Head to Head
Zesty Paws Mobility Bites vs Dasuquin: Budget Chew or Veterinary Brand?
Zesty Paws vs Dasuquin is the budget-chew-versus-veterinary-brand question. What the price gap actually buys, the real per-day math, and the honest read on whether the difference is provable.

Dasuquin is the veterinary-channel product: patented actives plus ASU, made by Nutramax Laboratories, with every milligram printed on the label. Zesty Paws is the consumer product: generic-source glucosamine sold inside a proprietary blend that does not disclose how much of anything your dog is getting — and at prices verified 14 August 2026 it is the more expensive of the two per year, not the budget option. The real difference is checkable versus not. But do not read that as "Dasuquin is proven and Zesty Paws is not": the one blinded, force-plate trial that tested either of them tested Dasuquin with MSM by name, and it did not beat placebo. Neither product has evidence it works. One of them at least lets you audit what you are buying.
Affiliate disclosure: Dog Orthopedic is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we earn a commission at no extra cost to you — about 3% on most pet products, and the same rate on every product we compare, so no pick earns us more than another. Prescription medication earns us nothing, and seeing your vet earns us nothing; we recommend both anyway. Learn more.
Imagery: Lifestyle photographs on this site are licensed from Pexels (royalty-free) and credited per image. Pexels imagery illustrates conditions and contexts — it does not depict the specific dogs or test sessions described in the text. Product photographs come from Amazon's Creators API. Breed portraits are illustrations of typical breed type rather than photographs of individual dogs, and are not drawn to scale against one another.
The two chews at a glance#

Nutramax
Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews

Zesty Paws
Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)
| Product | Score | Best for | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews | 8.8 | Step-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery | $50–$135 | View |
![]() Zesty Paws Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites) | 7.6 | Palatable everyday joint chew for young and early-stage dogs | $33–$70 | View |
What is actually in each chew?#
| Ingredient | Dasuquin with MSM, Large (per chew) | Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (per 2-chew serving) |
|---|---|---|
| Glucosamine | 900 mg — patented FCHG49 glucosamine HCl | Amount not published — generic source, inside the proprietary blend |
| Chondroitin sulfate | 350 mg — patented TRH122 form | Amount not published — inside the blend; bovine in Bacon, porcine in Duck |
| MSM | 800 mg | 400 mg or 500 mg — the manufacturer's own two sources disagree |
| ASU | 90 mg of ASU powder, standardised to a minimum 30% unsaponifiables | Not present |
| Boswellia / green tea | 40 mg / 32 mg | Not present |
| Omega-3 (EPA + DHA) | 90 mg total (75 mg EPA+DHA) | Not present |
| Vitamin E | — | Amount not published — inside the blend |
| Weight-banded dosing chart published in text | Yes | No |
Dasuquin's column comes from Nutramax's own per-chew panel;[4] Zesty Paws' column is everything its two channels publish, which is one blend total and one contested MSM figure.
Correction, August 2026: this table previously listed turmeric and hyaluronic acid as Zesty Paws ingredients. They are not in the product, and we were wrong. What is actually on the label is a single 1,510 mg "Proprietary Hip & Joint Blend" holding four things — glucosamine HCl (from shellfish), OptiMSM, chondroitin sulfate and vitamin E — re-read and re-confirmed on the manufacturer's own page on 14 August 2026.[1] One detail worth having if your dog has a protein sensitivity: the chondroitin source differs by flavour — bovine in the Bacon version, porcine in the Duck.[1]
A naming correction, also August 2026, and it affects what you type into a search box. "Mobility Bites" is no longer what this product is called. Zesty Paws' own page now titles it "Hip & Joint Bites for Dogs," and the Amazon listing we link reads "Zesty Paws Glucosamine for Dogs — Dog Joint Supplement, Duck, 90 Ct."[2] Two other Zesty Paws products still carry "Mobility Bites" in their names and are different formulas — Mussel Mobility Bites and Hemp Elements Mobility Bites. If you search the old name, check the tub you are actually being shown.
Read the table twice, because the pattern matters more than any row. The real difference is not narrow-versus-broad, which is how we used to frame it. It is checkable versus not. Dasuquin publishes a milligram figure for every active, so you can hold it against a published dose and judge for yourself. Zesty Paws publishes one total for four ingredients, which means no one outside the company can tell you how much glucosamine your dog is getting — not us, not your vet, not the reviewer who gave it five stars.
