DogOrthopedic

Head to Head

YuMOVE vs Dasuquin: One Trial You Can Read, One You Cannot

At each maker's own dose a 70 lb dog costs $426/yr on YuMOVE vs $207 on Dasuquin — but YuMOVE's Amazon copy prescribes a third of its own site's dose. The receipts, the refund windows, and who should buy which. Aug 2026.

By Dog Orthopedic EditorialUpdated August 13, 202626 min read
An owner's hand offering a treat to an adult brown Labrador — the daily transaction at the centre of every joint supplement decision, repeated once or three times a day depending on which dosing instruction you follow
Photo: Blue Bird / Pexels

Buy Dasuquin with MSM if you want the cheaper of the two, the fully disclosed label, and you accept that this exact product was tested by name and did not beat a placebo. Buy YuMOVE Advanced Vet Strength if your dog has already had a fair six weeks on a glucosamine chew with nothing to show for it, you specifically want green-lipped mussel and fish omega-3 in the mix, and you want a refund window that actually outlasts the trial the label asks you to run. Buy neither if nobody in the house has written down what improvement would justify the money — that measurement is free and it is worth more than the difference between these two products. We earn the same rate on both. Nothing changes for us whichever you pick.

Affiliate disclosure: Dog Orthopedic is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we earn a commission at no extra cost to you — about 3% on most pet products, and the same rate on every product we compare, so no pick earns us more than another. Prescription medication earns us nothing, and seeing your vet earns us nothing; we recommend both anyway. Learn more.

Imagery: Lifestyle photographs on this site are licensed from Pexels (royalty-free) and credited per image. Pexels imagery illustrates conditions and contexts — it does not depict the specific dogs or test sessions described in the text. Product photographs come from Amazon's Creators API. Breed portraits are illustrations of typical breed type rather than photographs of individual dogs, and are not drawn to scale against one another.

The receipts, with a date on every cell#

Every figure below was re-verified on 13 August 2026 — prices and seller through the Amazon Creators API, dosing and ingredient panels off each manufacturer's own current page. "Not published" is an answer, not a gap.

YuMOVE Advanced Vet StrengthDasuquin with MSM (Large)
Maker / US sellerLintbells; sold on Amazon by Vetnique Labs[3]Nutramax; sold on Amazon by Amazon.com[4]
Price, largest tub$69.99 / 180 ct ($0.39 a chew)[3]$84.99 / 150 ct ($0.57 a chew)[4]
Subscribe-and-save$62.99 (10% off)$80.74 (5% off)
Direct price$69.99 — identical, same SKU[11]No direct sale — Nutramax's own store carries Cosequin only[13]
Maker's dose, 70 lb dog3 chews/day (6 for first 4–6 wk)[2]1 chew/day (2 for first 4–6 wk)
The listing's dose, same dog1 chew/day (2 for first 4–6 wk)[3]1 chew/day — the two agree
Cost/year at the maker's dose≈$426≈$207
Glucosamine/day, 70 lb750 mg (23.6 mg/kg)900 mg (28.3 mg/kg)
Chondroitin/dayNot disclosed — inside a 660 mg mussel-powder total[2]350 mg, stated
Omega-3375 mg "fish powder" — EPA/DHA not disclosed[2]None
MSM / ASU / BoswelliaNone800 mg / 90 mg / 40 mg
Trial naming this productNone published[5]One, and it lost[1]
Refund window90 days, 100%, Amazon covered[9]10 business days; unopened only after[10]
Calories per chewNot publishedNot published

Two cells in that table decide almost everything, and they are not the ones a shopping page would highlight. One is the row where YuMOVE gives two different doses for the same dog. The other is the row where one refund window is ninety days and the other is ten.

Axis one: the dosing contradiction, which is also the sizing trap#

Start here, because on this pair the sizing mistake is not the owner's. It is printed on the packaging by the manufacturer, twice, in two different values.

YuMOVE's own product page carries a weight table.[2] Its Amazon listing carries a sentence.[3] They do not agree, and we checked both again this morning because we did not want to publish a contradiction that had quietly been fixed.

