does My Dog Actually Need? We Put Every Label Next to Its Own Amazon Listing

Seven brands, three columns: the maker's weight table, its own Amazon listing, and the dose the one blinded trial actually used. Five listings give no dose at all. August 2026, every cell dated.

By Dog Orthopedic EditorialUpdated August 16, 202632 min read
A hand holding out a soft chew to a waiting dog — the moment where the daily dose is actually decided, at the kitchen counter rather than on the label
Photo: Bethany Ferr / Pexels

Before you buy another tub, go and count the one you already own. We put seven joint-supplement brands' own weight tables next to their own Amazon listings next to the dose the one blinded canine trial actually used. Five of the seven Amazon listings give no dose at all. One brand contradicts itself threefold. And at each maker's own maintenance instruction, a 70 lb dog lands below the tested dose on six of the seven products — which means the most common mistake in this aisle is not buying the wrong tub, it is under-giving the right one. The fix for that is free. If you want the tested dose for the least money, it is Cosequin Plus MSM tablets bought direct at about $175 a year, and we earn nothing on that — we print it because it is the answer. We earn the same rate on every Amazon product below. Nothing changes for us whichever you pick.

Affiliate disclosure: Dog Orthopedic is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we earn a commission at no extra cost to you — about 3% on most pet products, and the same rate on every product we compare, so no pick earns us more than another. Prescription medication earns us nothing, and seeing your vet earns us nothing; we recommend both anyway. Learn more.

Imagery: Lifestyle photographs on this site are licensed from Pexels (royalty-free) and credited per image. Pexels imagery illustrates conditions and contexts — it does not depict the specific dogs or test sessions described in the text. Product photographs come from Amazon's Creators API. Breed portraits are illustrations of typical breed type rather than photographs of individual dogs, and are not drawn to scale against one another.

The method, in one paragraph#

Nobody has done this mechanically, so we did. For each brand we pulled three things on 16 August 2026: the manufacturer's own current dosing table, read live off its own website; the current Amazon listing copy for the exact ASIN we link, pulled through the authenticated Amazon Creators API rather than a screenshot; and the milligrams-per-kilogram that the cited clinical trial actually administered, where a trial exists at all. Then we put them in three columns for a 70 lb dog — 31.75 kg, the size where the arithmetic bites hardest, and printed the disagreements without smoothing them. Where a maker publishes no number, that blank is a finding, not a gap. Every price is the one-time Amazon price on the day, or the manufacturer's own store price where we say so.

Joint supplement capsules portioned into bowls for a daily dose — the quantity in this bowl is exactly what the manufacturers and their own listings disagree about
One chew, or six? For a 70 lb dog, the answer across seven brands ranges from one to six units a day — and two of those brands give different answers on their own two surfaces.Photo: ready made / Pexels

The three columns#

Read this table as three questions about the same tub: what does the maker say, what does the shop say, and what did anyone actually test? Milligram figures are glucosamine hydrochloride per day for a 70 lb dog, because that is the one active shared across six of the seven.

ProductThe maker's own weight table (70 lb dog)Its own Amazon listing copymg/kg glucosamine at maintenance
Dasuquin with MSM, Large[2]2 chews/day for 4–6 wk, then 1/dayNo dose stated — 7 bullets, none about serving[3]28.3 (900 mg)
Cosequin Plus MSM & HA tablets[4]3 tablets/day for 4–6 wk, then 1–2/dayNo dose stated — 6 bullets, none about serving[5]18.9–37.8 (600–1,200 mg)
YuMOVE Advanced Vet Strength[6]6 chews/day for 4–6 wk, then 3/day1 chew/day (2 for 4–6 wk)[7]23.6 by the table · 7.9 by the listing
Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites[8]No serving instruction at allNo serving instruction at all[9]Unknowable — glucosamine never quantified
Flexadin Advanced (UC-II)[10]1 chew/day, any size cat or dog1 chew/day, any breed or size — agrees[11]No glucosamine — 40 mg UC-II ingredient
Doggie Dailies Hip & Joint[12]5 chews/day (61–75 lb), no loading phaseNo table — but boasts about the table's precision[13]15.7 (500 mg)
Phycox Soft Chews[14]2–3 chews/day for 4–6 wk, then 1/dayNo dose stated — 5 bullets, none about serving[15]15.7 (500 mg), or 31.5 doubled
The one trial that named a product30.0 for six weeks[1]

Four things fall out of that table, and none of them is the thing a shopping page would tell you.

Finding one: the shop mostly does not tell you the dose#

This was the surprise, and it reframes the whole problem. We expected contradictions. What we mostly found was silence.