And the single active it does quantify is contradicted by its own maker. Zestypaws.com says 500 mg of OptiMSM per two chews; the Zesty Paws Amazon listing says 400 mg per two chews. Both were read again on 14 August 2026 and both still say it.[1][2] We are not going to pick one for you. Note what makes this unresolvable rather than merely sloppy: because the blend is proprietary, there is no published supplement facts panel to check either number against. A 100 mg discrepancy on the one ingredient the company quantifies, in a product whose other three ingredients are unquantified, is the whole argument of this page in a single row.
#1 Pick

Nutramax
Dasuquin with MSM Soft Chews
Our score
$50–$135
Best for
Step-up from Cosequin for dogs with diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery
The joint supplement to buy when you have decided to buy one and the dog has real, diagnosed osteoarthritis. The ASU component is what separates it from Cosequin and the only reason to pay the premium, and the honest framing is that the supporting evidence is strongest in the laboratory and weakest in blinded canine trials — which is true of the entire category. Buy one product, run it properly for 4–6 weeks, and judge the result against something you measured before you started. Score lowered 9.2 to 8.8 on 2026-08-13: the product has not changed, but we read the trial that tested it by name and found it did not separate from placebo on a force plate, and a second blinded trial by a different group using activity monitors reached the same answer. It stays a defensible first purchase because it is inexpensive, well tolerated and unusually well disclosed. It is no longer a product we can describe as well evidenced.
Pros
- Adds ASU (avocado/soybean unsaponifiables) to the glucosamine/chondroitin base — the ingredient that separates it from Cosequin, with laboratory and animal-model evidence for cartilage protection
- Same FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin as Cosequin
- Soft chew form factor most dogs eat as a treat
- Genuinely a veterinary-channel line, not just marketed as one — the Advanced tier is sold through clinics rather than retail. Note that the box's "#1 veterinarian recommended" rests on an unnamed survey. dasuquin.com's own footnote, read 2026-09-08, gives the source as a "survey conducted among small animal veterinarians who recommended animal supplements" — so the denominator is vets who already recommend a supplement, not vets. No sample size, date or sponsor is published
- Published per-chew analysis — you can see exactly what a chew contains, which most competitors do not publish to the same standard — including, unusually, an omega-3 line the equivalent chewable tablet does not carry
Cons
- 30–40% pricier than Cosequin DS
- Soft chews can stick together in heat
- Only meaningful upgrade if diagnosed OA — for healthy dogs Cosequin is enough
- The canine clinical evidence for ASU is thinner than the marketing: the strongest data is laboratory and animal-model work, not blinded trials in pet dogs. No joint supplement has evidence in the same class as an NSAID
- This exact product was the glucosamine arm of a blinded, placebo-controlled force-plate trial and it did not separate from placebo. Kampa et al. 2023 (Front Vet Sci, DOI 10.3389/fvets.2023.1033188) names "DASUQUIN with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax" and reports a week-4 change in peak vertical force of −0.05 against placebo's +0.08, while two green-lipped mussel lipid extracts and carprofen all improved significantly. Two fair caveats: small arms — 16 dogs in the glucosamine group, 14 to 15 in the others — and the trial ran maintenance dosing (about 30 mg/kg) through the window this label says to double.
- Contains no manganese, unlike both of its Nutramax siblings — Cosequin prints 3 mg per tablet and Dasuquin Advanced prints 3 mg per large-dog chew, while this tier has no manganese row on the panel and none in the other-ingredients list (all three panels read 19 August 2026). Whether that matters is genuinely unclear, since manganese's role here is a cofactor claim rather than a tested effect. We list it as a con because the maker sells it as an active in the tier above and the buyer of this tier is never told it is absent
- No calorie figure on the panel, on dasuquin.com or on the Amazon listing (verified absent 19 August 2026) — two chews a day is two treats a day for a dog whose weight is the strongest lever anyone has
What does the extra money actually buy?#
Not a secret ingredient — the difference is mostly pedigree and specificity.