The product page:

Dog weightFirst 4–6 weeksOngoingMaintenance cost/year
Under 35 lb2 chews1 chew≈$142
36–65 lb4 chews2 chews≈$284
66–100 lb6 chews3 chews≈$426
Over 100 lb8 chews4 chews≈$568

The Amazon listing, verbatim: "double the daily chews for 4 to 6 weeks, then drop to one a day at maintenance" and "Just one chew a day at maintenance for the average dog." No weight bands at all.

Read the listing and a 120 lb Newfoundland gets the dose the manufacturer's own table reserves for a dog under 35 lb. Read the table and the same tub costs three times as much to run. The same product, from the same company, on the same day, is either $142 a year or $426 a year for a 70 lb dog. There is no third page that resolves it.

Two consequences worth knowing before you buy.

A 180-count tub does not survive YuMOVE's own loading phase for a large dog. Six chews a day for the prescribed four to six weeks is 252 chews. The biggest tub holds 180 — thirty days, against a loading period that runs up to forty-two. To complete the trial the label asks for, a 70 lb dog needs two tubs and about $110 of chews before the first fair assessment. Dasuquin's 150-count tub covers its own 42-day loading phase with 66 chews to spare, for $84.99.

And the lower reading puts the dose under what has already been tested and found wanting. For a 70 lb dog, one YuMOVE chew is 250 mg of glucosamine, about 7.9 mg per kilogram. The blinded force-plate trial that found no benefit from glucosamine ran roughly 30 mg/kg.[1] Following the Amazon copy gives a large dog about a quarter of a dose that already failed to move a force plate. Even the weight table's three chews, at 23.6 mg/kg, sits below it.

Dasuquin's sizing trap is duller and cheaper to avoid: there are two formulas, split at 60 lb, and the mg figures on this page are the large-dog one. Match the formula to the dog, and buy the count with the loading arithmetic in mind — 150 chews is 75 days at two a day, not five months. The band-by-band numbers for every product we cover are in our dosing-by-weight reference.

Joint supplement capsules in bowls, portioned for a daily dose — the quantity in the bowl is exactly what the two manufacturers disagree about
Three chews or one? For a 70 lb dog, YuMOVE's product page and YuMOVE's Amazon listing give different answers, and the gap between them is about $284 a year.Photo: ready made / Pexels

Axis two: the money, at each maker's own dose#

Prices below are the one-time Amazon prices verified 13 August 2026. The arithmetic is shown so you can redo it when the prices move, which they will.

YuMOVE, 70 lb dog, manufacturer's weight table. $69.99 ÷ 180 chews = $0.3888 per chew. Three chews a day = $1.1665 a day. Over a year, $426. On subscribe-and-save at $62.99 the same schedule is $383.

YuMOVE, 70 lb dog, Amazon listing copy. One chew a day = $0.3888 a day, or $142 a year. On subscription, $128.

Dasuquin with MSM Large, 70 lb dog. $84.99 ÷ 150 chews = $0.5666 per chew. One chew a day at maintenance = $0.5666 a day, or $207 a year. On subscribe-and-save at $80.74, $196.

Scenario, 70 lb dogPer dayYear one, including loadingSteady-state year
Dasuquin, Nutramax's schedule$0.57≈$231≈$207
YuMOVE, its weight table$1.17≈$475≈$426
YuMOVE, its Amazon copy$0.39≈$158≈$142

Year one includes each label's own loading phase: six weeks at double, then maintenance for the remaining 323 days.

The uncomfortable middle row is the honest one to plan around, because it is the manufacturer's own weight-based instruction. On that basis YuMOVE costs about $219 a year more than Dasuquin. It also delivers less glucosamine per kilogram of dog while doing it — 23.6 mg/kg against 28.3 — so per milligram of the shared active ingredient, YuMOVE charges roughly two and a half times as much. What the extra buys is the green-lipped mussel, the fish omega-3 and the hyaluronic acid, none of which Dasuquin contains. Whether that is worth $219 a year is the actual question, and the next two sections are the only honest way to answer it.

Axis three: what you can check, and what you cannot#

This is where the two companies genuinely differ, and it is checkable in about four minutes on your phone.