Of the seven Amazon listings, five carry no dosing instruction of any kind in their bullet points — not a weight band, not a chews-per-day, not a serving size. Dasuquin's seven bullets talk about vet recommendations, ASU, the patented formula, palatability and quality control, and never once say how many chews a dog gets.[3] Cosequin's six do the same.[5] So do Phycox's five.[15]

The most instructive one is Doggie Dailies, whose listing does mention dosing — to advertise a table it does not print. Verbatim: "The Right Dose for Your Dog's Size: Unlike joint chews for dogs with 50 lb dosing gaps, our dog supplement joint formula uses 15 lb increments—perfect for small dogs to large breeds like a Dachshund or Doberman."[13] The granularity is real — the brand's own site does give six bands in fifteen-pound steps[12] — but the listing sells you the precision of a chart while withholding the chart. A shopper who reads only that bullet knows their dog's dose is finely calibrated and does not know what it is.

And then there is the manufacturer's own website failing at the same job. Nutramax's Dasuquin product page carries a link labelled "Click here for more info" pointing at /nmx/dasuquin_charts.pdf. On 16 August 2026 that URL redirects to the site's error handler and returns HTTP 200 with a zero-byte body and a content-type of application/pdf — so a browser opens a blank PDF viewer rather than showing a 404. The server's own analytics beacon on that response literally reads Missing file: nutramaxlabs-www.nutramax.com/nmx/dasuquin_charts.pdf.[16] The companion Dasuquin-chart.html does the same. The dosing table on the product page itself is intact and correct; it is the expanded chart, the one the page invites you to click for more detail, that is gone and pretending not to be.

None of this is sinister. It is what happens when dosing is treated as fine print rather than as the number that decides whether a product works and what it costs. But the practical consequence lands on the reader: the surface where most people buy is the surface least likely to tell them how much to give.

Finding two: where the two surfaces do speak, two of them disagree#

Three brands print a number on both surfaces. Two of the three disagree with themselves.

YuMOVE, threefold, and it is still live. The maker's own weight table, read this morning, gives a dog of 66 to 100 lb six chews a day for the first four to six weeks and three a day ongoing.[6] Its Amazon listing for the same tub, read the same morning, says "double the daily chews for 4 to 6 weeks, then drop to one a day at maintenance" and "Just one chew a day at maintenance for the average dog."[7] No weight bands at all. We first published this contradiction on 13 August and checked it again today specifically because we did not want to keep printing something that had quietly been fixed. It has not been. The same tub, the same company, the same day: either $142 or $426 a year for a 70 lb dog. The full head-to-head is in YuMOVE vs Dasuquin.

While we were there, a second disagreement appeared that we had not seen before. The maker's page now claims the product is "clinically proven to work in 4 weeks", while the Amazon listing's third bullet promises "SEE IT IN 6 WEEKS."[7] The footnote underneath the claim is byte-identical on both: "In vivo, double-blind, placebo-controlled, objectively measured canine clinical study by a leading UK Veterinary College."[6] The same unnamed and unpublished study is now being cited for two different timelines. We cannot check either, because the study has never been published anywhere we can reach and the college is never named.

Zesty Paws, on the only number both surfaces print. Zesty publishes no serving chart on either surface — we confirmed that twice this morning, once by reading the raw page and once by rendering it. What both surfaces do print is the OptiMSM figure, and they print it differently: 500 mg per 2 chews on zestypaws.com[8] against 400 mg per 2 chews on its own Amazon listing.[9] We first caught that on 10 August, re-read both surfaces on 14 August, and read them again today. Three checks, six days, same disagreement. Everything else in that chew sits inside a single 1,510 mg "Proprietary Hip & Joint Blend", so the glucosamine dose cannot be checked by you, by us, or by your vet.

Flexadin, on what the 40 mg is. Vetoquinol's own label reads "ACTIVE INGREDIENTS PER 1 CHEW (3 GRAMS): UC-II® Chicken Cartilage: 40 mg / Total Collagen (including undenatured type II collagen): 10 mg."[10] Its Amazon listing compresses that into "40mg of Collagen for Dogs."[11] The 40 mg is the cartilage ingredient; the collagen inside it is 10 mg. The listing quadruples its own product's active by dropping four words. This is the same trap in a different coat as the one that makes people compare "40 mg" against "900 mg glucosamine" and conclude the collagen product is a rounding error.

Finding three: the loading dose is the tested dose, and maintenance is where it slips#

Now the third column, and this is where the audit stops being about tidiness and starts being about whether your money bought you anything.

There is exactly one blinded, placebo-controlled, force-plate-measured trial that tested a glucosamine product by brand name in dogs with osteoarthritis. Its methods section names the arm precisely: "Glucosamine HCL and chondroitin sulfate (DASUQUIN®) with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax Laboratories Consumer Care, Inc.; 30 mg of glucosamine HCL based/kg body weight q24hr PO for 6 weeks."[1] Seventy-five dogs, five arms, peak vertical force on a force plate as the outcome rather than owner opinion. The glucosamine arm did not separate from placebo; two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen did. We walked our own Dasuquin recommendation back over that result and logged it in our public corrections log; the full evidence picture is in green-lipped mussel vs glucosamine.

Hold that 30 mg/kg number against the labels and something specific appears.