The named forms. Nutramax's FCHG49 glucosamine and TRH122 chondroitin are specific, trademarked, standardised molecules; generic glucosamine is the same ingredient class without that specification. Be careful how far you push this, though. The usual version of the argument is that the patented forms carry the trial record and generics do not — and against the best-designed trial in this category that argument collapses, because the trial used the branded Dasuquin product and it was the arm that failed.[7] What the named forms buy you is a known quantity of a known preparation. That is worth something. It is not a claim about outcomes.
ASU. The layer that separates the Dasuquin line from everything else on this page — covered in depth in our Dasuquin vs Cosequin breakdown. Zesty Paws has no equivalent. See the dose arithmetic below before deciding what that is worth.
A published label. Dasuquin comes out of the same laboratory as Cosequin, and both publish a full per-unit panel and a weight-banded dosing table on their own websites. Zesty Paws is a well-distributed consumer brand — widely available, competently made, and NASC-audited — but it discloses one blend total rather than per-ingredient amounts. That is a labelling choice rather than a manufacturing one, and it is the choice that makes the product impossible to audit. We have removed the claim that the veterinary channel means "practitioners re-order based on results"; we have no data on veterinary re-ordering, and neither does anyone else who prints that sentence.
What the extra money does not buy, and this is the part nobody prints#
ASU is the reason Dasuquin costs what it costs. So it is worth asking what dose the canine evidence for ASU actually used, and then reading the label.
The canine work most often pointed at gave dogs 10 mg/kg of ASU per day for eight weeks.[3] For a 70 lb (31.75 kg) dog that is about 317 mg a day. Dasuquin with MSM for large dogs contains 90 mg per chew, and the label's maintenance dose is one chew — roughly 28% of the dose in the study. Even the 4–6 week loading dose of two chews reaches only about 57%. To match it, a 70 lb dog would need three and a half chews a day, every day, which is not what the label instructs and not what anyone budgets for.
And the gap is probably wider than that, for a reason printed in a footnote. Nutramax's own panel does not say "ASU 90 mg." It says "Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables (ASU) Powder — 90 mg", with the footnote "Standardized to contain a minimum of 30% of avocado/soybean unsaponifiables."[4] The 90 mg is the powder. At the stated minimum, the unsaponifiable fraction itself could be around 27 mg. We are not going to convert that into a headline multiple, because the study reported its dose as "10 mg/kg of ASU" and we cannot establish from the paper which basis it used — powder or fraction. That uncertainty is the finding. Anyone who tells you Dasuquin delivers 28% of the studied ASU dose — including this page, until today — is comparing two numbers that may not be measuring the same substance.
Two honest qualifications, because they cut in the manufacturer's favour and they matter. That study is a surgical disease model — the dogs' cruciate ligaments were transected — and its endpoints are structural: cartilage lesion severity, subchondral bone volume, and levels of iNOS and MMP-13 in cartilage. It did not measure whether dogs walked better or hurt less. So matching the dose would not, by itself, prove a clinical benefit; the clinical question has not been answered at any dose. And a lower dose is not necessarily an ineffective one — nobody has run the dose-response study in pet dogs with naturally occurring arthritis.
What we can say plainly is this: the gap between the studied dose and the label dose is large, it is checkable arithmetic from published numbers, and no one selling you either product is going to mention it.
#2 Pick

Zesty Paws
Zesty Paws Hip & Joint Bites (formerly Mobility Bites)
Our score
$33–$70
Best for
Palatable everyday joint chew for young and early-stage dogs
The right choice when palatability and availability are the gating factors and your dog is young/early-stage. The ingredient list looks similar to Dasuquin on the label, but the underlying glucosamine is not the patented form, so don't expect equivalent results in dogs with diagnosed OA — and at July 2026 tub prices it is no longer meaningfully cheaper per day than the vet lines.
Pros
- Soft chews most dogs eat as a treat
- Very wide retail availability
- No loading phase — same serving from day one, so the tub lasts a predictable 45 days for a 70 lb dog
Cons
- The actives sit inside a single 1,510 mg proprietary blend, so the glucosamine and chondroitin amounts are not disclosed and cannot be checked against any published dose. That is a choice the manufacturer made, and it is the main reason this scores below the products that publish their numbers.
- The one active that does get a number is contradicted by its own maker — 500 mg OptiMSM per 2 chews on zestypaws.com, 400 mg on the Zesty Paws Amazon listing. First caught 2026-08-10; both surfaces re-read 2026-08-14 and the disagreement still stands.