Dasuquin publishes a number for every active. Per large-dog chew: 900 mg glucosamine hydrochloride, 350 mg sodium chondroitin sulfate, 800 mg MSM, 90 mg avocado/soybean unsaponifiables, 40 mg Boswellia serrata extract, 32 mg decaffeinated green tea extract. Six ingredients, six figures. You can audit the dose against any study you like — which, as the next section explains, is exactly how we came to publish something that costs us money.

YuMOVE publishes eight line items and hides the one it advertises. Per 2.5 g chew: green-lipped mussel powder 220 mg, glucosamine HCl 250 mg, N-acetyl D-glucosamine 25 mg, omega-3 fish powder 125 mg, vitamin C 15 mg, vitamin E 5 mg, manganese sulfate 3 mg, hyaluronic acid 2.5 mg.[2] That is more line items than Dasuquin gives. But the mussel powder is described as "containing Chondroitin" and the chondroitin is never given a number. Neither is the EPA or DHA inside "fish powder." So the two ingredients YuMOVE markets hardest are the two nobody outside the company can quantify, including your vet.

Say it plainly: Dasuquin's chondroitin dose can be checked by anyone. YuMOVE's cannot be checked by anyone.

One point runs the other way, and it belongs here. The National Animal Supplement Council maintains a supplier directory, and on 13 August 2026 it carries a primary-supplier page for Vetnique Labs, YuMOVE's US distributor.[12] The same search for Nutramax returns no supplier page. NASC membership is a quality-system and adverse-event-reporting audit, not evidence that anything works — but it is a real third-party check on manufacturing, and on that narrow axis YuMOVE's side has one and Dasuquin's does not.

Axis four: a null you can read against a win you cannot#

Neither of these products has a published trial showing it works. That sentence is the whole section, and everything below is why it is fair to both.

Dasuquin's problem is that its trial exists. In a prospective, block-randomised, double-blinded, placebo-controlled trial of 75 dogs with hip osteoarthritis, the glucosamine arm was not generic glucosamine — the paper names it as "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax Laboratories Consumer Care, Inc.," at about 30 mg of glucosamine per kilogram daily. At week four its change in peak vertical force was −0.05 against placebo's +0.08, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and the NSAID carprofen all improved significantly.[1] A separate group reached the same answer by a different route: 30 dogs on a glucosamine and chondroitin product and 30 on placebo wore activity monitors for 97 days, with no difference in daily activity counts.[7] We walked our own Dasuquin page back on this and logged it publicly; the full evidence picture, including the fair defences the trial owes the product, is in green-lipped mussel vs glucosamine.

YuMOVE's problem is that its trial does not exist anywhere you can reach it. The product page claims "Clinically proven to work in 6 weeks," footnoted verbatim as: "In vivo, double-blind, placebo-controlled, objectively measured canine clinical study by a leading UK Veterinary College (Excluding YuMOVE Joint Care for Young Dogs)."[2] That describes a strong design. It names no college, no year, no number of dogs, no outcome measure and no effect size. A Europe PMC search for YuMOVE, Lintbells or ActivEase run on 13 August 2026 returned nine records, none of which is that trial; two are Lintbells composition patents from 2008 and 2009.[5] And the company's own claims-substantiation page — the document UK advertising rules effectively oblige a brand to keep — does not cite the trial either. Every efficacy claim there is sourced to "YuMOVE Customer Research April 2024 (n=800)" or a "Lintbells Veterinary Tracker by Kynetec 2025 (n=200)."[6] When a company's own substantiation page reaches for a customer survey instead of the trial it advertises, that is worth noticing. Two updates from a re-read on 16 August 2026, both in the same direction: the maker's page now says "clinically proven to work in 4 weeks" while its Amazon bullet still says 6 — the identical unnamed-college footnote under both, so the claim shrank two weeks without gaining a citation — and the substantiation page's tracker line now cites "CM Research November 2022" where it previously cited a Kynetec 2025 tracker. The evidence never changes; the wrapper does. Our label-vs-listing audit runs the same three-column check across seven brands.