For a 70 lb (31.75 kg) dogLoading dose, mg/kgMaintenance dose, mg/kgvs the 30 mg/kg tested
Dasuquin with MSM Large56.7 (2 chews)28.3 (1 chew)maintenance is 94% of it
Cosequin Plus MSM & HA56.7 (3 tablets)18.9–37.8 (1–2 tablets)the range straddles it
YuMOVE, its weight table47.2 (6 chews)23.6 (3 chews)79% of it
YuMOVE, its Amazon copy15.7 (2 chews)7.9 (1 chew)26% of it
Doggie Dailiesnone published15.7 (5 chews)52% of it
Phycox31.5–47.2 (2–3 chews)15.7 (1 chew), 31.5 doubled52%, or 105% doubled
Zesty Pawsnone publishednot discloseduncheckable

Four of the seven loading instructions meet or exceed the tested dose. Not one maintenance instruction reliably does. That is the pattern. The four-to-six weeks the labels ask you to commit to is roughly the experiment that was run; the dose you settle into afterwards, for years, at a few hundred dollars a year, is a different and smaller experiment that nobody has published anything about.

Two honest things must be said about that, and they cut in opposite directions.

In the products' favour: the trial ran 30 mg/kg for the whole six weeks, which is essentially Dasuquin's maintenance dose given through the window its own label says to double. Nutramax's loading instruction is about 1.9 times what the trial administered. So it is fair to say the trial under-dosed relative to the label's own front-loading advice, and a defender of the product can say so. We are saying it for them, because it is true and it costs us nothing to be accurate about a product we sell.

Against them: 30 mg/kg is not a proven dose. It is a failed dose. Dosing up to it does not buy your dog a benefit — it buys you a fair test. That distinction is the single most important sentence on this page. If you give a quarter of a studied dose for six weeks and see nothing, you have learned nothing, because you never ran the trial you thought you were running. A separate blinded, placebo-controlled study put 30 dogs on a glucosamine/chondroitin product and 30 on placebo with activity monitors running for 97 days and found no difference in daily activity counts — while owner-reported scores improved in both groups.[19] The authors' own explanation for that last part is the caregiver placebo effect, which in dogs with osteoarthritis lameness has been measured at 39.7%.[18]

The two products whose third column is a different species#

Flexadin Advanced is the outlier and deserves a fair hearing rather than a lump with the rest. Its instruction is "Administer 1 chew daily for any size cat or dog unless otherwise directed by your veterinarian"[10] — the only brand here whose two surfaces agree, precisely because it refuses to have a weight table. That refusal has a real consequence: one instruction produces a twentyfold spread in per-kilogram dose, from 14.7 mg/kg for a 6 lb cat down to 0.74 mg/kg for a 120 lb dog, and Vetoquinol publishes no explanation for why body weight should not matter here.

Its "clinically proven more effective than glucosamine and chondroitin*" claim traces to a real, published, well-designed trial — in 191 human volunteers, randomised over 180 days to UC-II 40 mg, or glucosamine 1,500 mg plus chondroitin 1,200 mg, or placebo.[17] A 70 kg adult on 40 mg receives about 0.57 mg/kg. A 31.75 kg dog on the same 40 mg receives about 1.26 mg/kg — roughly twice the per-kilogram exposure the trial used, which is the rare case where the flat dose works in the customer's favour, at least for a mid-sized dog. UC-II has also been put up against an actual NSAID in randomised canine trials, which is more than the glucosamine in most of this table can say.[21] That 2019 study had no placebo arm, so it shows non-inferiority to a drug, not superiority to doing nothing.

Phycox has the opposite problem: its third column exists but describes a different chew. Its only pharmacokinetic study, in four healthy Beagles, describes the product tested as containing 450 mg of glucosamine per chew,[20] while today's label states 500 mg.[14] Dechra does not say which formulation was studied. And no efficacy trial of Phycox in dogs with osteoarthritis has ever been published.

Finding four: two tubs cannot survive their own loading phase#

This is the arithmetic that quietly turns a four-week commitment into a two-tub purchase, and it is invisible at the shelf.

TubPriceLoading dose, 70 lb dogDays the tub lastsLoading period the label asks for
Cosequin Plus MSM & HA, 75 ct$24.993 tablets/day25 days28–42 days
YuMOVE Advanced Vet Strength, 180 ct$69.996 chews/day30 days28–42 days
Phycox Soft Chews, 120 ct$84.002–3 chews/day40–60 days28–42 days
Dasuquin with MSM Large, 150 ct$84.992 chews/day75 days28–42 days

Cosequin's 75-count bottle runs out three days before the shortest version of its own initial period ends, and seventeen days before the longest. YuMOVE's largest tub covers the short end and misses the long end. Neither is a scandal — but neither company puts that sentence next to the buy button, and a reader who buys one bottle intending to "give it a fair four weeks" will be short.