- The chondroitin source changes with the flavor — bovine in Bacon, porcine in Duck (manufacturer's own ingredient panels, read 2026-08-14). If your dog is on a restricted-protein plan, the flavor choice is an ingredient choice.
- Not the budget option any more. At verified prices it runs about $0.73/day and $267/yr for a 70 lb dog, against roughly $207/yr for Dasuquin with MSM at maintenance — so the cheaper-alternative framing is now backwards.
- Glucosamine source is generic; no FCHG49-equivalent clinical evidence
- Glucosamine is shellfish-derived, and the chew base includes pea, tapioca and garbanzo flour — relevant for a dog on an elimination diet
- Some lots have variable smell/texture
What do the two brands have in common?#
More than the marketing admits. Both are made in the USA by established manufacturers, and both sit in a category with a genuinely good safety record — the most common side effect of either chew is mild GI upset, usually in the first week or two.
Two corrections to what we used to say here, both from re-reading the fine print in August 2026.
We wrote that both carry satisfaction guarantees. Nutramax's did not survive checking. Its published policy has no satisfaction guarantee at all: report a problem within 10 business days of receipt, and between 10 and 30 business days it will take back only a product that "is not opened, has no markings or has no damage to product carton and the product has at least one year before expiring," with the customer paying shipping.[11] Dasuquin's own label prescribes a 4–6 week loading phase — so you cannot run the trial the product asks for and still be able to return it. Two caveats in fairness: those windows are in business days, so 30 business days is roughly six calendar weeks, and that policy page still displays a shipping notice dated 2020, so it may not have been reviewed recently.
On Zesty Paws we have to correct ourselves in the product's favour. We wrote that we could find no guarantee terms at all. Its product page carries a "100% Satisfaction Guarantee" heading, re-read on 14 August 2026.[1] We have not been able to read the operative terms behind that heading — window, condition, who pays postage — so treat the heading as a heading. But "no guarantee terms exist" was the wrong thing to publish, and on the one axis that matters most for a product with a slow onset, the consumer brand is advertising better protection than the veterinary one.
We also pointed at the NASC (National Animal Supplement Council) seal as a quality floor, which it is — it audits member companies' facilities and labelling, though it is a manufacturing-practice standard and never evidence that a product works. What we had not checked is who actually holds it, and when we did check, our first answer was wrong too.
Re-verified on 14 August 2026 against NASC's own supplier directory, which lists 240 primary suppliers alphabetically: Zesty Paws is a member and it does carry the Quality Seal. We previously wrote that it was a member "without the Quality Seal designation," and that was our error. Meanwhile Nutramax Laboratories does not appear in the directory at all — not under Nutramax, Cosequin, Dasuquin, Denamarin or Welactin — while the alphabetical neighbours that would bracket it are present, so this is an absence rather than a page that failed to load.[5]
So the seal separates these two products in the opposite direction from the one the price tags suggest. Hold that lightly rather than triumphantly: NASC membership is voluntary, plenty of legitimate manufacturers sit outside it, and the seal audits how a supplement is made — never whether it does anything. But if you were going to use the seal as a tiebreaker, you should know which tub actually has it.
Neither product is a regulated drug, neither is a painkiller, and both deserve the same discipline: one product at a time, at the label dose for your dog's weight, for a full eight weeks, with one metric tracked.
The price-per-day math#
Assumptions stated, arithmetic shown. Example dog: a 45 lb pointer mix.
Zesty Paws. A 90-count tub is $32.97, verified 14 August 2026.[2] At 2 chews a day that tub lasts 45 days: $0.73 a day, about $267 a year, ongoing — there is no loading phase and no taper, so that number never comes down.