We should also say what a fair critic would say back: an unpublished trial is not a fabricated one. It may well exist, it may well be positive, and plenty of good industry research never reaches a journal. That is exactly the point. It cannot be weighed. You cannot check the dose it used against the dose on your tub, or the outcome measure, or the number of dogs, or whether the effect was large enough to see in your kitchen.

And the mussel in these chews is not the mussel that worked. The green-lipped mussel products that matched an NSAID on a force plate in those blinded trials were concentrated marine lipid extracts at 50 mg a capsule. YuMOVE contains dried whole-mussel powder, 660 mg across a three-chew serving. Those are different substances, the powder has never been through a blinded force-plate trial, and a shopper comparing "660 mg" against "50 mg" is comparing dried shellfish against an oil fraction pulled out of it.

So: a null you can read beats a win you cannot. Not because Dasuquin works better — the published evidence says it does not work at all on that measure — but because one company handed you a result you can argue with and the other handed you an adjective. If YuMOVE publishes that study tomorrow, this section changes the same day.

Why you should believe us, given that we sell both#

You are entitled to ask what a page earning commission on both products is worth. Here is the answer, and it is checkable in our public corrections log rather than assertable.

On 12 August we walked back YuMOVE. We had been repeating the brand's "independent UK clinical trial" line on the product page and in two articles. It is unpublished and the college is unnamed, so we retired it, published the dosing contradiction, and cut the product's score from 8.4 to 7.9.

On 13 August we walked back Dasuquin, which is the more expensive admission. We had described the category's evidence as "strongest in the laboratory and weakest in blinded canine trials" — true, and it omitted that the trial in question named this exact product as the arm that did not move. Dasuquin is our second-best-earning recommendation. Its score came down from 9.2 to 8.8 anyway.

Neither correction came from a reader. Both came from re-reading the primary source instead of our own summary of it. Today's pass on YuMOVE produced two more corrections, and both went the other way: we had its country of manufacture wrong, and we had been publishing only the UK refund terms while a US buyer gets a substantially better guarantee. We had been under-selling the product we rank second.

That is the only argument for trusting a verdict like this one. Not that we have no stake — we have two — but that you can watch us change our minds in public, in both directions, at our own expense.

The one thing that should keep you honest in both directions is the placebo arithmetic. In an FDA-approved study with force platform analysis running throughout, owners judged dogs on a sugar pill improved 39.7% of the time and veterinarians 43 to 45% of the time, while the measured ground reaction forces did not move at all.[8] On the strength of that study, roughly four owners in ten would report improvement even if the tub contained nothing at all.

Axis five: the refund window against the trial the label asks you to run#

Both labels ask you to commit four to six weeks at a doubled dose before judging. Only one company's refund policy survives that long.

YuMOVE (via Vetnique Labs)Dasuquin (Nutramax)
Stated terms"Ninety (90) Day 100% Satisfaction Guarantee"[9]Report within 10 business days; 10–30 business days unopened only[10]
Covers Amazon purchases?Yes, explicitly — "purchased from Vetnique.com, Glandex.com or an authorized Amazon.com seller"[9]Not stated
Opened tub?Not addressed either wayNo
Does the label's own 42-day trial fit?Yes, with 48 days spareNo
Who pays return postageNot statedCustomer

That last row but one is the finding. Nutramax prescribes a four-to-six-week loading period and gives you ten business days to change your mind. You cannot complete the trial the manufacturer asks for and still be able to return the tub. Vetnique's window is ninety days and names Amazon sellers explicitly, which matters because Vetnique Labs is itself the seller holding the Amazon buy box on YuMOVE's listings.[3]

This is the clearest, most practical win either product has on this page, and it belongs to the more expensive one. If you are going to spend $110 finding out whether YuMOVE does anything for your dog, you can get it back. If you spend $84.99 finding out about Dasuquin, you cannot.

A veterinarian examining a dog's hip joint during an orthopedic exam — the appointment where a supplement switch should be raised, and where the dosing contradiction is worth showing to someone
Take the dosing contradiction to the appointment rather than resolving it at home. It is the one question on this page where a printed page from the manufacturer settles the argument faster than any amount of reading.Photo: Tima Miroshnichenko / Pexels

If you are already on one of them: what a fair switch looks like#

Most people reading this are not choosing from scratch. They are on one product, unconvinced, wondering about the other. Here is the version that will actually teach you something.