The band-by-band arithmetic for every product we cover, at every dog weight, is in our dosing-by-weight reference.

A dog taking a soft chew from a person's open hand indoors — the daily moment when the label's weight table either gets followed or quietly gets rounded down
The dose is not decided by the label. It is decided here, by whoever is holding the tub, usually without the weight table in front of them.Photo: Pavel Danilyuk / Pexels

What it actually costs, at each maker's own instruction#

Prices are the one-time Amazon price on 16 August 2026 unless marked direct. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it when the prices move, which they will.

Product, 70 lb dog at maintenanceUnits/dayCost/dayCost/yearmg/kg
Cosequin Plus MSM, 250 ct, direct2 tablets$0.48≈$17537.8
Dasuquin with MSM Large, 150 ct1 chew$0.57≈$20728.3
Cosequin Plus MSM & HA, 75 ct1–2 tablets$0.33–$0.67≈$122–$24318.9–37.8
Phycox, 120 ct1 chew$0.70≈$25615.7
Zesty Paws, 90 ct2 chews (implied)$0.73≈$267not disclosed
Doggie Dailies, 225 ct5 chews$0.84≈$30815.7
Flexadin Advanced, 60 ct1 chew$1.00≈$365n/a — UC-II
YuMOVE, 180 ct, its weight table3 chews$1.17≈$42623.6
YuMOVE, 180 ct, its Amazon copy1 chew$0.39≈$1427.9

Two rows deserve pointing at.

The cheapest tub is not the cheapest year. Zesty Paws' 90-count tub is $32.97 and Dasuquin's 150-count is $84.99, and Dasuquin costs less per year because a 70 lb dog eats one chew a day instead of two. Doggie Dailies' jar is the cheapest per chew in this entire audit at about 17 cents — and the most expensive of the glucosamine chews to run for a large dog, because that dog eats five of them a day. Those five chews also carry 46 kcal, into a dog whose body weight is the largest modifiable factor in canine arthritis; Doggie Dailies is one of the very few brands here that publishes a calorie figure at all, at 9.2 kcal per chew.[12] Nutramax, Vetnique, Zesty Paws, Dechra and Vetoquinol publish none.

And the top row is the one we make nothing on. Cosequin for Dogs Plus MSM chewable tablets in the 250-count bottle are $59.99 on Nutramax's own store — about 24 cents a tablet, the cheapest per-milligram glucosamine anywhere in this audit.[22] Two a day gives a 70 lb dog 1,200 mg, or 37.8 mg/kg — the only maintenance instruction in this table that clears the tested dose — for about $175 a year. It is a direct sale. We earn nothing on it. It is still the answer, because the evidence decides the verdict here and the margin never does — and when that rule has cost us money before, we have logged it in the public corrections log rather than quietly fixing it.

#1 Pick

Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

Nutramax

Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

8.8/ 10

Our score

$50–$135

Best for

Step-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery

The joint supplement to buy when you have decided to buy one and the dog has real, diagnosed osteoarthritis. The ASU component is what separates it from Cosequin and the only reason to pay the premium, and the honest framing is that the supporting evidence is strongest in the laboratory and weakest in blinded canine trials — which is true of the entire category. Buy one product, run it properly for 4–6 weeks, and judge the result against something you measured before you started. Score lowered 9.2 to 8.8 on 2026-08-13: the product has not changed, but we read the trial that tested it by name and found it did not separate from placebo on a force plate, and a second blinded trial by a different group using activity monitors reached the same answer. It stays a defensible first purchase because it is inexpensive, well tolerated and unusually well disclosed. It is no longer a product we can describe as well evidenced.

Pros

  • Adds ASU (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables) to the glucosamine/chondroitin base — the ingredient that separates it from Cosequin, with laboratory and animal-model evidence for cartilage protection
  • Same FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin as Cosequin
  • Soft chew form factor most dogs eat as a treat
  • Genuinely a veterinary-channel line, not just marketed as one — the Advanced tier is sold through clinics rather than retail. Note that the box's "#1 veterinarian recommended" is a claim about what practices stock, and we have not been able to trace it to a published survey
  • Published per-chew analysis — you can see exactly what a chew contains, which most competitors do not publish to the same standard — including, unusually, an omega-3 line the equivalent chewable tablet does not carry