Dasuquin with MSM. For a 45 lb dog the label specifies the Small/Medium soft chew: 2 chews a day for the initial 4–6 weeks, then 1 a day.[4] We did not verify the Small/Medium 84-count price in this pass, so we are not printing one. What we did verify are the Large-dog tubs: 150 count at $84.99 and 84 count at $52.79.[6]
| Zesty Paws (45 lb dog) | Dasuquin Large (70 lb dog) | |
|---|---|---|
| Daily amount | 2 chews, ongoing, no taper | 2 chews loading, 1 maintenance |
| Days per tub | 45 (90 ct) | 75 loading / 150 maintenance (150 ct) |
| Verified price | $32.97 | $84.99 |
| Cost per day | ≈ $0.73 | ≈ $1.13 loading; ≈ $0.57 maintenance |
| Cost per year | ≈ $267 | ≈ $207 |
Two notes on reading that table honestly. The rows are different dogs, because those are the SKUs whose prices we verified — a bigger dog on the cheaper annual cost makes the point more strongly, not less. And an earlier version of this page put Zesty Paws at $0.82 a day in the table while saying $0.73 in the paragraph above it. $32.97 across 45 days is $0.73; the $0.82 was simply wrong and is gone.
The honest wrinkle stands and is the whole story: the "budget chew" framing was true when these tubs listed in the low $20s. It is not true now. After Dasuquin's loading phase its maintenance dose is the cheaper daily spend, and over a year the veterinary-channel product costs about sixty dollars less. Zesty Paws' real case rests on palatability, availability, and not fronting the loading-phase outlay — not on price. Run the math on the tubs in front of you, and see the full dosing-by-weight tables.
Is the difference actually provable?#
Here is the part neither marketing department will tell you, and it is the part where we have to correct ourselves hardest.
There is no published head-to-head trial of Zesty Paws against Dasuquin, so nobody can prove the premium product outperforms the budget one in your dog. That much this page always said. What it also said — that Dasuquin buys you "probability, not certainty," being the product "whose trials generated most of the category's positive data" — has not survived reading the trials.
Dasuquin with MSM was tested, by name, and it lost to placebo. In a prospective, block-randomised, double-blinded, placebo-controlled trial of 75 dogs with hip osteoarthritis, the glucosamine arm received "DASUQUIN® with MSM Soft Chews, Nutramax Laboratories Consumer Care, Inc." at about 30 mg of glucosamine per kg per day for six weeks. Outcome: peak vertical force on a force plate. A green-lipped mussel lipid extract, a mussel-krill extract and carprofen all improved significantly and all beat placebo. The Dasuquin arm did not.[7]
That result is independently echoed. A different group at a different institution ran a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial of a glucosamine/chondroitin product in 60 dogs over 97 days using continuous activity monitors. No difference in activity counts. Owner-scored pain improved equally in both arms.[8] And the reason owner scores cannot settle it is measured: in the placebo arm of a blinded trial with force plates running, owners judged their dogs improved 39.7% of the time while the measured forces did not move.[9]
Three fair defences, which we would want raised the other way round: fifteen dogs per arm is small and was powered to detect the mussel effect, not to exclude a glucosamine one; the trial ran roughly the maintenance dose through the window the label reserves for the loading dose; and the broader literature is mixed rather than uniformly negative — a review of the canine evidence concluded there is "a paucity of well-designed clinical veterinary studies investigating the true treatment effect."[10]
So the honest replacement for our old sentence is this. You are not buying a higher probability of it working. Neither product has evidence that it works, and the branded one has evidence that it did not, once, in a small trial. What Dasuquin genuinely buys is a label you can audit, a lower annual cost at these prices, and a manufacturer that publishes a dosing table. Those are real, and they are enough reason to prefer it — but they are not the reason the price tag implies. The fuller picture is in our green-lipped mussel versus glucosamine breakdown.

Which one is right for my dog?#
- Diagnosed osteoarthritis or chronic joint disease — Dasuquin, and for the auditable label and the lower annual cost rather than for a proven effect. This is also the dog for whom the more important conversation is about weight and analgesia, not chews.
- Post-TPLO or other orthopedic surgery — Dasuquin is commonly given. We have cut "usually on the rehab vet's own suggestion" from this line: no prescribing data exists for canine joint supplements, so we cannot tell you what rehab vets suggest most. Follow your surgeon's actual instructions.
- Young, healthy, large breed — a Lab you are supplementing ahead of trouble, for instance — either is defensible. We used to say Zesty Paws was "a reasonable preventive at half the cost," which is now simply false: at verified prices it costs about $267 a year against Dasuquin's $207.
- Budget will decide whether the dog gets anything at all — then buy whichever tub you will keep buying, without guilt. But note that on these numbers the budget argument no longer points at Zesty Paws, and that the cheapest useful thing in this entire category is not a chew at all: it is keeping your dog lean.