  1. Score one thing before you change anything. A single observable, written down tonight with the date: the first three minutes after he gets up, the jump into the car, whether he takes the stairs one at a time or two. Our printable supplement trial scorecard exists for this, and the method for scoring a limp without fooling yourself is in is my dog's limp getting better.
  2. Change exactly one thing. Not the supplement and the walk length. Not the supplement and the new bed. Weight in particular will move the result more than either product will.
  3. Run the new one at its full loading dose for the whole four to six weeks. Half a loading phase judged by feel produces precisely the 39.7%-shaped answer the placebo literature warns about. For a 70 lb dog switching to YuMOVE, that means six chews a day and budgeting for two tubs.
  4. Re-score at week four and week eight, and do not read your first entry until the new one is written. Eight weeks gives you two weeks past the point either label says results should be visible.
  5. Plan the exit before you start. Switching to YuMOVE, the 90-day guarantee covers the whole window. Switching to Dasuquin, the return window closes on day ten, so treat the money as spent.
  6. We do not know how long a washout takes. No published trial we could find measures how long either product's effects persist after the last chew, so if you stop one and start the other on the same day, an overlap of unknown length is part of the experiment. Say so to your vet rather than pretending the boundary is clean.

#1 Pick

Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

Nutramax

Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

8.8/ 10

Our score

$50–$135

Best for

Step-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery

The joint supplement to buy when you have decided to buy one and the dog has real, diagnosed osteoarthritis. The ASU component is what separates it from Cosequin and the only reason to pay the premium, and the honest framing is that the supporting evidence is strongest in the laboratory and weakest in blinded canine trials — which is true of the entire category. Buy one product, run it properly for 4–6 weeks, and judge the result against something you measured before you started. Score lowered 9.2 to 8.8 on 2026-08-13: the product has not changed, but we read the trial that tested it by name and found it did not separate from placebo on a force plate, and a second blinded trial by a different group using activity monitors reached the same answer. It stays a defensible first purchase because it is inexpensive, well tolerated and unusually well disclosed. It is no longer a product we can describe as well evidenced.

Pros

  • Adds ASU (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables) to the glucosamine/chondroitin base — the ingredient that separates it from Cosequin, with laboratory and animal-model evidence for cartilage protection
  • Same FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin as Cosequin
  • Soft chew form factor most dogs eat as a treat
  • Genuinely a veterinary-channel line, not just marketed as one — the Advanced tier is sold through clinics rather than retail. Note that the box's "#1 veterinarian recommended" is a claim about what practices stock, and we have not been able to trace it to a published survey
  • Published per-chew analysis — you can see exactly what a chew contains, which most competitors do not publish to the same standard — including, unusually, an omega-3 line the equivalent chewable tablet does not carry

Cons

  • 30–40% pricier than Cosequin DS
  • Soft chews can stick together in heat
  • Only meaningful upgrade if diagnosed OA — for healthy dogs Cosequin is enough
  • The canine clinical evidence for ASU is thinner than the marketing: the strongest data is laboratory and animal-model work, not blinded trials in pet dogs. No joint supplement has evidence in the same class as an NSAID
  • This exact product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial and it did not separate from placebo. Kampa et al. 2023 (Front Vet Sci, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188) names "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax" and reports a week-4 change in peak vertical force of −0.05 against placebo's +0.08, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly. Two fair caveats: small arms — 16 dogs in the glucosamine group, 14 to 15 in the others — and the trial ran maintenance dosing (about 30 mg/kg) through the window this label says to double.
  • Contains no manganese, unlike both of its Nutramax siblings — Cosequin prints 3 mg per tablet and Dasuquin Advanced prints 3 mg per large-dog chew, while this tier has no manganese row on the panel and none in the other-ingredients list (all three panels read 19 August 2026). Whether that matters is genuinely unclear, since manganese's role here is a cofactor claim rather than a tested effect. We list it as a con because the maker sells it as an active in the tier above and the buyer of this tier is never told it is absent
  • No calorie figure on the panel, on dasuquin.com or on the Amazon listing (verified absent 19 August 2026) — two chews a day is two treats a day for a dog whose weight is the strongest lever anyone has