Cons

  • 30–40% pricier than Cosequin DS
  • Soft chews can stick together in heat
  • Only meaningful upgrade if diagnosed OA — for healthy dogs Cosequin is enough
  • The canine clinical evidence for ASU is thinner than the marketing: the strongest data is laboratory and animal-model work, not blinded trials in pet dogs. No joint supplement has evidence in the same class as an NSAID
  • This exact product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial and it did not separate from placebo. Kampa et al. 2023 (Front Vet Sci, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188) names "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax" and reports a week-4 change in peak vertical force of −0.05 against placebo's +0.08, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly. Two fair caveats: small arms — 16 dogs in the glucosamine group, 14 to 15 in the others — and the trial ran maintenance dosing (about 30 mg/kg) through the window this label says to double.
  • Contains no manganese, unlike both of its Nutramax siblings — Cosequin prints 3 mg per tablet and Dasuquin Advanced prints 3 mg per large-dog chew, while this tier has no manganese row on the panel and none in the other-ingredients list (all three panels read 19 August 2026). Whether that matters is genuinely unclear, since manganese's role here is a cofactor claim rather than a tested effect. We list it as a con because the maker sells it as an active in the tier above and the buyer of this tier is never told it is absent
  • No calorie figure on the panel, on dasuquin.com or on the Amazon listing (verified absent 19 August 2026) — two chews a day is two treats a day for a dog whose weight is the strongest lever anyone has

#2 Pick

Nutramax Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)

Nutramax

Cosequin Plus MSM & HA Joint Health Supplement (Chewable Tablets)

9.0/ 10

Our score

$25–$63

Best for

First-line joint supplementation for dogs of any size

If you're going to put a dog on one supplement, this is still the one we'd start with: the FCHG49/TRH122 forms are the ones that have actually been put in trials rather than assumed into them, and the DS tablet delivers them at full strength for well under a dollar a day even in a large dog. Two honesty notes. The evidence for the whole category is modest and the caregiver placebo effect is not — so start it, give it six weeks, and judge it against something you measured before you began. And the listing's "#1 vet recommended brand" line is a marketing survey claim, not a clinical one; buy on the ingredient forms and the price per tablet, which you can verify.

Pros

  • Contains FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin — the specific patented forms that have actually been put in trials, rather than generic glucosamine. Corrected 31 August 2026: this line previously said "the patented forms used in published canine studies," which reads as support the record does not give. The positive placebo-controlled trial of these forms was in human knees (Das and Hammad 2000); the one blinded, placebo-controlled canine force-plate trial to test them — inside Dasuquin with MSM — found no significant advantage over placebo (Kampa 2023)
  • The linked tablet adds 6 mg sodium hyaluronate (HA) per tablet over the classic Plus MSM formula. Corrected 19 August 2026: this line previously said it also added 3 mg of manganese. It does not — the classic Plus MSM tablet carries the same 3 mg of manganese ascorbate, re-verified on cosequin.com that day. HA is the only difference
  • Maximum-strength (DS) dosing — 600 mg glucosamine per tablet
  • Chewable tablet, palatable for most dogs
  • Wide count range across the tablet line (60 to 250), so per-tablet price drops meaningfully if you buy the larger bottles

Cons

  • Tablets are large; some small dogs need them split
  • Slow onset — give it 4–6 weeks to evaluate effect
  • A big dog eats through a small bottle fast: over 60 lb, the loading dose is 3 tablets a day, so the linked 75-count is 25 days of loading
  • The linked 75-count with-HA variant costs more per tablet (~$0.33) than the plain-MSM 132-count (~$0.26) — the HA is 6 mg, and whether that is worth the premium is genuinely unclear
  • Supplement effects in this category are small enough that the measured 39.7% caregiver placebo rate can swamp them — judge it against a measurement, not an impression
  • Not vegan-friendly (chondroitin is animal-derived)
  • Nutramax publishes no inactive-ingredient list on either tablet line's own product page (verified absent again on cosequin.com 31 August 2026). We previously printed the base here as brewers dried yeast, dextrose and natural & artificial flavors, sourced to retailer label reproductions; on 31 August 2026 we could not re-reach any retailer carrying that list (Chewy 429, Petco 403, Drugs.com 403), so treat it as unverified. The checkable finding stands and is the one that matters: the base is not published, and a base you cannot read cannot be cleared for a dog on a strict elimination diet

#3 Pick

YuMOVE YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

YuMOVE

YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

7.9/ 10

Our score

$25–$70

Best for

UK-formula alternative for dogs that won't eat Cosequin chews

The credible non-Nutramax option if you've tried Cosequin without improvement and want a different mechanism. Be clear-eyed about two things before paying for it. Green-lipped mussel's impressive trial results — matching an NSAID on a force plate in blinded studies — belong to concentrated lipid extracts, not to the whole-mussel powder in these chews. And the headline claim will not sit still: "clinically proven in 6 weeks" (Amazon bullet, still live) became "clinically proven to work in 4 weeks" on the maker's own page by 16 August 2026 — the same unnamed-UK-college footnote under both, so the claim shrank two weeks without gaining a citation. The manufacturer's own dosing pages still disagree with its Amazon listing by a factor of three — which decides whether this costs you $140 or $426 a year for a 70 lb dog (third check, 2026-08-16). Score lowered 8.4 → 7.9 on 2026-08-12 for the disclosure gaps, not because the product changed. Everything above re-verified 2026-08-16 against both dosing pages: the threefold contradiction still stands. Held at 7.9 rather than lowered further, because the same pass found two things in the product's favour we had not credited — a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee that covers Amazon and outlasts the label's own trial, and a NASC primary- supplier listing for its US distributor. It is the more expensive product with the weaker evidence and the better consumer protection.