- Not actually sure the dog needs a supplement — first read how to tell if your dog is in pain, then talk to your vet. Supplements are the slowest tool in the box and the wrong response to a limp.
The bottom line#
Buy Dasuquin if you are buying one of these — not because it is proven, because it is not, but because it publishes every milligram, publishes a dosing table, and at verified August 2026 prices costs about $207 a year against Zesty Paws' $267. Buy Zesty Paws if your dog will eat it and refuses the other, which is a perfectly good reason; it is a legitimate, NASC-audited chew whose real defect is that nobody outside the company can tell you what is in a serving.
Neither of them is the thing with the best evidence in this aisle. We earn the same affiliate rate on both, so there is nothing in it for us to say that.
Whichever you pick, run it as a proper trial: label dose for your dog's weight, eight weeks, one tracked metric written down — and buy the small tub first, because the manufacturer's refund window will expire before the trial does. If the budget conversation is really about value across the whole category, our cheaper alternatives to Cosequin and Dasuquin guide is the next read, alongside our green-lipped mussel versus glucosamine breakdown and our ranked list of the best joint supplements.
Frequently asked
- Is Zesty Paws as good as Dasuquin?
- There is no head-to-head trial, so nobody can honestly claim equivalence in either direction. What is documented: Dasuquin publishes a milligram figure for every active, so you can check it. Zesty Paws puts its actives inside a 1,510 mg proprietary blend that discloses no individual amounts, so its glucosamine dose cannot be checked by anyone — not us, not your vet. That is the real difference. Correction, August 2026: we used to imply Dasuquin's trial record made it the proven option. It does not. The one blinded, placebo-controlled, force-plate trial that tested either product tested Dasuquin with MSM by name, and Dasuquin was the arm that did not separate from placebo. For a dog with diagnosed osteoarthritis, Dasuquin is still the more defensible purchase — because it is auditable and cheaper per year, not because it is proven. And at August 2026 prices Zesty Paws is not the cheaper option, so 'budget starting point' no longer describes it.
- How much cheaper is Zesty Paws than Dasuquin per day?
- At prices verified 14 August 2026, it isn't — it is dearer. Zesty Paws at a 2-chew serving from a 90-count tub ($32.97) runs about $0.73 a day ongoing, with no loading phase and no taper, so that is roughly $267 a year forever. Dasuquin with MSM for large dogs, 150-count at $84.99, runs $1.13 a day through the 4–6 week loading phase and then $0.57 a day at 1-chew maintenance — about $207 a year. We did not verify the Small/Medium 84-count price in this pass and are no longer printing the '~$50' figure we used to. Prices move constantly, so run the math on the tubs in front of you.
- Does Zesty Paws contain ASU like Dasuquin?
- No. ASU — avocado/soybean unsaponifiables, the ingredient that separates Dasuquin from Cosequin — is not in Zesty Paws Mobility Bites. Correction, August 2026: we previously said Zesty Paws adds turmeric and hyaluronic acid instead. It does not, and we were wrong. Zesty Paws discloses a single 1,510 mg 'Proprietary Hip & Joint Blend' containing glucosamine HCl (from shellfish), OptiMSM, chondroitin sulfate and vitamin E — four ingredients, of which only the MSM is ever given its own number. That is the more important point: because the individual amounts sit inside a proprietary blend, you cannot check the glucosamine or chondroitin dose against any published study. Dasuquin publishes its per-chew amounts and can be checked. Being checkable is worth more than breadth.
- Can I switch my dog from Zesty Paws to Dasuquin, or back?
- Yes, directly — there is no taper. Both are supplements, not medications. The useful discipline is to treat each product as an 8-week trial: pick one, give it at the label dose for your dog's weight, track something concrete like time-to-stand or stair willingness, and judge at week eight. Switching every two weeks tells you nothing, because glucosamine-based products are slow to show any effect they are going to show.
- Which one should a young, healthy dog get?
- If your dog is under five with no diagnosis and no orthopedic history, either is defensible — and at current prices Dasuquin's 1-chew maintenance dose can actually cost less per day than Zesty Paws' ongoing serving. Pick the chew your dog reliably eats and you reliably keep buying; consistency beats formulation for a healthy dog. Reserve the loading-phase spend for diagnosed osteoarthritis or post-surgical recovery, and reassess if a diagnosis arrives.