#2 Pick

YuMOVE YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

YuMOVE

YuMOVE Hip and Joint Supplement for Dogs

7.9/ 10

Our score

$25–$70

Best for

UK-formula alternative for dogs that won't eat Cosequin chews

The credible non-Nutramax option if you've tried Cosequin without improvement and want a different mechanism. Be clear-eyed about two things before paying for it. Green-lipped mussel's impressive trial results — matching an NSAID on a force plate in blinded studies — belong to concentrated lipid extracts, not to the whole-mussel powder in these chews. And the headline claim will not sit still: "clinically proven in 6 weeks" (Amazon bullet, still live) became "clinically proven to work in 4 weeks" on the maker's own page by 16 August 2026 — the same unnamed-UK-college footnote under both, so the claim shrank two weeks without gaining a citation. The manufacturer's own dosing pages still disagree with its Amazon listing by a factor of three — which decides whether this costs you $140 or $426 a year for a 70 lb dog (third check, 2026-08-16). Score lowered 8.4 → 7.9 on 2026-08-12 for the disclosure gaps, not because the product changed. Everything above re-verified 2026-08-16 against both dosing pages: the threefold contradiction still stands. Held at 7.9 rather than lowered further, because the same pass found two things in the product's favour we had not credited — a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee that covers Amazon and outlasts the label's own trial, and a NASC primary- supplier listing for its US distributor. It is the more expensive product with the weaker evidence and the better consumer protection.

Pros

  • ActivEase Green Lipped Mussel — a different, anti-inflammatory pathway than glucosamine alone
  • Soft chews most dogs take readily, by reviewer consensus
  • The refund window outlasts the trial the label asks for — a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee from Vetnique Labs that explicitly covers authorized Amazon purchases (verified 2026-08-13). Dasuquin's maker gives you 10 business days, so you cannot finish its own loading phase and still return it. On this axis the pricier product is clearly the safer purchase.
  • NASC lists Vetnique Labs, the US distributor, as a primary supplier (verified 2026-08-13); the same search returns no supplier page for Nutramax. A manufacturing-quality audit, not evidence of efficacy — but a real third-party check that Dasuquin's side does not have.

Cons

  • The "clinically proven" claim rests on a trial at an unnamed "leading UK veterinary college" that has never been published anywhere we can find — nothing indexed on Europe PMC as of 2026-08-12. We previously called this an "independent UK clinical trial," which overstated what is verifiable.
  • The manufacturer contradicts itself on dose: its own product page prescribes 3 chews/day maintenance for a 70 lb dog while its Amazon listing says "just one chew a day." At the manufacturer's own weight-based dose, a 70 lb dog costs about $426/year — roughly twice Dasuquin's $207.
  • Chondroitin content is not disclosed as a number; it is buried inside the mussel total, so the dose cannot be checked against anything.
  • The strongest green-lipped mussel evidence (blinded force-plate trials) belongs to concentrated lipid extracts, not the whole-mussel powder used here — this product cannot borrow those results.
  • US distribution is shifting (yumove.com product URLs now redirect to vetnique.com); watch the listing.

Those ranks reflect cost per disclosed milligram and the fact that one company published its result. They are not a claim that either product will help your dog.

Who should buy neither#

In order, cheapest first. This is most readers.

  1. The measurement, which costs nothing. Decide tonight what you would need to see in six weeks to keep paying, and write down where you are starting from. Without that, you are buying a product and a placebo effect at the same price and you will never separate them.
  2. A body condition score at the next appointment, which is also free to ask for. For an overweight arthritic dog, weight loss has less controversy behind it than anything in this comparison and costs less than both products.
  3. The pain conversation with your vet. In the trial that tested Dasuquin, the carprofen arm worked.[1] The NSAID was not the control that failed; it was the benchmark. If your dog is sore today, the supplement question is not the urgent one, and how to tell if your dog is in pain is the more useful page.
  4. Anyone who actually wants the tested mechanism. If green-lipped mussel is what drew you to YuMOVE, the honest route is the concentrated lipid extract that was in the trials, not the powder — and it costs roughly $1,320 a year for a 70 lb dog. That number is not a recommendation, it is a disclosure. The comparison is on green-lipped mussel vs glucosamine.
  5. Anyone who wants Dasuquin's ingredients for less. If the plan is glucosamine and chondroitin for a dog with no diagnosis, Cosequin is the same company's cheaper formulation and we make the case in Dasuquin vs Cosequin and Cosequin alternatives.