Pros

  • ActivEase Green Lipped Mussel — a different, anti-inflammatory pathway than glucosamine alone
  • Soft chews most dogs take readily, by reviewer consensus
  • The refund window outlasts the trial the label asks for — a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee from Vetnique Labs that explicitly covers authorized Amazon purchases (verified 2026-08-13). Dasuquin's maker gives you 10 business days, so you cannot finish its own loading phase and still return it. On this axis the pricier product is clearly the safer purchase.
  • NASC lists Vetnique Labs, the US distributor, as a primary supplier (verified 2026-08-13); the same search returns no supplier page for Nutramax. A manufacturing-quality audit, not evidence of efficacy — but a real third-party check that Dasuquin's side does not have.

Cons

  • The "clinically proven" claim rests on a trial at an unnamed "leading UK veterinary college" that has never been published anywhere we can find — nothing indexed on Europe PMC as of 2026-08-12. We previously called this an "independent UK clinical trial," which overstated what is verifiable.
  • The manufacturer contradicts itself on dose: its own product page prescribes 3 chews/day maintenance for a 70 lb dog while its Amazon listing says "just one chew a day." At the manufacturer's own weight-based dose, a 70 lb dog costs about $426/year — roughly twice Dasuquin's $207.
  • Chondroitin content is not disclosed as a number; it is buried inside the mussel total, so the dose cannot be checked against anything.
  • The strongest green-lipped mussel evidence (blinded force-plate trials) belongs to concentrated lipid extracts, not the whole-mussel powder used here — this product cannot borrow those results.
  • US distribution is shifting (yumove.com product URLs now redirect to vetnique.com); watch the listing.

#4 Pick

Zesty Paws Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)

Zesty Paws

Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)

7.6/ 10

Our score

$33–$70

Best for

Palatable everyday joint chew for young and early-stage dogs

The right choice when palatability and availability are the gating factors and your dog is young/early-stage. The ingredient list looks similar to Dasuquin on the label, but the underlying glucosamine is not the patented form, so don't expect equivalent results in dogs with diagnosed OA — and at July 2026 tub prices it is no longer meaningfully cheaper per day than the vet lines.

Pros

  • Soft chews most dogs eat as a treat
  • Very wide retail availability
  • No loading phase — same serving from day one, so the tub lasts a predictable 45 days for a 70 lb dog

Cons

  • The actives sit inside a single 1,510 mg proprietary blend, so the glucosamine and chondroitin amounts are not disclosed and cannot be checked against any published dose. That is a choice the manufacturer made, and it is the main reason this scores below the products that publish their numbers.
  • The one active that does get a number is contradicted by its own maker — 500 mg OptiMSM per 2 chews on zestypaws.com, 400 mg on the Zesty Paws Amazon listing. First caught 2026-08-10; both surfaces re-read 2026-08-14 and the disagreement still stands.
  • The chondroitin source changes with the flavor — bovine in Bacon, porcine in Duck (manufacturer's own ingredient panels, read 2026-08-14). If your dog is on a restricted-protein plan, the flavor choice is an ingredient choice.
  • Not the budget option any more. At verified prices it runs about $0.73/day and $267/yr for a 70 lb dog, against roughly $207/yr for Dasuquin with MSM at maintenance — so the cheaper-alternative framing is now backwards.
  • Glucosamine source is generic; no FCHG49-equivalent clinical evidence
  • Glucosamine is shellfish-derived, and the chew base includes pea, tapioca and garbanzo flour — relevant for a dog on an elimination diet
  • Some lots have variable smell/texture

Those ranks reflect how checkable each product's dose is and what it costs per disclosed milligram. They are not a claim that any of them will help your dog.

Who should buy neither, and who should buy nothing#

In order, cheapest first. This is most readers, and the first item is free.