The channel note#

We publish this even when it costs us the commission, and this time it does not cost us much, because there is nothing to save.

YuMOVE is the same price in both channels, and we can prove it at the SKU level. The variant feed on us.yumove.com lists 45, 90 and 180 count at $24.99, $39.99 and $69.99, with SKUs YMSC-AVS45SS-1, YMSC-AVS90SS-1 and YMSC-AVS180SS-1.[11] Amazon returns the identical three prices and the identical three part numbers.[3] Matching part numbers are what turn "about the same" into a verified match. The only real saving is Amazon's subscribe-and-save at 10%, which the direct page does not offer — so on this product Amazon is the cheaper channel and the guarantee follows you there anyway.

Two things about that direct site are worth a sentence. The US product URLs still 301-redirect to vetnique.com, so the brand you are buying from and the company answering the phone are not the same one. And the count sizes are priced properly: 180 count works out at $0.39 a chew against $0.44 for the 90 and $0.56 for the 45, so the biggest tub is genuinely the best value rather than the usual trap.

Dasuquin is Amazon-sold at $84.99, by Amazon itself, with subscribe-and-save at $80.74.[4] There is no manufacturer-direct price to compare it against, and that is a finding rather than a gap: Nutramax does run a direct store, at store.cosequin.com, but its full collection carries the Cosequin lines only and offers no Dasuquin product at all.[13] Dasuquin is kept in the veterinary and retail channel, which is also why the return policy you are held to is the one published on the Cosequin store. Vet clinics stock it at their own prices, frequently higher than Amazon's.

What we could not verify#

  • The YuMOVE trial itself. Not indexed, not named, not dated, not on the company's own substantiation page. This is not a small gap; it is the entire basis of the product's headline claim.
  • YuMOVE's chondroitin dose and its EPA/DHA content. Both are marketed and neither is quantified anywhere we could find.
  • Calories per chew for either product. Neither Nutramax nor Lintbells publishes it. A 70 lb dog on YuMOVE's weight table eats three of these a day, every day, and weight is the largest modifiable factor in canine arthritis. Not publishing the number is a choice.
  • Whether Nutramax's return policy differs for Amazon purchases. The published policy is the one we quote, verified 10 August 2026; it does not address the channel.
  • Whether either company's opened tub qualifies for a refund. Nutramax says no. Vetnique's policy does not address it.
  • Any washout period after stopping either product. No published figure we could find.
  • A small oddity, offered as an observation rather than a finding. us.yumove.com publishes an agents.md — a file addressed to AI assistants — and every attempt we made to read it, or any of the brand's HTML pages, returned a bot-verification wall. We got the ingredient panel and the dosing table from the Vetnique page the US URLs redirect to, and the prices from the machine-readable variant feed.

What to do this week#

Open the tub you already own and count what your dog actually gets, then find the weight table on the manufacturer's page and see whether the two match. On one of these two products, for a large dog, there is a fair chance they do not — and if you have been giving one YuMOVE chew a day to a 70 lb dog because the listing told you to, you have not yet run the trial you thought you were running.

Then write one line on a piece of paper: the thing you would need to see by the end of September to keep paying for this. Date it. Put it somewhere you will find it again.

That single sentence is worth more than the $219 a year between these two products, because it is the only thing on this page that can tell you whether either of them earned the money. Everything else — the trial nobody published, the null that got published, the chondroitin number that does not exist — is us doing the reading so you do not have to. The part only you can do is noticing, honestly, whether your dog got up any easier.

He will not tell you. He will just take the chew, because it tastes good, and go back to lying down.