  1. Anyone who has not yet counted what they are currently giving. Go and look at the tub. Find the maker's weight table — not the listing, the maker's own page. If you are on Cosequin at one tablet a day for a 70 lb dog, the maker's own range says one to two, and moving to two costs 33 cents a day and takes you from 18.9 to 37.8 mg/kg. If you followed YuMOVE's Amazon listing, you have been giving a large dog a quarter of the dose its own weight table prescribes. In three of the seven cases on this page, the fix costs nothing or almost nothing, and it is not a different product.
  2. The dog whose owner will not measure anything. This is the honest disqualifier. If nobody in the house is going to write down what your dog can do today, run one product at the maker's full dose for the whole four to six weeks without changing anything else, and re-score at the end, then no product on this page can earn its money — because four owners in ten report improvement on a placebo,[18] and you will be one of them either way. Our printable supplement trial scorecard exists for exactly this and costs a sheet of paper.
  3. Anyone whose dog already gets glucosamine in its dinner. Check the guaranteed analysis on the food bag before you add a chew. A 70 lb dog full-fed on ZIWI Peak air-dried, for one verified example, takes in about 306 mg of glucosamine a day from the food alone — which is more than that dog would get from a YuMOVE chew dosed the way YuMOVE's own Amazon listing tells you to. That is not enough to replace a supplement for diagnosed disease, and we would not tell you it was. It is enough to be worth knowing before you spend $300 a year adding 500 mg.
  4. The overweight arthritic dog whose owner has not asked for a body condition score. It is free to ask at the next appointment, and it has less controversy behind it than anything on this page.
  5. The dog who is sore today. In the trial that ran 30 mg/kg of glucosamine, the carprofen arm improved significantly and the glucosamine arm did not.[1] If your dog is in pain now, the supplement question is not the urgent one. How to tell if your dog is in pain is the more useful page, and the vet is the more useful appointment.
A veterinarian examining a senior dog's hip during an orthopedic exam — the appointment where a printed dosing table settles an argument faster than any amount of reading
Print the maker's weight table and take it with you. On two of the seven products audited here, the number your vet assumes you are giving is not the number on the listing you bought from.Photo: Tima Miroshnichenko / Pexels

The channel note#

We publish this even when it costs us the commission, and this time it costs us twice.

  • Cosequin is cheaper direct in the size that matters. The 250-count Plus MSM bottle is $59.99 on Nutramax's own store — $0.24 a tablet against $0.26 for Amazon's 132-count at $34.91 and $0.33 for the 75-count MSM-and-HA tub at $24.99 that we card above.[22] For a large dog on two tablets a day, buying direct in the big bottle saves roughly $68 a year against the tub we earn on.
  • Dasuquin has no direct price to compare, and that is a finding rather than a gap. Nutramax's own store carried 17 products on 16 August 2026 and not one of them was Dasuquin.[22] It is kept in the veterinary and retail channel; clinics set their own prices, frequently above Amazon's $84.99.
  • YuMOVE and Zesty Paws are the same price in both channels. YuMOVE's own variant feed lists 45, 90 and 180 count at $24.99, $39.99 and $69.99 with SKUs YMSC-AVS45SS-1, YMSC-AVS90SS-1 and YMSC-AVS180SS-1 — identical to Amazon, part number included.[23] Zesty Paws' 90-count is $32.97 on both.[8]
  • Flexadin is two cents cheaper on Amazon, and the buy box is not the brand's. Direct is $59.99 for 60 chews; Amazon is $59.97, sold by a third-party reseller trading as "Pattern."[11][10] Two cents is not a reason to choose a channel; who is selling to you might be, if you ever need the guarantee.
  • Doggie Dailies is identical in both channels at $37.99 for the 225-count, and its Amazon buy box is held by Compana Pet Brands, the brand's own parent.[13][12]

What we could not verify, and what we left out#

Scope discipline matters more than coverage on a page like this, so here is what did not make it and why.

  • VetriScience's Extra Strength Healthy Hip & Joint, formerly GlycoFlex Stage 3, was cut for lack of a maker column. On 16 August 2026 vetriscience.com returned HTTP 405 to every request we made — product pages, search, even its sitemap — through two independent tools. We could not re-read its weight table, so we did not print one. What we can report is the Amazon side: the listing at B002LVTTVM is $44.81 for 120 tablets, its title now reads "VetriScience Extra Strength Healthy Hip & Joint for Dogs, Chicken, 120ct" with the GlycoFlex name surviving only inside a bullet as "(previously GlycoFlex Stage 3)", and it carries no dosing instruction. For a shopper today, the only reachable dosing surface for this product is the one that does not have a dose on it.
  • Calories per chew are not published by Nutramax, Vetnique, Zesty Paws, Dechra or Vetoquinol. Doggie Dailies publishes 9.2 kcal. The category-wide silence on a number that matters to an arthritic dog's weight is its own story, and we have queued it.
  • Zesty Paws' glucosamine content remains unknowable. It sits inside a 1,510 mg proprietary blend with MSM, chondroitin and vitamin E, and only the MSM gets a figure — the figure the two surfaces disagree about.
  • We did not audit PetLab Co, Pet Honesty, Native Pet, Adequan or the Pet Protect line that absorbed Synovi G4. Seven brands read properly beats twelve read quickly, and the Pet Protect panel in particular is not published by Elanco at all, so its column would have been three blanks.
  • We cannot tell you what the right dose is. We can tell you what each maker says, what each listing says, and what one trial administered. Which of those applies to your dog — with its weight, its diagnosis, its other medications and its kidneys — is a question for your vet, and a printed copy of the weight table is the fastest way to have it.

What to do this week#

Go to the cupboard. Take the tub out. Count how many your dog gets in a day, and write the number on a scrap of paper.

Then open the manufacturer's own website on your phone — not the listing you bought from, the manufacturer's — and find the weight table. Put your dog's weight against it. If the two numbers match, you are running the experiment the label describes, and you can judge it fairly at the end of six weeks. If they do not match, you now know something that costs nothing to fix and that no shopping page was ever going to tell you.