Frequently asked

Is YuMOVE better than Dasuquin?
Neither product has a published trial showing it works, and that is the honest starting point. The difference is what each company lets you check. Dasuquin with MSM was named by brand in a blinded, placebo-controlled trial that measured dogs on a force plate, and it did not separate from placebo — its change in peak vertical force at week four was −0.05 against placebo's +0.08 (Kampa et al., Frontiers in Veterinary Science 2023, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188). That is a bad result, but you can read it. YuMOVE claims its product is 'clinically proven to work in 6 weeks' on the strength of an 'in vivo, double-blind, placebo-controlled, objectively measured canine clinical study by a leading UK Veterinary College' — a study it has never named, dated, sized or published. A Europe PMC search for YuMOVE, Lintbells or ActivEase on 13 August 2026 returned nine records and none of them is that trial, and the company's own claims-substantiation page cites customer surveys rather than the study. So you are not choosing between a supplement that failed and a supplement that passed. You are choosing between a company that let you read the result and one that did not.
How many YuMOVE chews does a 70 lb dog actually need per day?
This is the single most expensive question on the page, because YuMOVE answers it two different ways. Its own product page, verified 13 August 2026, gives a weight table: a dog of 66 to 100 lb gets six soft chews a day for the first four to six weeks and three a day ongoing. Its Amazon listing for the same tub, read through the Amazon Creators API the same day, says 'just one chew a day at maintenance for the average dog' and tells you to 'double the daily chews for 4 to 6 weeks, then drop to one a day.' That is a threefold difference in the maintenance dose. At the 180-count tub's price of $69.99 it is the difference between about $142 a year and about $426 a year for the same dog. Follow the weight table on the manufacturer's product page, and take the contradiction to your vet rather than resolving it yourself at the kitchen counter.
Which is cheaper, YuMOVE or Dasuquin?
Dasuquin, by roughly half, once you dose each product the way its maker says to. Verified via the Amazon Creators API on 13 August 2026: Dasuquin with MSM for large dogs is $84.99 for 150 chews, and Nutramax's schedule for a dog over 60 lb is one chew daily at maintenance, so about $0.57 a day and roughly $207 a year. YuMOVE Advanced Vet Strength is $69.99 for 180 chews, and its weight table gives a 66 to 100 lb dog three chews daily, so about $1.17 a day and roughly $426 a year. The gap is about $219 a year. That comparison reverses only if you follow YuMOVE's Amazon copy of one chew a day, which works out near $142 a year — cheaper than Dasuquin, and also a quarter of the glucosamine dose that failed to beat placebo in the one trial anyone has published.
Can I give my dog YuMOVE and Dasuquin at the same time?
Ask your vet before you do, and understand that the main cost of stacking them is not safety but knowledge. Both products are built on glucosamine, so running them together roughly doubles that ingredient while adding green-lipped mussel and fish-sourced omega-3 from one side and chondroitin, MSM, ASU, Boswellia and green tea extract from the other. Glucosamine was well tolerated at about 30 mg per kg daily in the trials we read, but no published trial has tested these two products together and we will not invent a ceiling for you. The practical argument against it is simpler: if you run both and the dog improves, you will never know which one to keep paying for, and the caregiver placebo effect in exactly this situation is measured at 39.7% (Conzemius and Evans, JAVMA 2012, DOI 10.2460/javma.241.10.1314). One product, one full loading period, one measurement taken before you started.
How do I switch from one to the other without fooling myself?
Score something specific before you change anything, then change only one thing. Write down a single observable — the first three minutes after he gets up, the jump into the car, whether he takes the stairs one at a time — with today's date on it, or use our printable supplement trial scorecard. Then run the new product at its full loading dose, which is four to six weeks for both brands, and re-score at week four and week eight without looking at your first entry until you have written the new one. Keep weight, walk length, medication and flooring unchanged across the whole window, because any of them will move the result more than the supplement will. One asymmetry is worth planning around: verified 13 August 2026, Vetnique Labs backs YuMOVE with a 90-day 100% satisfaction guarantee that explicitly covers purchases from an authorized Amazon seller, while Nutramax's published policy gives you 10 business days to report a problem and accepts returns after that only if the tub is unopened. Switching to YuMOVE, the refund window outlasts the trial. Switching to Dasuquin, it does not.

Know someone whose dog is doing this? Send it to them.