And write one more line under it: what you would need to see by the end of September to keep paying for this. Date it. Put it where you will find it again.

That sentence is worth more than the difference between any two products on this page. Everything above it is us doing the reading — the dead chart PDF, the listing that quadruples its own collagen, the tub that runs out three days early — so that you do not have to. The only part that is genuinely yours is noticing, honestly, whether he got up any easier this month than last.

He is not going to tell you. He is going to take the chew, because it tastes good, and go back to lying down.

Frequently asked

How many joint chews does my 70 lb dog actually need?
It depends entirely on which tub you own, and the honest first step is free: find the maker's own weight table and count what you are currently giving. For a 70 lb dog, verified 16 August 2026 from each manufacturer's own page: Dasuquin with MSM Large is 2 soft chews a day for the first four to six weeks, then 1. Cosequin Plus MSM chewable tablets are 3 a day for four to six weeks, then 1 to 2. YuMOVE Advanced Vet Strength is 6 chews a day for four to six weeks, then 3. Doggie Dailies is 5 chews a day with no loading phase published. Phycox is 2 to 3 chews a day for four to six weeks, then 1. Flexadin Advanced is 1 chew a day for every dog and cat alive. Zesty Paws publishes no serving instruction at all. Notice that four of those numbers come from a table that is nowhere on the product's Amazon listing — which is where most people buy, and where five of the seven listings we read give no dose whatsoever.
Am I underdosing my dog's joint supplement?
Statistically, probably — and the fix is often free. The only blinded, placebo-controlled, force-plate-measured trial that tested a named glucosamine product in dogs ran 30 mg of glucosamine hydrochloride per kilogram of body weight, every day, for six weeks (Kampa et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science 2023, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188). For a 70 lb dog that is about 950 mg a day. At each maker's own maintenance instruction, a 70 lb dog gets 28.3 mg/kg on Dasuquin, 18.9 to 37.8 on Cosequin depending which end of its range you pick, 23.6 on YuMOVE's weight table, 15.7 on Doggie Dailies, 15.7 on Phycox, 7.9 if you follow YuMOVE's Amazon copy, and an unknowable amount on Zesty Paws because it never states its glucosamine content. Six of those land at or below the dose that was tested. Before you buy a different tub, count the one you own against its own table — and take the arithmetic to your vet rather than settling it yourself at the kitchen counter.
Why does my supplement's Amazon listing say something different from the manufacturer's website?
Because they are written by different people for different purposes, and nobody reconciles them. We read seven brands' maker pages against their own Amazon listings on 16 August 2026. Five listings — Dasuquin, Cosequin, Zesty Paws, Doggie Dailies and Phycox — contain no dosing instruction anywhere in their bullet points. One, Flexadin Advanced, agrees with its label exactly, because its instruction is one chew a day for any animal of any size. And one, YuMOVE, contradicts itself threefold: its own weight table gives a 66 to 100 lb dog three chews a day at maintenance while its Amazon listing says 'Just one chew a day at maintenance for the average dog.' That single disagreement is the difference between about $426 and about $142 a year for the same tub and the same dog.
Which joint supplement gives the most glucosamine for the money?
For a 70 lb dog wanting the dose the trial actually used, the cheapest verified route on 16 August 2026 is Cosequin for Dogs Plus MSM chewable tablets in the 250-count bottle, sold on Nutramax's own store at $59.99 — about $0.24 a tablet. Two tablets a day is 1,200 mg of glucosamine, roughly 37.8 mg/kg, for about $175 a year. We earn nothing on that sale and we are printing it anyway, because it is the answer. For comparison at verified Amazon prices: Dasuquin with MSM Large is about $207 a year at one chew a day, Phycox about $256, Zesty Paws about $267, Doggie Dailies about $308, Flexadin Advanced about $365, and YuMOVE about $426 at its own weight table. Cheapest per tub and cheapest per year are almost never the same product, because the number of units a big dog eats per day ranges from one to six across this set.
Does a bigger dose mean it works better?
No, and this is the part the category will not say plainly. The 30 mg/kg figure is not a proven-effective dose — it is the dose that was tested and did not beat a placebo on a force plate. Dosing up to it does not buy you a benefit; it buys you a fair experiment instead of an unfair one. If you are going to spend four to six weeks and $50 to $200 finding out whether a supplement helps your dog, the least you can do is run it at a dose somebody has actually studied, so that a null result means something. Give a quarter of that dose and a disappointing outcome tells you nothing at all — you never ran the trial. And plan for the fact that roughly four owners in ten report improvement on a sugar pill: the measured caregiver placebo rate in dogs with osteoarthritis lameness is 39.7% (Conzemius and Evans, JAVMA 2012, DOI 10.2460/javma.241.10.1314).

Know someone whose dog is doing this? Send it to them.